User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1008 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully.
    It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game! Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    A seemingly traditional foundation hides an adorable game with both heart and brains. From start to finish I found my self smashing through scumbags and the like with a joy I haven't experienced in games in a long time. The game-play is both solid and intuitive, but the meat of the experience lies in its presentation: the rebuilding world and its witty and grim narrator. This is what makes this game so hard to put down. The story is presented and played out in such a beautiful and fun way that I can't recall any other game this year - Tactics Ogre aside - that it this well. It may not be my GOTY (Tactics Ogre will probably snatch that one), but it very well could be. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Simply put: It's an amazing game. It takes you back to when games were more about gameplay and story that just graphics (Not that the graphics are bad, mind you). In simple words, it's an amazing game that it's worthy of being added to anyone's gaming collection.
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    For an Indie game i purchased on a whim that i expected to be childish junk, this game totally blew me away. As a linear RPG with an interesting twist through its narration it was surprisingly fun, and challenging. The game offers tons of ways to customize your play through experience from choosing weapons, customizing the weapons in different ways, upgrading them and your town. Choosing special abilities and perks for your characters and offering a TON of different ways to make each level you enter different through bonus's and challenges you unlock in the game. Super fun, super classy, this is a game you wont regret buying. Expand
  5. wr2
    Aug 21, 2011
    10
    Simply put, Bastion is one of the most inspiring, deep and meaningful games in years. It's all about storytelling and it has a story you will listen to the end, believe me or not. And when the story completely blows you away... well, may be then you finally stop moaning about your precious fifteen bucks? Fortunately, still there are games not measured in hours of gameplay per cent, but as a whole breathtaking experience, and Bastion is one of them. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game was nothing like what I expected it to be, but in a good way. I was expecting a bright hack-and-slash game along the lines of Torchlight and instead got a piece of art that inspired in me true feelings of courage and compassion. This is clearly not the game for everyone, judging by the few negative user scores on here, but you need to understand what this game is trying to deliver in order to appreciate it. Bastion is an Action RPG, yes, but the mechanics of the game are ultimately designed as a device to deliver the story. The mechanics of the different weapons themselves were varied enough that I had a lot of fun testing out and mastering new loadout combinations. The game really shines, however, when you pay close attention to the adaptive narrator, and to the scripted scenes. The juxtaposition of the somber and gritty story and the bright and fantastic art design is accomplished in an amazing manner and just seems to add greater depth to the story of Caelondia and the Ura and the rest of their world. The timing and pace of the story are perfect, even more so that they are designed to progress based upon the character's actions. It really makes you feel as though you are experiencing and creating the story, rather than tapping buttons and watching a screen. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    I am usually not into indie games. I support them merely because I believe they are good for the industry. Usually I buy them and they just sit their on my computer after a short play. But this game really hooked me in from the beginning, it's story is melancholic yet hopeful, it's art style is reminiscent of Korean cartoons that I've watched and the game play is pretty entertaining. The one standout feature of this game is the soundtrack which is head and shoulders above any game soundtrack I've heard. Unlike most games which have just a generic "epic" music score, this game's soundtrack is varied, very interesting and blends many music styles together.

    Altogether, it's a great game. Should be worth more than the $15 I paid for it.
    Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    Bastion is not one of a kind, but its of a genre of today that everyone loves. It join's up with Braid, Capsized and Limbo in the elite, handcrafted, polished and hand-painted 2D games of this generation. A unique aspect of this game is the highly detailed narration. It engages you like few games can, and adds a totally different look on the story. Immediately, it connects you with the main character giving you a portal into the character of his personal thoughts that you wouldn't otherwise have. It seamlessly creates a story book feel while at the same time it feels like you are writing the narrators lines before your eyes. Even if you find a path that isn't the main one, or you just spam buttons or sit there, the narrator will comment about it. The controls are very straightforward, with an easy-to-grasp tutorial at the beginning. The music is something stellar as well, and it brings you into the mood of the character. I gave it a 9/10 because there is not much replay-ability. The price could possibly be lowered $5 for this reason. That's the only flaw I have with this game.

    Check the demo out on Steam!
    Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I can't remember the last time I enjoyed literally everything about a game. The game play is just absolutely brilliant . No matter what you do in the game you will enjoy it. From the customisations of your weapons down to unlocking new challenges. And every weapon feels unique and rewarding. You are pretty much guarenteed to fall in love with at least one weapon.
    To top it off not only is
    the gameplay giving you more than enough reason to continue playing, but the beautiful story and the way it is narrated makes you want to find out what's going to happen next. And as an added bonus the music and the art style is so beautiful. I can't begin to find the words to describe it. I literally just finished the game but I can't wait to have another go with added difficulty.
    Bastion is the SuperGiant Games's first game. Let me just quote something they have on their site: "To make games that spark your imagination like the games you played as a kid." And with that Price tag? You better get it!
    Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Pure perfection. Truly great artwork, a fantastic soundtrack, fun gameplay with solid mechanics, scaleable difficulty, a great story, a wonderful narrator. Bastion is Game of the Year 2011 without a doubt and probably the best single player game I've played in the last decade or more. Buy this game immediately.
  11. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Fantastic little game, great production values, incredible BSO, pretty all around, nice story. Played 20 hours on this, best 15 euros spent on videogames this year. Those idiots giving the game negative ratings without even reviewing it to explain why have probably never even played the game.
  12. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Bastion is an awesome game. It has a good story, which is made even better by the way it's told. There are no cutscenes or discussions, because everything happens while you are fighting your way through the stages.

    The graphics are top-notch, hand-drawn 2D goodness and animations are perfect. On top of all these goodies, the gameplay delivers as well. The gameplay is solid and easy to
    learn, but it might get a bit repetitive if you don't change your weapons that often.

    Bastion isn't without downsides. It has a few very annoying features like the fact that you can't replay stages/challenges once you have completed them. You are also forced to lose one of your weapon when you find a new one in the stages, because the new weapon replaces one of the old ones. The game is quite short also, about 6-10 hours depending how well you want to search the places. Replayability is average even with the newgame+.

