Banished Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 535 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this city-building strategy game, control a group of exiled travelers who opt to restart their lives in a new land. They bring only the clothes on their backs and a cart filled with supplies from their homeland. The townspeople of Banished are your primary resource.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    90
    If you’re a fan of God games and have found yourself disappointed by recent entries in the genre, such as the latest SimCity and the Early Access version of Peter Molyneux’s underwhelming Godus project, then you owe it to yourself to pick up this game.
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    83
    With resource management at its core this medieval village-builder is a sure alternative to the likes of Sim City.
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    Still, it’s hard not to see the missed potential within Banished. It’s an excellently crafted city building and survival game, made even more impressive by the fact that it was created by one man.
  4. Mar 1, 2014
    75
    This tough city builder takes you and your capital delightfully serious, but thinking logically and rationally. Once you figure out the system, the game unfortunately loses its challenge though.
  5. Mar 27, 2014
    70
    Banished is a rare technical achievement, pure in design and of purpose. Its many deaths almost always feel fair, and the battle up to self-sufficiency is gripping. But the absence of a long game beyond this early toil makes it hard to find reasons to settle down here, except for the views, especially if you’ve established yourself on these frosty plains before.
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    70
    A nice change of pace for city-builders, but it loses momentum once the immediate urgency of survival goes away.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    20
    What really kills Banished for me is the overwhelming sense of pointlessness. There are no goals, no scenarios, no unlockables, no longterm luxury goods or endgame wonders or upper level populations or advanced buildings. There is no finale. There is, instead, a world without end.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 145
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game is nothing less than a masterpiece. That it was made almost entirely by 1 person alone is astonishing, especially considering thatThis game is nothing less than a masterpiece. That it was made almost entirely by 1 person alone is astonishing, especially considering that EA/Maxis did not manage to pull off anything remotely close to this with all the coders, artists and resources they have.

    The first time you play it, it might seem like there is not so much content there, but once you've played it for a while, you realize that what is there has an incredible amount of depth to it. If you like building games and micromanagement, this game most definitely has more than 100 hours worth of gameplay in it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This game looks simple, but it is a lot tougher than it looks. Everything seems to affect other things. I lose some people to starvationThis game looks simple, but it is a lot tougher than it looks. Everything seems to affect other things. I lose some people to starvation because I can't keep them fed. So I finally get that issue fixed and build up a surplus of food, then their tools start to wear out. I finally get a blacksmith shop and a blacksmith, but all the while, they cant build as fast or farm or hunt because of worn out tools, so my food runs out, I run out of coats to keep them warm because they can't hunt deer for the leather (or venison), so they freeze to death. Now I don't have enough population to spare one to be a blacksmith, because I need them to gather food.... well, you get the point. This is NOT a complaint... this is a challenging game, and well worth the $20. This runs circles around SIM CITY and those types of games. Looks simple, easy controls... but don't let that fool ya! Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Amazing game for me. This type of game is really rare, and hard to make it good. It has some deficiency, but the game is combined perfectly.Amazing game for me. This type of game is really rare, and hard to make it good. It has some deficiency, but the game is combined perfectly. The fact is that this game is made by one guy is making it more amazing! I mean SimCity is made by a big company, compared to this they made nothing. I mean it. Anyways this game is a must buy if you like RTS and city building games! Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    This is a town-building survival game. You have to make sure your civilians get food, clothes and shelter. At times everything looks stableThis is a town-building survival game. You have to make sure your civilians get food, clothes and shelter. At times everything looks stable and easy, wonderful isn't it? Not so fast. Once you start facing problems like running out of food, tools or clothes (mostly after a baby boom), that's when the whole town can start crumbling like a deck of cards, faster than you might expect. Prudence is your friend here, dear reader, and this game will be pretty mean and unforgiving if you're negligent.

    You might be thinking: "All I have to do is avoid the baby booms, easy peasy". So what do you do? You logically stop building more houses because that means less room for families to expand (and have babies), and then it's all good, right? Wrong. If you wait too long you'll have to face the problem of regress, with a population that's too old to make babies. With very few births your population will die off faster than it reproduces and that's obviously a problem. While babies and students mature you gotta have enough workers left to produce food and clothes for everybody. That being said: It's hard to maintain a stable population. It's challenging, and that's great if you love challenges. If you don't -- if you want a walk in the park until a screen pops up saying "VICTORY!" -- this game is not for you. Also: There is no victory (that I know of), there's no apotheotic triumph. Only despair and misery awaits you. The question is: how long will you last? How far can you expand your town before everybody is wiped out by your incompetence or lack of resources (usually both)? The game is still delicious even though the future of your town won't look pretty in the long run.

    Trade:
    There is no money, it's all about trading resources of a kind (raw materials and produced goods) in exchange for resources of another kind... For instance: trading a bunch of firewood for some chickens.

    Producing food:
    You can buy seeds and plant your crops and orchards too, it's actually nice when it comes to agriculture, there's a lot of variety to choose from (once you're powerful enough to afford all the seeds).
    If you don't want to produce food through artificial means (agriculture and pastures) you can always treat your town as a hunter-gatherer society, but that's likely to be troublesome once the population growth hits a variable threshold (it depends on how much food you can collect at any given time). Remember that, historically speaking, human societies have thrived thanks to agriculture and other technological advancements (read "Guns, Germs and Steel" by Jared Diamond for more info, if you enjoy anthropology), so you might wanna invest in agriculture if you wanna survive later on.
    Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Banished offers Caesar 3 style gameplay, since Caesar 3 is one of the best city games ever made, Banished is built on solid proven gamingBanished offers Caesar 3 style gameplay, since Caesar 3 is one of the best city games ever made, Banished is built on solid proven gaming principles. Whilst it is not in the same league as Caesar due to the chosen theme for the game, its randomly generated maps and pioneer settlement feeling give it totally different characteristic which is fun in its own right. During harvests it is a race to get the food in the fields gathered before winter sets in and the food spoils. Sometimes an early winter can cause you to lose a lot of your craps so you end up doing what pioneers had to do and get most of the village to help get the crops harvested. The entire game really does give a frontier settlement feeling in how it works. Despite what was said else where, you can control what the NPCs work on first by using the increase priority feature. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    Although the game is very good with interesting mechanics , nice visuals and many challenges it gets repetitive soon and the lack of a goalAlthough the game is very good with interesting mechanics , nice visuals and many challenges it gets repetitive soon and the lack of a goal does not give you the motive to continue playing... Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    0
    I really want to like this game. However, it's unplayable for me and my husband. My husband can't even access the game without crashing. MyI really want to like this game. However, it's unplayable for me and my husband. My husband can't even access the game without crashing. My gaming computer (4 months old) can access it but constantly has save game crashes that have been known since release with no update in sight. The problem is, I can sometimes save it on my own. The autosave feature can crash the game. If I set the autosave out as far as possible, I have to remember to save often and 7 times out of 10, this causes a crash and reverts to the last save state losing much time and work in the process especially if I haven't saved in a bit. It's clear according to Steam, the numbers are dropping off fast for a game so recently released and there is radio silence from the dev on when these bugs will be fixed. At $20 a pop, it's almost unconscionable to have such glaring errors be in the game on release, but further - this long after it became a known issue. Collapse

See all 145 User Reviews