User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1343 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    This game started out excellently with a great aesthetic, music, narrator and a certain depth to the combat. All the pieces came together for an amazing experience. This goes on for around ten or more levels then the gameplay peaks and becomes tedious. You fight wave after wave of enemies that you block or dodge or die. This would be fine except that it goes on for ten or more wavesThis game started out excellently with a great aesthetic, music, narrator and a certain depth to the combat. All the pieces came together for an amazing experience. This goes on for around ten or more levels then the gameplay peaks and becomes tedious. You fight wave after wave of enemies that you block or dodge or die. This would be fine except that it goes on for ten or more waves without respite. You fight the same enemies over and over again. The exact same fight, over and over. This highlighted the lack of depth in the combat system which killed the game for me, I didn’t want to play it again and I don’t care what happens to characters or the world the developers created. The whole experience came apart. Bastion was so well polished, right up until it wasn’t, at all. The keyboard/mouse combo was broken, so I played with a controller. 6/10 for half a good game. Expand
  2. AWG
    Jul 27, 2013
    5
    Bastion looks and sounds like a good product but games with "magic" elements and dull combat systems are really not my piece of cake. I found it quite boring.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    6
    Not a bad game, but its never really sucked me in. There is just....something missing. For me part if it is it's not really fast paced enough. Also it never really quite feels like your in danger. The sense of urgency is just missing. I can see how others would really like it.
  4. Jan 12, 2012
    7
    some hate the narrator and some love it. it is a matter of taste. i myself enjoyed it. made the whole world a lot less empty. i sometimes even forgot that the world was supposedly shattered and that most people are dead. however i did find some lesser points tough. for starters there are to many skills and weapons for a small game like this. i get weapon after weapon thrown at me causingsome hate the narrator and some love it. it is a matter of taste. i myself enjoyed it. made the whole world a lot less empty. i sometimes even forgot that the world was supposedly shattered and that most people are dead. however i did find some lesser points tough. for starters there are to many skills and weapons for a small game like this. i get weapon after weapon thrown at me causing me to not even bother to upgrade most of the weapons i get till i reached the endgame at which you have 2 weapons that are already the best. the same goes for the skills: you get one useful skill and you stick to it till the end. id still recommend it tough as its rare to find a game of this quality in its genre during the past few years. just don't expect an amazing game. its just very good Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    This game left me confused. It has nice, lush graphics, some fun enemies and a beautiful world to roam through. The story is somewhat convoluted but very well conveied (although I personally feel the narrative style does get old after a while). The weapon system is an interesting one and has got lots of upgrades. But just when you're fully upgraded, levelled up etc. the game ends. Why? WhyThis game left me confused. It has nice, lush graphics, some fun enemies and a beautiful world to roam through. The story is somewhat convoluted but very well conveied (although I personally feel the narrative style does get old after a while). The weapon system is an interesting one and has got lots of upgrades. But just when you're fully upgraded, levelled up etc. the game ends. Why? Why only 20 small scaled levels, not including the weapon upgrade levels? Sure, you can start all over again and you can keep your stuff and level up even further, but there's no real point to me if it doesn't bring me any new surroundings or storyline as a reward. It's no fun repeating the levels AND hearing the same old story over and over again just with higher difficulty (so I probably should have made thing more challenging to myself BEFORE I knew how short this game was? The map looked big enough for more challenges). This game could have been awesome if it would at least include some sort of level editor so that the users can provide each other with more, different levels. Now it's just a bit unsatisfying to me. I enjoyed my 6 hours of gameplay very much, but it's not enough. Needs more levels. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2012
    6
    Bastion is close to perfection in some aspects, like the world that is created during the progress and in others, such combats, where more work was needed; in fact for almost all fighting you are spamming the same button. The deep voice, that tell you the story all along,it becomes annoying in the middle of the journey and I think it's for this reason that I never finished this game.
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Amazing graphics, presentation and overall style. It's just that the game is too arcade and primitive. Also, the idea of the path appearing under your feet may seem cool at first but is actually quite annoying: you don't see where you can go and where not.
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game, I really did. Sadly, my favorite things out of the demo are the narrative voice (great!) and music (great!). Actually, the deal-breaker for me was the movement controls. I found them very un-intuitive for a PC player. Since the map is at an angle, the WASD controls were just not clicking for me, and I kept falling off.
    The artwork is wonderful, and I have
    I really wanted to like this game, I really did. Sadly, my favorite things out of the demo are the narrative voice (great!) and music (great!). Actually, the deal-breaker for me was the movement controls. I found them very un-intuitive for a PC player. Since the map is at an angle, the WASD controls were just not clicking for me, and I kept falling off.
    The artwork is wonderful, and I have mentioned - the music is superb. But the frustration with the controls made me not want to buy the full game. I do hope its funner on a console.
    Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    I can see why people like this game, but I just couldn't enjoy it. The biggest problem for me was the disparity between the solemn and gritty narrator and the joyful and colorful visuals. The narrator is very similar to the one in Fallout and supposedly in Bastion's world some sort of apocalypse has happened too, though you couldn't tell that from the way it looks. Another big problem isI can see why people like this game, but I just couldn't enjoy it. The biggest problem for me was the disparity between the solemn and gritty narrator and the joyful and colorful visuals. The narrator is very similar to the one in Fallout and supposedly in Bastion's world some sort of apocalypse has happened too, though you couldn't tell that from the way it looks. Another big problem is that the game is way too easy. Fall off the platform? - no problem you can go on from the same point. Die? - you can continue one or more times. Removing any challenge makes winning the game an inevitability and consequently any feeling of achievement and satisfaction is gone. On the positive side - everything in the game is polished, the game mechanics are sound and combat is fast and responsive. If you like the art style and the cryptic narrative going in the background, you'll probably enjoy this game. Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    I seem to be in the minority on this one and am still trying to figure out why I didn't enjoy Bastion more. The art style and story line were both intriguing and original. I enjoyed the narrator gimmick. The music was superb. The gameplay was varied and had a reasonable amount of RPG elements.