    To sum it up: Bastion is a game with a solid gameplay and an excellent groundbreaking storytelling-element, which I'm sure will be copied in the future. If you like Zeldas, secret of mana or other "old-schoolish-RPGs", be sure to try this one out!
    Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Simple to play, yet deep and compelling. A wonderful storyline narrated perfectly as you play. Some of the artwork and music here is better than a great deal of A list games today.
  14. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Easily the one of the best if not the best game XBLA has to offer variety of weapons and a different way of telling a story which may annoy some but to me was a nice change of pace compared to other action rpgs.
  15. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    I want to start out with the only negative thing I have found about the game thus far. The game doesn't seem to recognize just any gamepad within the options menu. Only xbox controllers are compatible it appears, I'am using a Logitech dual action controller. I figured this is something that will get fixed in a patch later on. Now on with the review, I have to start off by saying from the opening story that this game rocks serious butt. The simple interface/engine is very unique and immersive from the start, the narrator is simply awesome, extremely funny and very much adds to the cool atmosphere. I think the soundtrack is the best in the business acrossed all platforms against any game, the learning curve is beautiful and this is the best indie game period to date. If you wonder if the $15 price tag is way too much for this game you need your gaming head examined, the price is too cheap and the game is not super long but perfect for the enjoyment you will recieve. Replay value is way up with this game as well so listen on steam you have access to the demo of the game go grab and get hooked, then purchase and start achieving the glow baby! 10 out of 10! Expand
  16. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the rare gems, with high production values expecting from expensive games, this game has enthralled me to play from beginning to end and then again. Giving it that replay feeling that you just want to play more and more. From the story telling to the great way of upgrading and variety of weapons and the cool way of the level appearing from nowhere, this is definitely worth the $15 you will not be disappointed. Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Ive been interested in this game for a long time, but i finally bought it in the steam sales and i was glad i did, the art and narration are fantastic and the gameplay lives upto the style, its smooth and fast paced.
    While the game is fairly short about 5-6 hours there is an harder version unlocked on completion.
    So after like 12 months of been unsure, i bought and i loved it.
  18. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Everyone needs to play this game, If I had the money I would buy everyone this game. It has single handedly restored my faith in the future of gaming. All i can say is just..wow...seriously..just wow. Probably one of the greatest stories i've ever played. Everything from the narration, to the music ..my god the music..and just the epic epic story that sucks you in is just amazing. Truly a masterpiece where gaming meets art meets story. I actually bought the soundtrack after beating it because i was just that impressed with this game and these guys deserve every bit of my money. I'm already on my 2nd play-through just to play it again and unlock everything i missed. It really is that damn good. Expand
  19. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Simply put, Bastion is an amazing game. From it's wonderfully crafted 2D world that springs to life around you, to the compelling narrative driven story, simple yet satisfying game-play and a sound track that just feels so right, Bastion is guaranteed to provide an entertaining experience to any action RPG fan. While the game's story consists of linear missions, there's plenty of customisation with the game's weapon and skill system, along with optional distractions such as weapons training courses and a flash-back mode to get extra bits and pieces of the story. With it's modest $15 price tag, Bastion is difficult not to recommend, and with a demo available there's little reason not to try it! Collapse
  20. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Bastion is an amazing game, filled with colorful art and a sexy narration that tells the story as you play as oppose to ripping the camera and controls from you so you can watch a 5 minute cut scene. I would love to play another game with this guy as a lead voice. Music for the game is also very good and fitting for this kind of game, somewhat somber at times.The game play is pretty fast pace and excellent, though has it's short falls. One of them is that you are given too many weapons, Unless you plan on experimenting with the weapon load-out, You will usually stick with what works for you. Same with secret skills, which I hardly ever used while playing. Overall, an amazing game that opens up for you the more you play. 9 out of 10 for this excellent indie game. Expand
  21. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I keep trying to find words to describe this game, but it's so hard when it's so good... It has amazing gameplay, but I would say that the story is it's best trait. The narration, the atmosphere, and although I won't spoil anything, the story just keeps going strong throughout the entire game, building up, and finishing brilliantly. There are even weapon challenges beyond the main storyline which are insanely hard. I don't think I beat many of them at all, and I think I only fully completed one easy one. Expand
  22. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    A fun game that stands apart from the crowd, and yet is easy to jump right into. If you're looking for a pleasant game to play for a couple days, Bastion is it.
  23. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Out of all the downloadable games that you can purchase from Steam, I give this game top marks.
    I'm pretty sure anybody can pick up on the mechanics of playing this title. The tough part will be putting it down.
    This is a fun and fantastic game. No complaints whatsoever.
    I would recommend buying a wired XBOX360 controller to play on PC, though. The keyboard and or mouse configuration
    won't be for everyone. Expand
  24. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    after playing this game for four hours straight i felt i had to write a review about it. This game is probably one of the best games that i have played in a long long time... don't let its art and cartoony looks fool you, there is some very serious story telling in this game. The narrator (Rucks, a main charactor in the game) shows you to the refuge of bastion after a calamity happened and wiped out most of your people ( and the enemies people, the Ura). You have to build this refuge by collecting these blue large shards and bring the bastion into full restoration mode. This game has my full attention and it is not a game you take lightly. There is plenty of action and it is strictly storylined base so i suggest you buy it...hell if i know you well enough i'll pay half of it for you...

