Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    89
    Bastion deserves success for being brave, genuine and awesome. A brilliant Action-RPG game.
  2. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    83
    It's a highly polished, bug-free bundle of fun and at $15, it's a steal. Kudos to Supergiant Games.
  4. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  6. Oct 9, 2011
    75
    Bastion hides a fun traditional gameplay under gorgeous and innovative visuals, that on the long run could come short in variety.
  7. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  8. Aug 25, 2011
    90
    Bastion is definitely the indie game of the year 2011. It's an amazing game with an amazing art style combined with funny gameplay and ten very good hours of story which can easily be played again.
  9. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  10. Aug 30, 2011
    82
    Battle system, diversity, soundtrack, graphics, size... all on a very high level. Bastion shows that small development teams with a small budget can deliver large, diverse and polished ganmes.
  11. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    This game is amazing and you owe it to yourself to download it.
  12. 70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]
  13. Oct 8, 2011
    92
    A charming hack-and-slash RPG, with an excellent soundtrack, great colouring, and a superb narration gimmick. [Nov 2011, p.124]
  14. Sep 19, 2011
    85
    A unique game. Don't even try to ignore it. [October 2011, p.78]
  15. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    A gorgeous game, featuring expert narration and meaningful mechanics, where story, lore and gameplay are effortlessly weaved together. [Nov 2011, p.56]
  16. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  17. Sep 11, 2011
    90
    Bastion doesn't need gameplay gimmicks to feel innovative - instead, it plays with presentation in clever ways, and ends up feeling incredibly fresh, despite essentially being action RPG lite.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1006 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 315
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game! Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    A seemingly traditional foundation hides an adorable game with both heart and brains. From start to finish I found my self smashing through scumbags and the like with a joy I haven't experienced in games in a long time. The game-play is both solid and intuitive, but the meat of the experience lies in its presentation: the rebuilding world and its witty and grim narrator. This is what makes this game so hard to put down. The story is presented and played out in such a beautiful and fun way that I can't recall any other game this year - Tactics Ogre aside - that it this well. It may not be my GOTY (Tactics Ogre will probably snatch that one), but it very well could be. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    This game either has a cult following or the developers are squashing all the negative reviews and beefing up the positives. That said, nothing about this game is really that fun. It's fun listening to the narrator, but I got incredibly bored after 20 minutes of play and really just wanted my $15 back. After an hour I removed it from steam. It doesn't suck and the game is a somewhat an interesting hybrid, but there is just nothing compelling to make you want to explore more, play more, or achieve... anything! It's just a game with very little diversity in enemies, story, or art. It just kind of yammers on at it's own pace. I love achieving all the goals in games like MarioWorld Galaxy, and playing through top down RPGs.. This just seems to have jumbled the two genre's together haphazardly. Save the cash for better indie titles. Full Review »