    It just didn
  11. Jan 10, 2012
    5
    Looks very pretty graphically but the gameplay is very boring & repetitive. Music is absolutely horrible & the narrator voiceover is very annoying, dull & uninteresting. Its a very overated game & is average at best due to poor gameplay but the annoying music & voiceover make it one to demo before buying. After 5 hours you will have completed it & need a lot of stamina to return for more.Looks very pretty graphically but the gameplay is very boring & repetitive. Music is absolutely horrible & the narrator voiceover is very annoying, dull & uninteresting. Its a very overated game & is average at best due to poor gameplay but the annoying music & voiceover make it one to demo before buying. After 5 hours you will have completed it & need a lot of stamina to return for more.

    Shame as the graphics are cute & well drawn it reminds me a lot of Wonder Boy In Monsterland games from the 1980's.
    Expand
  12. Feb 4, 2012
    6
    I can understand the many positive reviews on this game, but i really can't enjoy it. The graphic style and the soundtracks are indeed amazing, but all the whole gameplay is too much linear for me. Killing monsters, smashing everything and experiment with different weapons can be funny at first, but after a few minutes it was too much repetitive and boring. It seems everyone like andI can understand the many positive reviews on this game, but i really can't enjoy it. The graphic style and the soundtracks are indeed amazing, but all the whole gameplay is too much linear for me. Killing monsters, smashing everything and experiment with different weapons can be funny at first, but after a few minutes it was too much repetitive and boring. It seems everyone like and dislike the game for different reasons, so my suggestion is to try the demo first and then decide whether take it or not. Collapse
  13. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    It's a decent game, but it's criminally short. Do not buy this unless it's on sale for a couple of bucks on steam. I paid full price for it and felt ripped off because the game was so damn short. It's got a great visual style, great gameplay, great music, but the story feels a bit hollow and not very fleshed out, and as I mentioned before, the game's major flaw is that it's so damnedIt's a decent game, but it's criminally short. Do not buy this unless it's on sale for a couple of bucks on steam. I paid full price for it and felt ripped off because the game was so damn short. It's got a great visual style, great gameplay, great music, but the story feels a bit hollow and not very fleshed out, and as I mentioned before, the game's major flaw is that it's so damned short. If you get it for a couple of bucks you'll have an enjoyable (if short) experience. Do not pay full price for this. Expand
  14. Dec 9, 2011
    5
    An amazing, original presentation but completely hollow gameplay that feels like it only gets in the way of the storytelling. Very disappointed, the game certainly had potential but unfortunately to me a game, however beautiful it is, just cannot be lacking a solid core gameplay and still be enjoyable.
  15. Jan 28, 2012
    5
    I've noticed a lot of indie games getting overrated on metacritic. This is one of them. Music is pretty good the first time you hear it, but the sound of it doesn't vary much as you progress, and you end up getting annoyed by it. The narration was also annoying, I thought. It is an interesting fantasy world with decent art and ideas, but the gameplay is boring and repetetive. But if youI've noticed a lot of indie games getting overrated on metacritic. This is one of them. Music is pretty good the first time you hear it, but the sound of it doesn't vary much as you progress, and you end up getting annoyed by it. The narration was also annoying, I thought. It is an interesting fantasy world with decent art and ideas, but the gameplay is boring and repetetive. But if you enjoy an old guy talking all ghetto to a western tune, while an angry white haired kid shaped like an ape hits things one million times to kill them while they zip around, this game may suit you. Expand
  16. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    Wow, this is so overrated. If I was just judging by the voice over and story it would be a 10. But unfortunately the combat falls way short. The fighting is ridiculously simple--like a game from the 80s, but not in a good, retro way. The enemies just fade out without death animations which is very unsatisfying. The game's laughably easy with the hardest thing being that the hit boxesWow, this is so overrated. If I was just judging by the voice over and story it would be a 10. But unfortunately the combat falls way short. The fighting is ridiculously simple--like a game from the 80s, but not in a good, retro way. The enemies just fade out without death animations which is very unsatisfying. The game's laughably easy with the hardest thing being that the hit boxes for the sprites seems off so you have to pass your projectiles beneath the enemies. Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    It's a great game. But it's a bit behind the times. The narration is the best aspect of the game as the weapons and dungeon crawling aspects are well worn and don't present much that we haven't seen before. Ultimately I put the game down after a few sit downs and never actually finished it, it just wasn't enough that it had an interesting story, the combat failed to keep me interested pastIt's a great game. But it's a bit behind the times. The narration is the best aspect of the game as the weapons and dungeon crawling aspects are well worn and don't present much that we haven't seen before. Ultimately I put the game down after a few sit downs and never actually finished it, it just wasn't enough that it had an interesting story, the combat failed to keep me interested past the first few hours. Basically it all boils down to, 'If I wanted to read a book...'. I'm sure you know the rest. Expand
  18. Aug 16, 2011
    7
    The game is ok, combat can be fun and not too simplified, tons of destructible environment is also a plus. What i didn't like was annoying "off-screen" voice and price. 14 bucks could be fair price if Bastion had multiplayer and/or was replay-able, but as soon as you complete the main story you will never play this game again.
  19. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    Bastion borders on self-parody. I have never come across a game that is so steeped in its own "meaningfulness" and style while having so little substance. The narrator spouts vague descriptions and prophecies in a faux-homey manner as the ground builds around you as you move through each level (oh how symbolic! Err...) It is gimmicky and short...but enjoyable. Overall, the game seemsBastion borders on self-parody. I have never come across a game that is so steeped in its own "meaningfulness" and style while having so little substance. The narrator spouts vague descriptions and prophecies in a faux-homey manner as the ground builds around you as you move through each level (oh how symbolic! Err...) It is gimmicky and short...but enjoyable. Overall, the game seems disingenuous and doesn't have enough content nor a satisfying ending. The whole time you're playing, you're waiting for the game to live up to the art direction, the narrator, the music, and the critics' ratings. But it never does. The game is over fast and easy (I died only once.) It's a precious little enjoyable game, but the overwrought style gets irritating and laughable at times. Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    I played the demo and had a bit of fun. It's a cute game, I'd say if you never played a top down action rpg before it would be a great place to start so i will give it a six for some creativity and fairly smooth gameplay.
  21. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Signed up just to make this comment: there is a lot of hype, and this is a neat game, but so obviously a console port. The controls are wonky and hard to use accurately with keyboard and mouse. The game features a lot of quick-reaction timed button mashing (e.g., shield) which works well with trigger-style gamepads, but not with keyboard. Likewise, the WASD navigation is much lessSigned up just to make this comment: there is a lot of hype, and this is a neat game, but so obviously a console port. The controls are wonky and hard to use accurately with keyboard and mouse. The game features a lot of quick-reaction timed button mashing (e.g., shield) which works well with trigger-style gamepads, but not with keyboard. Likewise, the WASD navigation is much less sensitive than joystick, so you constantly fall off paths and die. Undoubteldy a great game for the XBOX, not so great for PC. Be warned before you buy. Expand
  22. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    This game looks great, the idea of the narrator reacting to what is happening works really well and adds to the mood and the whole game has a distinct style despite being an indie game. However, on the PC anyway, the combat is dull with the mindless pressing of the mouse button and combat does get repititive really fast.. The RPG elements are a bit too simple and it is far too easy andThis game looks great, the idea of the narrator reacting to what is happening works really well and adds to the mood and the whole game has a distinct style despite being an indie game. However, on the PC anyway, the combat is dull with the mindless pressing of the mouse button and combat does get repititive really fast.. The RPG elements are a bit too simple and it is far too easy and forgiving. Still, I can't say I didn't enjoy playing in parts. Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    It looks gorgeous, but the game-play gets tiring after a few levels. For me it doesn't succeed as an RPG or a 3D platform-shooter. There are some downright frustrating moments, but ultimately it's the beautiful gameworld that becomes so boring. I have played some indie titles, so I know that I can't expect big-budget production values. However, I can't quite work out how this game has suchIt looks gorgeous, but the game-play gets tiring after a few levels. For me it doesn't succeed as an RPG or a 3D platform-shooter. There are some downright frustrating moments, but ultimately it's the beautiful gameworld that becomes so boring. I have played some indie titles, so I know that I can't expect big-budget production values. However, I can't quite work out how this game has such a good user score. It's not bad, it's just not that amazing, sorry. Expand