    Don't be skeptical...this game should have a 30 dollar price tag on it
    Expand
  25. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    I purchased this game due to being overly bored, and was surprised how much fun it was. The narrative is just awesome. The gameplay is also very nice. You can upgrade your town and your weapons, and finding stuff to upgrade is really fun. Choosing special abilities and perks for your characters and offering many different ways level different through bonus's and challenges you unlock in the game. Extremely fun, one of the best 15 bucks i have ever spent. Expand
  26. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Obviously someone is being ridiculous and purposely sabotaging the user score. This game is a Game of the Year contender and absolutely phenomenal. Ignore the overall user rating and go by actual reviews and critic reviews. Well worth the money!
  27. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    The possible things I want to say for this game can -not- be placed into 5000 words alone. And because I'd much rather go play new game plus for the third time, I'm not going to prove my point! The gameplay is simplistic, yet fast paced, enough to keep the adrenaline pumping and forcing you to be quick. And, if you find it too easy, you can always evoke the gods (via a shrine) to increase the difficulty in ways that add regeneration to them, or damage, or speed. Things like that. The story... That is what kept me going so strong. The voice of the narrator (Logan Cunningham) is utterly brilliant. My first thought was I'd be afraid of listening to the man talk about everything I did but.. I began doing things for the sole purpose of finding out -if- he would say something. And most of the time, he did. The music is utterly amazing as well. I've listened to the soundtrack so many times on their webpage, but haven't had the ability to buy it yet. It's a unique list of songs, and all go amazingly with the game itself. There are some powerful and emotional moments in this game. Moments you will probably never forget, and I give it a 10/10 for the fact that I've played through it twice so far, and it's still holding me to it. Supergiant games has made a masterpiece with its first creation. Makes me wonder what they'll make next. Expand
  28. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Game is absolutely amazing! History, atmosphere and graphics are far better than in other big non-indie games. Game is definitely worth giving it a shot and there is a demo available. Hope you'll enjoy it
  29. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Wow, that was amazing. I just played it through and the ending was brilliant and touching. I just tried to write a proper review six times, but every time I write something, I feel like I'm giving away to much of the experience. Simply put: If you like a hack&slack adventure rpg with brilliantly differentiated weapons, nice storytelling, brilliant and touching end (at least for me), brilliant soundtrack and nice controls (use the 360 controller, its way better than mouse + keyboard) in a 6+ hours single player experience - then go and grab the game and give it an awesome rating, because that will be the best 14 bucks to spend on a game this summer :) Expand
  30. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    A work of art and if you play it that is what you should be expecting. Game play wise it doesn't do much new, but what it does do it does well. Mechanically it is a strong action RPG with a few nice touches such as a decent selection of varied weapons all of which are fully upgradable, the ability to pick your own difficulty by worshiping certain gods, a home base which can be upgraded throughout the course of the game, and a spirit (drink not ectoplasm) based system which lets you tailor the main character to your own tastes. The game itself is focused almost completely on having you fight through levels and upgrade various things so you can fight through more levels, while this might sound boring to some the constant stream of upgrades keep it fresh as you unlock new weapons and abilities which keeps you wondering what the next reward will be. As stated previously though if you play this game from a purely mechanical view point you will be disappointed, in fact if you can't appreciate anything but the core mechanics of a game knock about 2 or 3 points off of the score now, while they are strong enough that the game aspect never feels boring they are by no means revolutionary. Where this game shines is the presentation, everything from the narration and story, to the art and music is completely top notch and experiencing more of it is what really drove the game forward for me. All of the levels appear to be hand painted affairs which rival the art in games such as Braid and Capsized, they consist of parts of a once prosperous but now shattered floating city, the parts of which literally fall into place as you explore the landscape, an effect which doesn't seem to get old. As you explore the levels the narrator, a husky sounding southern gentleman, explains what you are seeing and how the word used to be, occasionally commenting upon your own actions which really brings you into the game, and I spent a good while trying out different things (such as purposely throwing myself off of a platform) just to see how he would respond. The music is brilliant as well, generally very western sounding (as in wild west) mixed with more contemporary beats and occasionally an almost bangra flavor, the stand out tracks for me though were they 3(ish) songs which sound beautiful and are also very relevant to the characters and their stories. The story itself was good enough to make me invest in the characters and the world and had enough subtle twists that I found it genuinely interesting and cared about how the characters would be effected by the unfolding events.

    There were only two things which really bugged me, the first was the 3D models of the main character and the enemies, though adequate I felt they stood out like sore thumb against the beautiful backdrops of the broken world, and the second was the ease with which you could fall of platforms in some situations, however as the game is quite forgiving this wasn't really a massive problem.

    Overall if your eyes and ears work and you can enjoy a game based on its being beautiful as well as being a good game mechanically then this one is definitely for you.
    Expand
  31. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Absolutely beautiful game. Highly recommended it, such a beautiful storyline. The narrator is amazing and it's truly an experience I'll never forget.
  32. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    This should be mandatory material for anyone who considers themself a gamer. I haven't played such an interesting and engrossing game in years. Possibly my Game of the Decade right here. I'm not kidding when I say that this game legitimizes that gaming can be an art form.
  33. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    After hearing many almost perfect reviews from sources I trust to be close to the mark (Edge, IGN etc) I had to see what the fuss was about, and I am SO glad I did! From start to finish this game is genius, from the gorgeous world that springs to life around you, to the customisation options to suit your playstyle, and of course the story and narration which drags you in and pushes you on for "just one more level". I cannot recommend this game enough, and I l really look forward to what comes next from Supergiant Games. Expand
  34. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Quite simply, this game is phenomenal. A beautiful art style, coupled with an inspirational narrative style and heart-wrenching story make this, quite honestly, one of the best games I've played this generation.
  35. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    In short, great game, worth buying. Looks good, plays well, novel idea with the game world forming beneath your feet. Also, just to say about the comment "DantheMan" made; you CAN use a 360 controller (and most likely others) to play the game. So please don't make it seem like it is keyboard only. To go with that; its not a game that is really suitable for mouse use (imo)
  36. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    For a $15 game it really exceeded my expectations. The art style is beautiful, the OST is excellent and the gameplay is solid. The weapon/skills system is highly customizable, you can play the game in almost any way you want,. There's also a new game plus option, and ways to tweak/increase the difficulty in various ways. For these reasons, alongside two different and a number of well designed optional weapon challenges, the game has a lot of replay value. It's a completionist's dream.

    The combat is really satisfying. It's diverse and never gets bogged down in button mashing - although the option to "hack and slash" is there depending on your weapon choice. I should reiterate, it is a really, really nice game to look at. If you're a fan of games rendered on hand-drawn 2D graphics you should check it out. It has quite a unique style as well.
    Expand
  37. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    I can't fault this game! I went in with high expectations based on the reviews I've seen, and sure enough this was an absolute cracker which I'm sure I'll come back to a play over and over again.

    I find the difficulty levels very scalable, due to the system in place within the game (the idols). The graphics are absolutely beautiful, and the narrator is wonderful. The storyline is
    captivating, and the diversity of levels, enemies, and weapons is plentiful.

    I'm really excited to see what else this development team has in the pipeline.
    Expand
  38. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    I'm not one that usually enjoys indie games. They tend to have an interesting concept but they flounder when trying to deliver on it. I am delighted to say that Bastion is one of the most, if not THE most, satisfying games I have played in recent memory. I'm not just limiting that to indie games, I mean games overall. That's right, I'm putting the quality of Bastion up against that of AAA studios that have gobs more money to work with and Bastion is coming out on top. The visual style hearkens back to a simpler time when games weren't all about bump maps and huge polygon counts. The art is sharp, colorful, and interesting. The action is exciting, tight, and can be quite challenging when using all of the idols. The music is some of the best that I've heard from any game, bar none. The choice of implementing the stylistic narrator is arguably one of the most distinct features of the game, and for good reason, it injects real flavor into the game.

