User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Freddy
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Great stuff!
  2. Jeff
    May 27, 2006
    10
    I had a wonderful time (although that
  3. DavidM.
    May 26, 2006
    6
    For the price, and 25+ hours of gameplay, I feel mean giving Barrow Hill a 6. I found the game very good, with some lovely narrative twists and arty touches, but wanted more character interaction. I'm hoping Shadow Tor Studios carry on making games of this quality, with a few extra NPC's to stop the gameplay seeming so lonely. I know the npc's vs lonely exloration argument For the price, and 25+ hours of gameplay, I feel mean giving Barrow Hill a 6. I found the game very good, with some lovely narrative twists and arty touches, but wanted more character interaction. I'm hoping Shadow Tor Studios carry on making games of this quality, with a few extra NPC's to stop the gameplay seeming so lonely. I know the npc's vs lonely exloration argument is one that will run, and run, but I personally prefer some characters to share an adventure with. Expand
  4. BarryI.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    A brilliant, clever and entertaining example of classic point and click adventure gaming. The story is original, the puzzles are seamlessly integrated and the world created is detailed. Adventure fans will love this.
  5. KarlN.
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    A great adventure thriller for those who love the genre, puzzle solving and glitch free gaming. I wish the big budget blasting games could boast that they are bug free and will run on all systems. They can't. Also, why do rags like PC Gamer and Strategy informer play these games when they obviously hate them so much? They even state that they dislike 'these kind of games'. A great adventure thriller for those who love the genre, puzzle solving and glitch free gaming. I wish the big budget blasting games could boast that they are bug free and will run on all systems. They can't. Also, why do rags like PC Gamer and Strategy informer play these games when they obviously hate them so much? They even state that they dislike 'these kind of games'. Morons. The annoying reviews they write are very easy to ignore when indie adventure games are this good. Expand
  6. VictorC.
    May 26, 2006
    8
    I'm not a fan of this kind of game, but an interest in the subject matter inspired a purchase. I was more than surprised to find the game was an old fashioned treat. I'm used to painfully linear adventure games with too much pixel hunting, but Barrow Hill offers a non-linear story and a completely open game world. How you approach the story, the puzzles and the pace is entirely I'm not a fan of this kind of game, but an interest in the subject matter inspired a purchase. I was more than surprised to find the game was an old fashioned treat. I'm used to painfully linear adventure games with too much pixel hunting, but Barrow Hill offers a non-linear story and a completely open game world. How you approach the story, the puzzles and the pace is entirely up to you. That has to be worth an '8' out of 10 to me. A great effort from a new group of enthusiasts. Expand
  7. LorraineM.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    As a fan of both adventure games, and ancient stone circles (think Stone Henge in England), I really had to love this game. An online purchase I shall never regret.
  8. FrankH.
    May 26, 2006
    8
    A small but perfectly formed thriller/adventure game for fans of the genre, anyone else might wonder where all the polygons have gone.
  9. Dec 24, 2010
    1
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It has menial graphics, a lackluster storyline, and some of the most irritating and grinding gameplay I've ever experienced. The only credit to the game was that occasionally the surroundings would get a bit creepy... until they would play one of the horrible taped clips that made the entire thing a joke. As a huge fan of adventure games,This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It has menial graphics, a lackluster storyline, and some of the most irritating and grinding gameplay I've ever experienced. The only credit to the game was that occasionally the surroundings would get a bit creepy... until they would play one of the horrible taped clips that made the entire thing a joke. As a huge fan of adventure games, this left me severely confused at to how people managed to scrape joy from this empty barrel. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. There is nothing in this game that you can point to and say that it was a breakthrough, but it is all consistent and consistently good. It is thoroughly enjoyable and doesn’t turn south on you half way through.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    51
    An impressive endeavor for a small group of first-time devs with a shoestring budget, but as much as it feels like kicking puppies to say so, not a product worth your money. [June 2006, p.82]
  3. Meticulously designed, Barrow Hill delivers a Cornish sojourn definitely worth taking.