  24. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    While many aspects of Bastion are interesting and it certainly has a unique and charming air about it, I don't think it really deserves the hype it has. The graphics are cute and narration and plot are done particularly well. In terms of in-game dialogue it felt a bit basic and I didn't really feel compelled to talk to the companions you gain properly. Combat is made somewhat interestingWhile many aspects of Bastion are interesting and it certainly has a unique and charming air about it, I don't think it really deserves the hype it has. The graphics are cute and narration and plot are done particularly well. In terms of in-game dialogue it felt a bit basic and I didn't really feel compelled to talk to the companions you gain properly. Combat is made somewhat interesting by how you constantly pick up new weapons and upgrades for them allowing you to customise how you play, but overall you still pretty much end up button-bashing over and over and over at the large amount of generic mobs. Most mobs don't give you any scare or force you to use tactics until very late game. On the other hand there are several challenge areas which are quite fun and testing. I didn't hate the game, and played it through to the end, I just felt that graphics and story only get you so far and the general gameplay has to be engaging as well. The game is medium-lengthed considering it's price (not cheap in term of indie games) and a completely playthrough, with completed challenge areas, took around 10 hours. Expand
  25. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    I played this game for 3 hours. It's a beautiful game, with a great soundtrack and good voice-overs. But gameplay is shallow at best. Everything you do in the first 15 minutes is everything you'll for the rest of the time. And it ain't much. It's not an RPG at all. It's more like a top-down isometric shooter/hack and slash. There's no reason to get this game with so many more interestingI played this game for 3 hours. It's a beautiful game, with a great soundtrack and good voice-overs. But gameplay is shallow at best. Everything you do in the first 15 minutes is everything you'll for the rest of the time. And it ain't much. It's not an RPG at all. It's more like a top-down isometric shooter/hack and slash. There's no reason to get this game with so many more interesting games out there. Expand
  26. Jan 22, 2016
    6
    Bastion is not a bad game, but it is another one of those Indie's where many people seem to be reviewing its "uniqueness" based on its single gimmick (constant semi-adaptive narration whose likeness and style of delivery is entirely relative). Problem is, once you get past the novelty, and when every trivial minor event gets "narrated" in detail, it starts to lose impact. Then all you'reBastion is not a bad game, but it is another one of those Indie's where many people seem to be reviewing its "uniqueness" based on its single gimmick (constant semi-adaptive narration whose likeness and style of delivery is entirely relative). Problem is, once you get past the novelty, and when every trivial minor event gets "narrated" in detail, it starts to lose impact. Then all you're left with IS the gameplay which for all the talk of being "story driven" is basically a button-mashing hack & slash but far more bland, generic and boring compared to other isometric ARPG's like Diablo 2 or Torchlight. Every level looks and plays the same with the same overall "formula". You fight the same waves of enemies over & over. Likewise, I don't see how a "your world broke apart and you set out to restore it" plot is "ground-breakingly original" unless you're completely new to computer games?... Expand
  27. May 20, 2014
    6
    A good game, with a great story and art style, the only thing is that the gameplay is lacking a bit, although i also have a dislike to the hack n slash type of games
  28. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Bastion is definitely a good game. No question about it but it isn't really a GREAT game. When it was released it was descended into the gaming world amid of ticker tape parade of hype. It did not live up to that hype at least not across the board. The gameplay, character development and plot are all good but like I said before none of them are great. The game is not without monotony,Bastion is definitely a good game. No question about it but it isn't really a GREAT game. When it was released it was descended into the gaming world amid of ticker tape parade of hype. It did not live up to that hype at least not across the board. The gameplay, character development and plot are all good but like I said before none of them are great. The game is not without monotony, the enemies aren't (by and large) particularly distinct, the multitude of weapons and attacks add something but that something isn't really that much fun, the plot is sort of vague and unnecessarily dark. The bosses, level designs and 'quests' feel pretty repetitive.