    TL;DR: I enjoyed every minute of Bastion. I did a new game+ and enjoyed every minute of that as well. The game is worth every cent of the asking price and then some. The industry needs more gems like this.
    Expand
  39. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I have played this year. It deserves all the praise it has received and more. Do yourself a favor and go buy this, now!
  40. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Finally created a metacritic account just to rate this game. It's a work of art. I never though such a cartoon style graphics could elicit so much emotion. In short, if you're on the fence, get the game and have an open mind... it's easy to get lost in.
  41. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    great story, art direction, soundtrack. Manages to blend of simple gameplay and rich storytelling into a game full of heart and emotion. It would be a shame for anyone to miss out on it.
  42. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Ill start by saying, I'm not usually into these kinds of games at all, but iv been hearing about it on multiple sites and from a little word of mouth. and i am pleasantly surprised with how amazing this game, i am having tons of fun and the art and sound direction are just flawless. It's a definite buy.
  43. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Well I picked up Bastion over the steam summer sale. While I paid two dollars I can say with out a tinge of lying, that I would pay well over 30 dollars if not more, to experience a game like Bastion. The way this game puts you in a world suffering from a disaster and tells you to fix it. With the narration, the characters, and stories behind every little item you find. You grow attached to this world and the people who are left living in it. It causes you to care for the creatures, even the ones that try to kill you... Then it gives you decisions.... Decisions that turn your world in circles... I give this game a ten out of ten, hands down the best single player gaming experience I've had in my life. Thank you Super Giant games, thank you. Expand
  44. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This game is really awesome! It blows most indie games out o the water with it's creative atmostphere. There is no reading for dialog and no voices as it is all monologued by the first man you meet in the game and it's done beautifully.

    The RPG elements revolve around the bar you first build where as you go up in levels you gain slots to put in different potions that give your
    characters different passive/conditional boosts like 15% damage resistance, +10% max health and many others. Also you are able to upgrade your weapons from the items you pick up, each one giving your weapon a different boost like faster reload time, increased damage and you have to choose between the two, but once it's bought you can alter the upgrades to change for whatever situation you think you'll run into like increasing the spread of a blunterbuss or instead going for improved damage.

    You also get a chance to go to what's known as "Who-knows-where" to fight waves of enemies to grind out xp and "cash".
    Expand
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    The first development of the studio Supergiant Games was a success on the Xbox 360, so of course a port to PC would be a great idea. I don't own a console myself, so I can't really compare the two versions.
    The game starts out with the kid waking up to a world that is falling apart. The calamity is here. You are immediately greeted with stunning visuals. The hand painted backgrounds with
    their many colors combined with the somewhat chaotic feel of a world in pieces, where the ground sort of rises before your feet give the game a great atmosphere that fits the game well.
    The sound is amazing and I recommend you go buy the soundtrack. It'll be worth it. It sort of has a western theme to it.
    The most important aspect of this game is probably that it's more the telling of a story than anything else. Sure, the combat system is fun and fast paced but there isn't really much depth to it. No, the most important thing is the story and how it's told, and that's the most interesting part. The game is narrated by a stranger you meet and his voice is just godly. It's like caramel running through your ears. He gives the story a whole lot of depth as you move along in the game while commenting on your actions in a way that I've never seen done before. The stranger is a character of his own, he's not just "the voice in your head". He actually has a purpose in this story.
    If you'd like to spend a few hours on a great story then go ahead, buy this game, you won't regret it. Just don't expect too much from the gameplay.
    Expand
  46. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    Beautiful game, and the best narration I've ever heard. Indie games are really coming into their own at present and this is the reason why. $15 bucks for 6-10 hours of addictive gameplay, emotive story telling and lovely artwork.

    Well done indie developers, keep up the great work!
  47. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The best Indie game so far, and i played many of 'em. If you like Action RPGs, than this is a must buy. Cool narrator, good story, many weapons and skills, and many cool new and fresh ideas. Pair that with a fantastic soundtrack and gorgeous full HD 2D graphics, and you'll get the best bang for the buck in a long time. And it has a lot of replayability too!
  48. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Maybe someday developers will learn that making games look good and sound good is not enough to make them be good. This game plays like something from the deep dark past of gaming hell. It is really a shooter not an rpg.
  49. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best recent games at a bargain price. It's a low budget Indie game, so I actually added a point to account for the value of the game compared to the price. The game itself has a fairly standard action RPG format, but is surprisingly polished, and adds a couple of things that you won't see in other games. One of those is the narration, which is pervasive throughout the game. I never thought it was out of place or annoying. It just adds flavor to the game. Another interesting thing they did was allow you to change the difficulty on a piece by piece basis. In the shrine building, you can make monsters have more health or do more damage and a whole bunch of other things, and in exchange you get more experience and more money for your added trouble. I don't think the game has a ton of replay value, but it's a decent game for a bargain basement price. Expand
  50. stv
    Sep 3, 2011
    10
    One of the most enjoyable games of all time and most certainly the most enjoyable downloadable game ever. Kudos to Supergiant Games. Keep up the god work!
  51. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    The Good: - Some of the best and atmospheric musics out of any video games ever - Beautiful arts and graphics - Narrator-system increases immersion; or sometimes just cracks you up - Myriad of choices of weapons, secret skills, playing-styles, buildings to build, to make sure you're never bored - Original world and lore - One of the most memorable ending in an RPG The Bad - Takes quite a while to feel like a great game. The opening and initial hours felt mediocre
    - Even though art is beautiful, special effects that are too simplistic might shy some gamers away
    - Combat system a bit boring
    Expand
  52. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    The best game I have ever played. I'm honest. It's stunning how such a small developer team can deliver such an excellent game. It is more than a game, it's an experience you can't get out of the head. The gameplay, the visuals and the sound- especially the music- are amazing.

    Buy this. If somebody told you to buy another game: Buy this first. Because no demo and no gameplay video can
    express how good this game is. Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. Great voiceovers, fantastic artstyle, gripping gameplay and a SUPERB soundtrack (I really cant stress how amazing the OST is)

    I'd like to say that it was too short, but... did I really want it to go any longer? Did I want it to drag out? No. It was the perfect length. My one complaint is how easy the first playthrough is. You don't unlock most the different totems for gods
    (Which act as difficulty adjusters) until you finish your game and start a NG+. A perfect game nonetheless, I hope we will be seeing more from this studio in the future. Expand
  54. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    A compelling example of what happens when story and gameplay are correctly integrated. If you hold artistic pretensions for games, then you do not want to miss Bastion!
  55. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game for such a small game. The design is such that you can play the game in small sittings, but the game is good enough so that you'll never want to. I spent about 12 hours one day and beat it. It's not very often I play a game that evokes that sense of wonder I had playing games as a child.
  56. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing action RPG. The controls are so tight, innovative gameplay and artstyle.
    The in-game challenges are a testiment to this, its a game you could pick up and play for fun or put alot of time and emotion into and get a really firm grasp of the mechanics. The story and narrater develops throughout the game. He explains the backstory and characters without the use of cutscenes.
    And the soundtrack is to die for; cant recommend this game enough. Expand
  57. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Cannot stress enough how good this game is.
    Awesome Music
    Awesome Narration and Story
    Really Amazing game and you don't know it all until you complete all the dreams and finish the game at least twice.
  58. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    Game is awesome, Narrative is the best part. Story kept me trying to figure out exactly what happened constantly. Combat is fun with the many different weapons to use. plenty of strategies to choose from, special abilities and so on. Great length, I was expecting much shorter, but I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't not think a game of this type could last that long without becoming a chore, but It was really great to the end.