    All that said what Bastion does do is bring a really novel and humanizing use of game narration and actual voice to transform its gameplay. The effect wears off after a few hours but having the narrator (who's voice I love) responding to the nuanced gameplay choices you make is truly fun. He will mock you if you are playing poorly or dawdling he will comment on your ingame successes and tell the elements of the story as they unfold around you. The other element of the game that really grabbed me and deserves mention is the manner in which the game world is 'constructed' around you. The levels assemble and disassemble themselves as you play in a way that is interesting and beautiful.

    In closing Bastion is an interesting product and definitely worth a play through. It has incredibly innovative elements unfortunately none of those elements are truly central to the gameplay.
    Expand
  29. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    An excellently crafted experience, good core mechanics and a narrator that will give even Morgan Freeman a run for his money. The setting is well done and overall the game has alot of polish.
    Id say that using a x360 controller is the easiest way to play it. Happy gaming
  30. May 12, 2012
    7
    he story and narration are done exceptionally well, but at its heart, Bastion is simply a top view hack & slash shooter. What it does, it does well making it a great addition to the genre. The narration delivers something unique plus it includes some decent music, although I couldn't find anything exceptional in the gameplay. It was on par with my expectations, but never exceeded them. Athe story and narration are done exceptionally well, but at its heart, Bastion is simply a top view hack & slash shooter. What it does, it does well making it a great addition to the genre. The narration delivers something unique plus it includes some decent music, although I couldn't find anything exceptional in the gameplay. It was on par with my expectations, but never exceeded them. At roughly 6 hours in length, it proved a pleasant distraction from my core games. Expand
  31. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    Great game with great music. Interesting story, interesting mechanic, some sort of hardcore. Best endind of 2011. But game very short, and didn't interesting to start game when you do all achievements.
  32. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this game while it lasts. It's not a particularly long game: 6-8 hours on your first play through. The way to story is told is really unique and interesting, though it took a while for me to get the hang of the story. The levels are clearly designed with a controller in mind, you will have a difficult time navigating some parts of the game as your Keyboard won't allow you to moveI enjoyed this game while it lasts. It's not a particularly long game: 6-8 hours on your first play through. The way to story is told is really unique and interesting, though it took a while for me to get the hang of the story. The levels are clearly designed with a controller in mind, you will have a difficult time navigating some parts of the game as your Keyboard won't allow you to move in the precise direction needed. The RPG elements aren't that deep and are easily understood which i liked. Overall it was a good game, one that is worth the look. Expand
  33. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    Very original, great concept, though the execution could stand some scrutiny. For one thing, while many have praised its soundtrack I am on the other side of the fence. I think that music really allows a player to be engulfed into a world, not just by lush visuals but by the ambience of a track that puts you in the element of driving you forward. Bastion's soundtrack, while primarilyVery original, great concept, though the execution could stand some scrutiny. For one thing, while many have praised its soundtrack I am on the other side of the fence. I think that music really allows a player to be engulfed into a world, not just by lush visuals but by the ambience of a track that puts you in the element of driving you forward. Bastion's soundtrack, while primarily praised, I find a bit lacking. I felt as if the soundtrack just didn't put me in the game, but kept me away from it. As for the gameplay, it is a solid experience...when it didn't crash on me. For some reason, this game kept crashing on me a few hours into it. Mind you, my computer is capable of running Battlefield 3 and Skyrim on rather high settings, but yet Bastion of all games crashes my computer? The graphics are pretty, I won't take that away from the game, but why is it that this game crashes my computer? After googling around for a bit, I found it is a more common thing than I had initially thought, and Supergiant Games, after I informed them of this, gave me the poor excuse that maybe my computer couldn't handle it. Of course, that makes perfect sense. My computer can run the biggest, most graphically visceral games like Skyrim, but it just can't handle the awesomeness that is Bastion apparently. So, I'm tending to think that the game has some internal bugs that we're not aware of, and ones that Supergiant Games are not telling about. In any case, it's a solid game, well worth the money for a purchase. Hopefully, it won't crash on you. Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    I think this game is a bit overrated to quite honest. It's a good game don't get me wrong, but it's go a few issues it needs to address. For one thing, I'm not that fond of its "spectacular" soundtrack, it kinda grates on my nerves at times. Second, the controls are usually fluid, but there comes moments when it gets sticky and a bit clunky to move the proper way. Again it's a good game,I think this game is a bit overrated to quite honest. It's a good game don't get me wrong, but it's go a few issues it needs to address. For one thing, I'm not that fond of its "spectacular" soundtrack, it kinda grates on my nerves at times. Second, the controls are usually fluid, but there comes moments when it gets sticky and a bit clunky to move the proper way. Again it's a good game, but definitely undeserving of an Indie Game of the Year award at least in my opinion. Expand
  35. May 9, 2012
    7
    A good, solid, admirable game.
    Bastion is one of those titles that I can't bring myself to call truly great, but that being said it's definitely very *good*. Mechanically it's pretty tight and enjoyable, essentially a hack and slash with a variety of diverse weapons and abilities that keep the gameplay fresh and fun throughout. Story-wise there's a distinct attempt to try something
    A good, solid, admirable game.
    Bastion is one of those titles that I can't bring myself to call truly great, but that being said it's definitely very *good*. Mechanically it's pretty tight and enjoyable, essentially a hack and slash with a variety of diverse weapons and abilities that keep the gameplay fresh and fun throughout. Story-wise there's a distinct attempt to try something different, and it generally works in providing an interesting narrative that keeps the game ticking along and might even manage to pluck at your heart strings once or twice. Stylistically Bastion stands out a little more, with a distinctive art style and one of those rare soundtracks that manages to incorporate one holistic tone into a variety of different tracks, from the exciting to the sombre.