    I would only add one thing, optional missions. and not just those proving grounds ones, some optional missions to earn resources. Playing the same Reflections got a bit tedious. Also, leveling up took a bit too much time, but then i suppose it would have been too easy.
    Expand
  59. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    Beautiful 2D graphics, great gameplay, incredible soundtrack... This game is a nice surprise for anybody looking for something fresh and easy to play. Bastion is an action RPG with some innovative points. The most important is the voice of a narrator telling the story as you advance in the game. It is a great tool that invites to keep playing in order to find out new details about the Kid and the Calamity. The game is structured in different areas that are dynamically built as the player moves. They are generally short, so they are perfect if you just want to play for a while after a hard day of work. As a consequence, Bastion is not very long (it took me 8 hours), but in my opinion it has the right length for its prize. There is a wide range of weapons available. They are given to the player as new areas are finished, and allow for different combat styles (ranged, melee or a combination of both). There is also a counter system in order to give back some damage if the corresponding key is pressed at the precise moment.

    I think Bastion will be specially enjoyed by all those who played 2D action RPGs during the 16-bit console generation. It is like a look into the gameplay of the past with an updated technology... And it works!
    Expand
  60. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome, a great new angle on an old idea. I enjoyed the customizable difficulty, weapons and spirits, I played this game through twice, once on the new game and once on new game plus. I have two complaints on the game, the combat felt a bit repetitive at times and I just wanted the area to be done so I could hear the rest of the story, it was however good enough that I went through twice so it's not a huge complaint. The second is the challenges for each weapon, some were so easy I could pass them with no weapon upgrades at all and others were so hard I could hardly pass them with all weapon upgrades with different combination's. I don't care if they are easy or super hard, I'd just like to see some consistency between them Expand
  61. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    A product of good design and excellent creative direction. Its gameplay is fantastic, and the story, visual style, and soundtrack all work perfectly with it.
  62. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Bastion is a great game. Perhaps the best game I have ever played. The story not only sucks you in; you come to care about the characters and their shattered world. The controls are tight, the graphics, though stylized, are beautiful. And the world builds itself around you as you go in a way you must see to believe....and then....then there is the narrator. He responds to your actions, fills you in on the story and is a constant companion. The voice acting is spectacular - on par with major motion pictures, and the writing is spot on as well. The world, music, combat, graphics...the game has no flaws and this from a guy who looks for flaws in his games. If you love RPG's with a great story, character development, balance and weapon and item upgrades, you owe it to yourself to play Bastion. Expand
  63. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This game is just stylish! Lot of way to customize your character can makes every run different and never boring. The game is fast, the story (very intriguing) is narrated in 3rd person while u play = no dead times that breaks the action!
    Add a terrific soundtrack and a very low price (13 euros on steam) and u'll have a masterpiace!
  64. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. The art, music, story and combat are all fantastic. It's going to be a game I return to year after year. It's simply a blast to play, and it doesn't get old. I played it through multiple times to the end. I played on both 360 and PC, both are fantastic. The PC version of course looks much better at full 1080. Great game, can't recommend it enough. It'll look great in your Steam Library Expand
  65. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    The game is fantastic. The artwork reminded me of Disgea, but this was it's own beast. If you have an extra 15 bucks, or even if you dont, buy this game.
  66. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    It's an excellent game - this is the one you call - job well done, i.e. someone has really put one's heart into it. I'd be repetitive if I'd praise the graphics, the story, the sound etc. It's just a well balanced game with a lot of lasting appeal.
    If the developers of this gem are thinking about the sequel/or just another title, I would definitely put multi-player/co-op into the equation.
  67. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    The art is great. The music is good, and beyond awesome in a few places. The narration is partly a neat gimmick, talking about what you do as you do it, but it's also very effective in serving up the story and back-story while allowing you to keep beating up enemies. The narrator's voice acting is perfect. Combat is good, with dodge, block, and counter mechanics. I expected it to play like Diablo or Torchlight due to the top-down view, but it feels more like God of War or Bayonetta (minus combos). The RPG and customization elements are well done, giving numerous play-style possibilities without being overwhelming. You can switch your choices around enough that you won't feel like you're stuck with bad decisions forever - once you have everything, all options are available. When discussing the game with other players, its great to see how everyone has their own personal preferences for weapon combinations and upgrades - almost every combination is both viable AND unique. In addition to giving plenty of options for how you want to beat up the baddies, one of my favorite features of the game is the ability to dynamically buff the enemies for greater challenge and greater reward, reminiscent of the difficulty settings in The World Ends With You. Instead of just increasing the enemy health and damage, there are 10 different options available that you can mix and match, such as faster enemy movement, enemy health regeneration, and enemies drop bombs when defeated. While the game is mostly linear, the story is good and made better by how it's delivered. The game is neither too short nor too long. After completing the story, you can carry your items, level, and upgrades over to New Game Plus, which you'll need to do in order to fully upgrade everything and access the hardest difficulty settings. With the extra weaponry and difficulty options available the second time through, it doesn't even feel repetitive. My total time played is about 23 hours for two play-throughs and 20/20 achievements. I recommend using a gamepad, but mouse+keyboard is perfectly playable, and even better for some weapons. In summary, Bastion is a game that does almost everything well. If you have any doubts, check out the free demo on Steam. Expand
  68. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    This game is completely mind-blowing. 10 out of 10 for story, graphics, and dialog; 9 out of 10 for combat; and an overwhelmingly beautiful soundtrack make this the best indie game I have ever played, period. Do yourself a favor and try it out.
  69. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Completely game of the year material, I'm not one for indie games (especially hack and slash games) but this was a gift from a friend trying to get me away from the usual games I play (tf2, css, cod). From the very start, the narrator draws you into the story giving the most immersible game since metro 2033 and penumbra, even without top end graphics. I'm not too much for words like the narrator of this game, but if your parents ever read you a story buy this game. If you enjoyed castle crashers, buy this game. Expand
  70. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Bastion is amazing. I initially bought the game for the soundtrack after hearing some of the music. The music is just that good. The game is even better. I enjoyed every minute of it. The story, narration, music, art, and gameplay. It all fit together perfectly. Game of the year for me.
  71. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    This game is vastly underrated, even with all the positive reviews. Absolutely stunning artwork, soundtrack, and story-telling matched with the most addictive isometric platformer I've ever played. The ending ranks in my top five of all time. With fully destructible environments, plentiful challenge modes, and a staggering array of weapons and upgrades, it's replayable well beyond its $15 price tag would suggest. I did not expect to like this game much at all, but having finished it, I would trade a dozen blockbuster games for just one more handcrafted masterpiece like this. Expand
  72. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    This game is Unique fun and has an amazing story line. There was a review that was mad about using the keyboard. DON'T LISTEN! I used my X-box 360 controller and the the controls were great! this is the best game I've played on PC in a long time. I spent about 26 hours but i skipped over a lot of side stuff, and without saying any spoilers I can promise i will play this through again just to see the other sides. And they let you keep you XP and weapons for when you play it a second time. What am i doing wasting time writing this review. I have to play this game! Expand
  73. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    The gameplay is fun, the graphics are beautiful, the music is lovely and the story is engaging. A work of art and possibly the best game I've ever played.
  74. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Supergiant Games really put their love into the game, not only for the sake of the sales number, but also for their own first job-well-done. You can feel it from the beautiful art-work with the levels, the musics, songs, characters, and the story itself. I would have given it a 10 if it has Multiplayer mode, but still, the game sure is going to be one that we are not going to forget anytime soon. Pardon this narrator wanna-be line: " There is just one more thing that i'm sure of, we're all looking forward to another story, waiting to be told." Expand
  75. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    It's a shame that a bunch of nerds are only going to talk about this game based on its narration or its art style, because the actual gameplay is very solid. The weapons each have their unique style, and your choice of any two weapons lets you play with making some good combinations. There are plenty of upgrades to spend money on, which are simple but effective and varied. The adaptive difficulty "gods" system is especially nice, letting players make enemies tougher in particular ways in order to gain more exp and money. The game is a little on the short side, sadly. The narration thing is just window-dressing - the actual game is one of the more satisfying action-rpgs I've played in years. Expand
  76. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Lot's of people have raved about the story telling in Bastion, and it's worthy of all the praise. But for me it's all about the game play. Luckily Bastion delivers an excellent experience in both game play and story. I've read about how Bastion is supposedly like Diablo or Torchlight. In my opinion it's nothing like those games. It's short, sweet, and full of diversity of game play. A good example: The game isn't an endless loot grinding dungeon crawler. Nor is it a mindless hack and slash. Combat involves timing attacks for critical hits, timing blocks to do counter attacks and timing your evasive rolls to miss incoming enemies. Weapons aren't replaceable objects valued only for their precious stats. They are reliable tools, each doing something uniquely different and at the same time being good for more then one thing. As you upgrade your weapons they even offer two avenues for enhancing their effectiveness at different styles of play (I must add that I find it awesome that you can change your weapons upgrade trees after you purchase them). Maybe you think upgrades are cool and all, but your more interested in how difficult the game is. Admittedly it's not all that complicated to complete the game as presented to you. What IS hard is obtaining the XP and upgrades. So how is that fun? Because you can make the game HARDER. There are idols you can activate that make all enemies more powerful with a specific skill or attribute. You can activate up to ten of these idols simultaneously, and for each one you add you will receive more XP and more money. So not only are you making the game harder (which in my opinion is more enjoyable), but your also making it easier to get levels and unlock new upgrades. In my opinion it's all of these things that make Bastion a great game (and a superior action based RPG). Skill not Tedium. Tools not Trinkets. Collecting not Consuming. And a reward for those of us who are up for a challenge or two. Expand
  77. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    This is a brilliant game. I hadn't even heard of it until a week or 2 before its PC release but I heard so many incredible things that I went for it. The dynamic story telling is fantastic, and the story it tells is beautiful. The gameplay is entertaining and well structured, and the level design is beautiful. There's very little this title doesn't have, and it beats many boring AAA titles hands down. I love this game, and I hope to see more releases from this developer in the future (on the PC)! Expand
  78. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Bastion is absolutely worth the purchase, particularly considering its low price. Very few other games I've played have nailed story-telling and atmosphere the way Bastion does. That said, the game does have minor flaws, but they're forgivable simply because of how memorable the experience is.

    Bastion's strong points lie in how brilliantly the atmosphere has been crafted, weaving story
    and mood right into the gameplay. The game has a narrator who guides your character along his journey, elaborating his story with little details based on your actions. This is key to video game story-telling -- it makes you, the player, feel in control of the story, rather than having it read to you via cutscenes or dialogue. The stylized visuals and haunting soundtrack add to the effect, creating a dream-like atmosphere in which the player truly feels like a part of an unfolding tale.

    The gameplay itself is functional. The mechanics are akin to those of a simplified action RPG, where you can hold a number of weapons to perform simple attacks. The various weapons can be upgraded, but the combat never really deviates from its simple hack-and-slash format. In this sense, the combat isn't terribly innovative or inspired, but it's decent enough to carry you through the game.

    The biggest flaw I can think of is the WASD control scheme for the PC version of the game. You can immediately tell that it was designed for console controllers, because the isometric viewpoint leads to somewhat awkward movement using just the WASD keys. At times this gets irritating, and has more than once led to interruptions in battle due to my character falling off the level. However, this is a minor issue that's easy to overlook in light of the brilliance of the rest of the game.

    You know that a video game has something special to offer when, at its end, you simultaneously feel sad that it's over, and eager to play the entire thing again.
    Expand
  79. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Its a breath of fresh air and an innovative little action packed rpg ! Its got original hand made graphics and fantastic soundtracks, the narrative story make it original and entertaining. The game is short but as a re-playability with some choice to be made in the story line and some challenging mini games. If its not hard enough there is a possibility to increase the difficulty inside the game.

    There is different weaponry and skills to match your style, you can smash and destroy almost everything in the scene .

    Negatives points i found : Short game You will fall often and it can be irritable but its ok since you only loose a bite of your life.
    The background is falling and constructed as you walk , its original but can also be irritable at long.