    Getting down to the critical observations though, the originality and distinctiveness of Bastion does not necessarily work to its advantage across the board. That's not to say it makes the game any worse either, but certain elements can be described as unremarkable in anything but their originality. I think the most obvious example of this is the style of narrative delivery by the narrator; one continuous voice over in the background that comments on the player's actions, progresses the plot, and exposes backstory. While the novelty of this feature made me smile a lot near the beginning of the game, it has the obvious drawback of limiting the player's emotional involvement with any of the characters. We don't hear their voices, understand their thoughts, or get much sense of their personalities outside of the bare bones.
    Overall it's a very novel feature, but I couldn't help but feel the narrative lacked a lot of the depth it showed potential for given its limited dimensions of storytelling.

    Gameplay-wise Bastion is slightly more conventional, and there's really nothing too major to criticise overall. It might have benefited from more of a focus on puzzles and unique situations that tickled your brain, but there was enough depth and variation in the combat system to keep it enjoyable for the six hours it took me to get through the main story and complete a smattering of sidequests. My only real gripe is with a strange change in combat mechanic at the very end of the game. Without giving any story spoilers away, it's that bizarre trope of video game design that throws a player into a completely new scenario in the final moments of gameplay, rather than building upon what the player has learned and testing their skills during one final well-constructed challenge. This isn't necessarily always a bad thing, but in Bastion you're given very clunky tools and vastly restricted abilities to overcome your final challenge. Thematically it's got a little merit to it, but in terms of gameplay it's just horribly sluggish and jarring, feeling like you're fumbling your way towards the finish line rather than dancing across it in a blaze of glory.

    For me, these little niggles and downsides are definitely going to keep Bastion out of my top tier of games, but it's undeniably a very well crafted product that isn't afraid to be itself. Admirable is the term I'd use to describe it. There's a character and uniqueness to Bastion that you don't find in many games between the extremes of mainstream content and overly quirky indie titles. It's a pretty gem that catches your eye, but it doesn't quite have the depth and sparkle of a diamond. For most people though, that should be more than enough to make Bastion a worthy investment and an enjoyable experience.

    It's solid, fun, and original. You can't really ask for much more than that.
    Expand
  36. May 15, 2012
    7
    I have this on steam. My PC and Mac have the same amount of ram, processor and graphics card, but for some reason the graphics were much smoother on my PC. The controls are much better with a controller than the keyboard. I got this game on sale, so for the price I paid it was a fun and entertaining game. The graphics were really bright and vivid, which was a nice change from theI have this on steam. My PC and Mac have the same amount of ram, processor and graphics card, but for some reason the graphics were much smoother on my PC. The controls are much better with a controller than the keyboard. I got this game on sale, so for the price I paid it was a fun and entertaining game. The graphics were really bright and vivid, which was a nice change from the dark/muddy pallet many games today have. Expand
  37. May 31, 2012
    7
    I loved bastion, for an indie game it 's good and content meets quality, the gameplay doesn't feel like something you have played before, the item customization is great and makes each item different altering the way you play. God did not come down to Earth to deliver this game, sorry rabid furry loving noobs, but it's quite a good game that is fun and definitely worth it.
  38. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    While the graphics and narration are fantastic, the game mechanics leave a little to be desired. The game consists entirely of hack-and-slash style combat, the only variation comes from the players preferred combination of weapons.
  39. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    The story was very involving, as a player you feel emotionally connected to your decisions. The controls are a little odd at first, but they grow on you. I wish there was more story to try out all the various weapons available. As soon as you develop a fondness of one, the game throws another at you that's equally as interesting. Towards the end I felt that I didn't get to use as manyThe story was very involving, as a player you feel emotionally connected to your decisions. The controls are a little odd at first, but they grow on you. I wish there was more story to try out all the various weapons available. As soon as you develop a fondness of one, the game throws another at you that's equally as interesting. Towards the end I felt that I didn't get to use as many weapons as I wanted to take down the unique creatures of the story. Expand
  40. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Bastoin is a very enjoyable indie game with a big heart. You can really feel that the creators put their emotions into the art, story, soundtrack etc. What really makes the game stand out is the Narrator. Some may find him grating, but I and many others find him to be a very interesting way to give us the narrative of the game. I'll put it this way, could you listen to an audiobook about aBastoin is a very enjoyable indie game with a big heart. You can really feel that the creators put their emotions into the art, story, soundtrack etc. What really makes the game stand out is the Narrator. Some may find him grating, but I and many others find him to be a very interesting way to give us the narrative of the game. I'll put it this way, could you listen to an audiobook about a game while playing a game. If that seems even vaguely interesting you might like it, but if that sounds annoying then maybe you should pass as the narrator is always there.
    The gameplay for me is a bit of a miss, but many people like it. It blends a top down rpg with some hack and slash elements. For me, it got a bit bland as I'm not a particular fan of such games(but the narrator kept me going) but for some it, and the great customization can make the game fun even if they dislike the narrator.
    Again the visuals in the game. Very pretty. That's about all I can say, as that is all I could think.
    The soundtrack is lovely and I think really help the narration flow.
    The story while may seem rather convoluted at first, can be rather intriguing if you listen to the narrator enough, and do all the bonus missions.
    I'm not going to spoil anything, but the ending bit is rather emotional, well, for a game of this caliber at least.
    In the end, I really think that the narrator is the deciding factor in many peoples enjoyment of the game. So if you would like it, then definitely play it. Heck, if the gameplay sounds interesting enough, give it a go if it's on sale.
    Expand
  41. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    This game had excellent visuals and one of the best narrations ever. It was a shame that it took me 2 hours to finish the story and the game wasn't very challenging. I completed some of the challenges but after the story was done, so was the game. I bought it for 2 euros on steam summer sale so I'm pretty content with what I got for that price. 10+ is a pretty steep price for such a shortThis game had excellent visuals and one of the best narrations ever. It was a shame that it took me 2 hours to finish the story and the game wasn't very challenging. I completed some of the challenges but after the story was done, so was the game. I bought it for 2 euros on steam summer sale so I'm pretty content with what I got for that price. 10+ is a pretty steep price for such a short game though. I would still recommend buying it from summer sale. Expand
  42. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    Overall, I found bastion to be a pleasurable experience playing it but there were some key parts of the story and gameplay which I found to be very annoying and results in me only giving this a 7. Some of those things are the narration that was very limited at some important times and way too unnecessary at others. The somersaulting in the game is not very well programmed and I believeOverall, I found bastion to be a pleasurable experience playing it but there were some key parts of the story and gameplay which I found to be very annoying and results in me only giving this a 7. Some of those things are the narration that was very limited at some important times and way too unnecessary at others. The somersaulting in the game is not very well programmed and I believe that it could've been so much better. Overall, it was a great game but I believe that it could've been better with some little changes. Expand
  43. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    At first, graphics, sound, game-play were very enjoying. After some time, it got repetitive and boring. Additionally I didnt understand the storyline much. I did not finish the game.
  44. Aug 10, 2014
    7
    Bastion is an absolutely beautiful game. I do not really like RPG like Bastion, but I was offered Bastion and I admit that I was quite surprised. Certainly RPG Bastion is a pretty standard, but I think the graphics and story are very well connected and are quite beautiful. The gameplay is good since Bastion is fluid and easy to handle, can not fault the above. So I think Bastion is a goodBastion is an absolutely beautiful game. I do not really like RPG like Bastion, but I was offered Bastion and I admit that I was quite surprised. Certainly RPG Bastion is a pretty standard, but I think the graphics and story are very well connected and are quite beautiful. The gameplay is good since Bastion is fluid and easy to handle, can not fault the above. So I think Bastion is a good RPG, with a twist on its class. Expand
  45. Oct 11, 2015
    7
    A very beautiful and intriguing game from Supergiant Games, which was indeed a surprise hit and deserves all the praise. It is an Indie, Diablo-like Hack and Slay game which should be very appealing to a lot of gamers out there. But this alone apparently doesn't make a good game, what makes this game so fascinating is on one hand the magnificent and captivating music from their musicA very beautiful and intriguing game from Supergiant Games, which was indeed a surprise hit and deserves all the praise. It is an Indie, Diablo-like Hack and Slay game which should be very appealing to a lot of gamers out there. But this alone apparently doesn't make a good game, what makes this game so fascinating is on one hand the magnificent and captivating music from their music producer Darren Korb and on the other hand the exclusive narrative style of Bastion. A voice is always following every step the gamer takes while unfolding the story behind the Bastion. This is what makes Bastion so unique and different to other games and should be on every gamers 'must-play' list, which sadly never going to happen since the majority of the gamers are graphics driven, blood seeking blockheads.