    Overall the small negatives points doesn't weight much versus the good points , its a great game with a small cost worth paying for. After all there isn't too many new innovative original and interesting game out there.
    Expand
  80. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Alright, I bumped into this one pretty much by an accident. It was mentioned in a beta Diablo 3 video and I thought "Eh, what the heck, might as well kill some time with some other action RPG, if it's worth it". And in one sentence, it is very worth it. I got a demo which was just about enough to get me really interested and the full game straight after. I got the game yesterday and since then I barely have been able to stop playing! Bastion is monumental. It has great story narrative, it has lovely smooth hand art graphic and everything works just great. The only tiny little bit that I would complain about is that you can't run through an area once you've completed it (picked up a core or a shard for example, and left), that is one and only downside, because it really forces you to keep your eyes peeled and you SHOULD explore as much as you can if you want to play the game to its fullest. Other than that, there's nothing to complain about. Combat is great, it's skill rewarding, every weapon really feels different and you'll certainly grow in fond of those that suit your playstyle. What I really love is the idol mechanic. By activating various idols of local gods, you can diametrally change the flow of the game. If you run around without idols, the game will be fairly easy, but you will hardly ever get a new spirit slot in your Distillery. Once you have 3, 4, 5 and more active, you'll really be tearing your hair out sometimes, but you're gonna grind a lot more XP and fragments, so it's worth it. For its price and the fact that it's been done by a team of 7 people, it's absolutely amazing. Great work, Supergiant, keep going, I'm totally gonna support you if the quality of the next titles doesn't dwindle.

    PS: To goodterling... Try turning some idols on, you jerk. Bastion is way better than say Magicka, which really gets too repetitive after a few hours, Bastion gives you a plenty of variety in fighting based on which weapons you use and it doesn't lose pace the entire playthrough.
    Expand
  81. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    There is a large buzz about Bastion and with good reason! The story is incredible but also how it was executed is what made Bastion what it is today.Simple action based platform game with a unique difficulty setting letting you chose buffs for your enemies and changing them as you like. game play is straight forward, you have a variety of weapons and upgrades to choose from both melee and range. Sound track, graphics and story flow well together and there was never a dull moment during game play. highly recommend Bastion and for a low price on steam you can't go wrong! Expand
  82. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is a game that brings back a familiar feel of smash 'em up, combined with the unique prospect of a narrative driven game. There are elements in this game that will not only appeal to the casual gamer, but allows a critical gamer such as myself to sit back and ponder, Why are people that care this much about producing not only a game that is fun to play, and play again and again, but an honest and beautiful work of art, the underdogs of gaming production? You will step into this game, admiring the almost cartoon like graphics, and you will almost immediately begin to understand how the narrative will not only push you forward, but takes time to entertain you when you decide to step aside and spend your time exploring a level. At one point in the first level, I decided to just break everything, and after a few minutes of doing so, the narrator kindly applied the line to his story, "And the kid just raged for a while." And that, Is what sold me. This is not a cheaply done gimmick where you hear the same voice actor repeating lines and announcing for the 100th time that you've killed a baddie. This is effort. And that, I do believe, is all it takes to make the gaming community respond with enthusiasm. So put you big pants on EA, And stop trying to sell a game to the general masses, dumbing it down, and spoon feeding it to anyone you can impress with a new sims expansion, And take one out of the books from the little guys. All you need to focus on, Is making a game that is fun to play. In the age of information, marketing has no place in the development stage. When a game is good. We will hear about it, one way or another. Expand
  83. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Bastion has an awesome Story and the best Music background and voice i ever heard ! And I love the graphics as well . Its a great game and a must play for everyone !
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing, never in my 15 years of gaming have I ever come across anything that has wowed me quite as much as this has, the combat feels smooth and fun, the graphics are unique and well-done, the narration is absolutely flawless, and the music completely drives home the mood at any given time, but the real kicker is the sense of choice as to how the entire story plays out, and the satisfying conclusion to the entire game, all around perfection, i give a 10. Expand
  85. GvS
    Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Nice story, beautiful artwork, great music and gameplay. I haven't played such a good game for a while, it's theoretically just hack and slash, but it's really well done, almost perfect.
  86. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    Fascinating mix of a typical hack and slash RPG and well.. when you get down to it and take the atmosphere away, that's basically what it is. However it is pretty much the best out there and the atmosphere is nothing short of phenomenal with one of the best voice over voices I've heard.
  87. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Bastion is what i would like to call a masterpiece. For its prize youll get something pretty dang amazing, and that goes for graphics,sound,story and gameplay. 1. The graphics are simply beautifull and fit the whole story pretty well 2. The soundtrack of this game is bombastic and one of the best i have ever seen...play this game with a headset and your ears will love you for sure 3. The story is great...as you probably have heard yet, there is a narrator through the whole story to tell the story and to give tips. And this is unique and well done, so The story will suck you in for sure 4. I found the gameplay strange at first,but cot used to it pretty fast...using the shield,jumping around and the different attacks get intuitive pretty fast...This game is one excellent piece of gaming and the best deal i made on steam for a long time....although it´s a game with the biggest strength in story, its easy to start a second playthrough with more challanges Expand
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    The fantastic narration really brings this game to life. Although the gameplay is linear it manges to be enjoyable without being too challenging. Well worth a look.
  89. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Didn't expect much from this one, but it does have a few layers of difficulty when you get involved. Narrator is really nice, makes the game feel like a story. Not the hardest game in the world, but you have the option of using idols to make things tougher yet more rewarding. Frankly it's the best $15 game I've ever played. May not stack up to a $50 triple A title, but it's a gem nonetheless and worth every penny. Family friendly. Expand
  90. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my entire life. Period. The graphics, the narraration, the gameplay, the story, THE MUSIC OH GOD THAT SOUNDTRACK IS AMAZING...everything is just perfect. Worth every penny.
  91. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Beautiful game. The story is pretty simple yet very charming like a fairy tale. The narration and the visuals blend in to the overall wonderful feeling of this game. Does the gameplay suffer because of this? Not at all. The controls are smooth and simple, giving you the whole fun of a hack and slash game. An Indie game that greatly surpasses big titles out there.
  92. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I bought the game on sale after playing through the demo and loving it, and three days later I've completed it... for the first time. Now, I'm not a fan of hack-n-slash gaming nor of RPGs; but Bastion got through my initial prejudice. It manages to strike just the right balance between action that's never repetitive, almost always challenging without demotivating, and just plain fun; character development and upgrades that keep you engaged and looking to experiment without overwhelming you with options; and above all, a compelling and immersing story that keeps you wanting to find out what happens next. The graphics are beautiful even if not state-of-the-art. The game is displayed in an animated pseudo-3D isometric view, with some cut scenes hand-drawn. This isn't your latest realistic FPS with the latest GFX, but it suits the game just fine. My only issue here is that the character's movement sometimes seems robotic and reminiscent of 90's-style frame-animated isometric shooters.