    This part is where my own opinion starts which I always try to avoid in ratings, so feel free to stop reading right here. Well I can't play Diablo-like Hack and Slay games since they all are the same for me and feel very repetitive and besides boring. This is why I couldnt gave it a good rating, but still doesn't change a full purchase recommendation from me.
    Expand
  46. Jun 26, 2015
    6
    - Good: Music, Art Direction

    - Mixed: Story, Writing, Gameplay, Setting, Atmosphere/Mood

    - Bad: Repetitive, Boring

    I barely finished it, i don't feel this game, for me its boring.
  47. Sep 4, 2016
    6
    Bastion is a nice little game, but not as good as many of the other reviews mention.

    The gameplay is pretty bland, story is ok, never really inspired me.
    Graphics are bad in my opinion. It can be fun, but I played lots of games much better than this one.
    Not sure if playing this game in 2016 is making me biased, but I can't see anything special in it.
  48. Aug 25, 2016
    7
    I've had this game lying around for some time before actually picking up and playing. A very nice looking, colourful game with somewhat interesting game mechanics and a really good audio layer.

    In short you wake up as a Kid in a world that has been hit by calamity - whatever that means - in short the world is dying, a lot of people died already and soon more will follow. You find a
    I've had this game lying around for some time before actually picking up and playing. A very nice looking, colourful game with somewhat interesting game mechanics and a really good audio layer.

    In short you wake up as a Kid in a world that has been hit by calamity - whatever that means - in short the world is dying, a lot of people died already and soon more will follow. You find a place called Bastion from which you venture forth trying to gather shards in order to restore Bastion to its full glory and stop the calamity.

    What really stands out in this game is both great music and superb narration. The story at first seems a bit strange and it's hard to make out what's going on but once you reach the end it all starts to make sense and is in fact quite interesting.

    The gameplay is an isometric a little bit like hack and slash but with much more emphasis on arcade action. You don't rely on the stats of your weapon but rather on your skill to doge, block and attack at the right time with the right time. Personally I didn't find the combat extremely exciting although I feel this might be a personal preference and a lot of people might love it. This is the reason why I only went after the story missions and completely avoided any additional challenges. In the end wanted to finish the game for the story, not the gameplay.

    The game lets you level your character but levelling up does not increase your stats - rather it unlocks a space where you can hold a bottle of sorts which boosts your stats in one way or another - it's an interesting approach to levelling. The weapons you will have you find along your journey. They're interestingly designed although I found out that at any given time I'm sticking with the choices made early on and not really going for the newer weapons which feel weak. You can level them up - but still - once you find your favourites there is no real reason to change them.

    Overall a good 7/10 game - not spectacular but a solid title - worth playing for the story for sure.
    Expand
  49. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    I can understand the many positive reviews on this game, but i really can't enjoy it. The graphic style and the soundtracks are indeed amazing, but all the whole gameplay is too much linear for me. Killing monsters, smashing everything and experiment with different weapons can be funny at first, but after a few minutes it was too much repetitive and boring. It seems everyone like andI can understand the many positive reviews on this game, but i really can't enjoy it. The graphic style and the soundtracks are indeed amazing, but all the whole gameplay is too much linear for me. Killing monsters, smashing everything and experiment with different weapons can be funny at first, but after a few minutes it was too much repetitive and boring. It seems everyone like and dislike the game for different reasons, so my suggestion is to try the demo first and then decide whether take it or not. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    83
    It's a highly polished, bug-free bundle of fun and at $15, it's a steal. Kudos to Supergiant Games.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    75
    Bastion hides a fun traditional gameplay under gorgeous and innovative visuals, that on the long run could come short in variety.