    The soundtrack -- a pretty important element for me in games -- passes my "Will I listen to this later?" test with flying colors. In fact I'm going to buy it despite the relatively steep price compared to the game itself ($10 for the OST, $15 for the game, and no actual discount when buying the two together). The story, as mentioned, is the heart of the game. It unfolds slowly, bit by bit, in the narrator's old, raspy voice, mirroring and shedding light on your actions. This ambitious concept could've gone wrong in so many ways, and yet the folks at Supergiant Games got it pretty near perfect, to the point that it is an almost profound experience at times. The narration is a huge boost to the storytelling aspect of the game and makes it that much easier to immerse yourself in it, but that won't be worth anything without a good story, which Bastion luckily has. Like Braid before it, Bastion knows how to tell a good story, using your in-game actions to advance the plot -- but not always in the way you expected, making you wonder who's playing with whom. I think this element could've been used a little more heavily, but I'm still very happy with the result. The game play is intuitive and simple, yet complex enough to keep your interest. There are a variety of different mechanics all interacting with each other, so you never sink into a repetitive routine or "farming". Sometimes it feels a little too linear -- most maps basically have a single path you'll have to go through -- but then, when it matters, the game presents you with some tough choices and lets you choose without bias and with no obvious right or wrong answers. All in all, it's an very enjoyable game that doesn't require a huge commitment but certainly leaves its mark on you. I'm definitely going to play the last part again to explore some other choices, and then there's "New Game Plus" which promises a different experience altogether (haven't tried it yet). Supergiant definitely made an effort to provide replay value here and that's appreciated. Even without it, the primary story line is good enough that I'd be completely content to just wrap it up, 3 days after I started playing, with just the story and the soundtrack as memories of the experience. So, aside from some minor issues, I think this is a pretty amazing game, definitely worth its price. Try out the demo if you haven't yet, and then go play the real thing. You'll be richer for it.
    Expand
  93. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Bastion is simple but effective. Your combat tools expand rapidly as you develop your own fighting style. You can go to special "proving grounds" to practice with your favorite weapons. Besides that, the storytelling is unique and relaxing. While you do work fighting off enemies, the narrator gives you the lowdown. The world you explore is fragmented and broken, but the visual element of the game is gorgeous. Most importantly, Bastion's music ties everything together. I can still hear the bluesy guitar line and the hurt voice of a character you meet early in the game. Expand
  94. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    New gamers just wont understand the essence of this piece of art,brings back the times when games were about having fun and a good story instead of just graphics and hacking massive multiplayer,just got 1 word for this game. Awesome.
  95. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Coming from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've never wanted to find out more, or what happens next in a video game. The combat is intriguing and makes you think on your feet on a regular basis, Mix that with the variety of weapons all fit different combat styles makes you play like you want to rather then the best way. Expand
  96. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    From about 30 seconds into the game I started to love Bastion which is odd for someone who normally falls asleep at the mere thought of a game which could be described as "hack and slash". The love would have been sooner but I went in with very low expectations thinking it wouldn't be a game for me. Bastions world is brilliantly done, the game makes you genuinely want to go on to the next area so you can rebuild your home hub area and the narrators script and voice has changed the way I want both storylines and item descriptions presented to me forever. Every game should have a narrator like Bastions and after playing it, the mere thought of having to read things in other games is actually depressing. The combat works, there's an upgrading system which is very easy to use, interesting challenges, excellent story and reminds you of a time when games were games and not interactive films. Expand
  97. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    With beautiful and eye popping visuals and with a cool narration to go with it, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game. Unlocking some really cool weapons as you go along the levels, being able to hold two at a time and also being able to unleash a special ability. What really made me indulge into the game was it's sheer simplicity, the more you play the more you want to go on. It is not a very long game but the experience is worth it. Yes, yes, you could say the game is easy, I've heard that numerous times before. But that is only a small problem as you could add shrines to increase the games difficulty.
    All in all, A really great indie game, a must have.
    Expand
  98. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Out of all the games that I have ever played, for any platform, Bastion is possibly the best. The game makes wonderful use of the narrator mechanic and tells a wonderful, compelling story. the game is also gorgeous.
  99. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    An achingly beautiful game. Whether you are putting on your art game hat and ranting how it truly utilizes the medium of games to do things no other genre can pull off in stunningly clever ways, marveling in a beautiful and poignant story with surprising depth, relaxing with the narrators voice (Morgan Freeman wishes he could narrator like this), appreciating one of the finest game soundtracks ever, or even just enjoying the good old fashion hacking, slashing, and shooting, Bastion has something for you. And it has something that will stay with you long past your game session. Cons are genuinely hard to pick out. Weapon balance seems a bit off until you get a few upgrades, and I suppose it takes a while for the combat to feel as varied as a less streamlined isometric game. Perhaps a slightly larger cast of enemies would be welcome. Umm...a few of the weapon challenges feel cheap. Honestly, I probably should round up to 10.

    In short, buy it. Buy the soundtrack too. Gamers, we want more of this, and we want more people who are up to making things like this.
    Expand
  100. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    This game is so good that I played through it twice back to back and each time I was sad the story ended. Beautiful music beautiful world, excellent story telling and great gameplay wraps this up as a fantastic game.
  101. Aug 24, 2011
    0
    Simply put, Bastion is an amazing game. From it's wonderfully crafted 2D world that springs to life around you, to the compelling narrative driven story, simple yet satisfying game-play and a sound track that just feels so right, Bastion is guaranteed to provide an entertaining experience to any action RPG fan. While the game's story consists of linear missions, there's plenty of customisation with the game's weapon and skill system, along with optional distractions such as weapons training courses and a flash-back mode to get extra bits and pieces of the story. With it's modest $15 price tag, Bastion is difficult not to recommend, and with a demo available there's little reason not to try it! Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    83
    It's a highly polished, bug-free bundle of fun and at $15, it's a steal. Kudos to Supergiant Games.
  2. 70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    75
    Bastion hides a fun traditional gameplay under gorgeous and innovative visuals, that on the long run could come short in variety.