User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1423 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    This game started out excellently with a great aesthetic, music, narrator and a certain depth to the combat. All the pieces came together for an amazing experience. This goes on for around ten or more levels then the gameplay peaks and becomes tedious. You fight wave after wave of enemies that you block or dodge or die. This would be fine except that it goes on for ten or more wavesThis game started out excellently with a great aesthetic, music, narrator and a certain depth to the combat. All the pieces came together for an amazing experience. This goes on for around ten or more levels then the gameplay peaks and becomes tedious. You fight wave after wave of enemies that you block or dodge or die. This would be fine except that it goes on for ten or more waves without respite. You fight the same enemies over and over again. The exact same fight, over and over. This highlighted the lack of depth in the combat system which killed the game for me, I didn’t want to play it again and I don’t care what happens to characters or the world the developers created. The whole experience came apart. Bastion was so well polished, right up until it wasn’t, at all. The keyboard/mouse combo was broken, so I played with a controller. 6/10 for half a good game. Expand
  2. AWG
    Jul 27, 2013
    5
    Bastion looks and sounds like a good product but games with "magic" elements and dull combat systems are really not my piece of cake. I found it quite boring.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    6
    Not a bad game, but its never really sucked me in. There is just....something missing. For me part if it is it's not really fast paced enough. Also it never really quite feels like your in danger. The sense of urgency is just missing. I can see how others would really like it.
  4. Jun 26, 2015
    6
    - Good: Music, Art Direction

    - Mixed: Story, Writing, Gameplay, Setting, Atmosphere/Mood

    - Bad: Repetitive, Boring

    I barely finished it, i don't feel this game, for me its boring.
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    7
    some hate the narrator and some love it. it is a matter of taste. i myself enjoyed it. made the whole world a lot less empty. i sometimes even forgot that the world was supposedly shattered and that most people are dead. however i did find some lesser points tough. for starters there are to many skills and weapons for a small game like this. i get weapon after weapon thrown at me causingsome hate the narrator and some love it. it is a matter of taste. i myself enjoyed it. made the whole world a lot less empty. i sometimes even forgot that the world was supposedly shattered and that most people are dead. however i did find some lesser points tough. for starters there are to many skills and weapons for a small game like this. i get weapon after weapon thrown at me causing me to not even bother to upgrade most of the weapons i get till i reached the endgame at which you have 2 weapons that are already the best. the same goes for the skills: you get one useful skill and you stick to it till the end. id still recommend it tough as its rare to find a game of this quality in its genre during the past few years. just don't expect an amazing game. its just very good Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    This game left me confused. It has nice, lush graphics, some fun enemies and a beautiful world to roam through. The story is somewhat convoluted but very well conveied (although I personally feel the narrative style does get old after a while). The weapon system is an interesting one and has got lots of upgrades. But just when you're fully upgraded, levelled up etc. the game ends. Why? WhyThis game left me confused. It has nice, lush graphics, some fun enemies and a beautiful world to roam through. The story is somewhat convoluted but very well conveied (although I personally feel the narrative style does get old after a while). The weapon system is an interesting one and has got lots of upgrades. But just when you're fully upgraded, levelled up etc. the game ends. Why? Why only 20 small scaled levels, not including the weapon upgrade levels? Sure, you can start all over again and you can keep your stuff and level up even further, but there's no real point to me if it doesn't bring me any new surroundings or storyline as a reward. It's no fun repeating the levels AND hearing the same old story over and over again just with higher difficulty (so I probably should have made thing more challenging to myself BEFORE I knew how short this game was? The map looked big enough for more challenges). This game could have been awesome if it would at least include some sort of level editor so that the users can provide each other with more, different levels. Now it's just a bit unsatisfying to me. I enjoyed my 6 hours of gameplay very much, but it's not enough. Needs more levels. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    6
    Bastion is close to perfection in some aspects, like the world that is created during the progress and in others, such combats, where more work was needed; in fact for almost all fighting you are spamming the same button. The deep voice, that tell you the story all along,it becomes annoying in the middle of the journey and I think it's for this reason that I never finished this game.
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Amazing graphics, presentation and overall style. It's just that the game is too arcade and primitive. Also, the idea of the path appearing under your feet may seem cool at first but is actually quite annoying: you don't see where you can go and where not.
  9. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game, I really did. Sadly, my favorite things out of the demo are the narrative voice (great!) and music (great!). Actually, the deal-breaker for me was the movement controls. I found them very un-intuitive for a PC player. Since the map is at an angle, the WASD controls were just not clicking for me, and I kept falling off.
    The artwork is wonderful, and I have
    I really wanted to like this game, I really did. Sadly, my favorite things out of the demo are the narrative voice (great!) and music (great!). Actually, the deal-breaker for me was the movement controls. I found them very un-intuitive for a PC player. Since the map is at an angle, the WASD controls were just not clicking for me, and I kept falling off.
    The artwork is wonderful, and I have mentioned - the music is superb. But the frustration with the controls made me not want to buy the full game. I do hope its funner on a console.
    Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    I can see why people like this game, but I just couldn't enjoy it. The biggest problem for me was the disparity between the solemn and gritty narrator and the joyful and colorful visuals. The narrator is very similar to the one in Fallout and supposedly in Bastion's world some sort of apocalypse has happened too, though you couldn't tell that from the way it looks. Another big problem isI can see why people like this game, but I just couldn't enjoy it. The biggest problem for me was the disparity between the solemn and gritty narrator and the joyful and colorful visuals. The narrator is very similar to the one in Fallout and supposedly in Bastion's world some sort of apocalypse has happened too, though you couldn't tell that from the way it looks. Another big problem is that the game is way too easy. Fall off the platform? - no problem you can go on from the same point. Die? - you can continue one or more times. Removing any challenge makes winning the game an inevitability and consequently any feeling of achievement and satisfaction is gone. On the positive side - everything in the game is polished, the game mechanics are sound and combat is fast and responsive. If you like the art style and the cryptic narrative going in the background, you'll probably enjoy this game. Expand
  11. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    I seem to be in the minority on this one and am still trying to figure out why I didn't enjoy Bastion more. The art style and story line were both intriguing and original. I enjoyed the narrator gimmick. The music was superb. The gameplay was varied and had a reasonable amount of RPG elements.

    It just didn
  12. Jan 10, 2012
    5
    Looks very pretty graphically but the gameplay is very boring & repetitive. Music is absolutely horrible & the narrator voiceover is very annoying, dull & uninteresting. Its a very overated game & is average at best due to poor gameplay but the annoying music & voiceover make it one to demo before buying. After 5 hours you will have completed it & need a lot of stamina to return for more.Looks very pretty graphically but the gameplay is very boring & repetitive. Music is absolutely horrible & the narrator voiceover is very annoying, dull & uninteresting. Its a very overated game & is average at best due to poor gameplay but the annoying music & voiceover make it one to demo before buying. After 5 hours you will have completed it & need a lot of stamina to return for more.

    Shame as the graphics are cute & well drawn it reminds me a lot of Wonder Boy In Monsterland games from the 1980's.
    Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2012
    6
    I can understand the many positive reviews on this game, but i really can't enjoy it. The graphic style and the soundtracks are indeed amazing, but all the whole gameplay is too much linear for me. Killing monsters, smashing everything and experiment with different weapons can be funny at first, but after a few minutes it was too much repetitive and boring. It seems everyone like andI can understand the many positive reviews on this game, but i really can't enjoy it. The graphic style and the soundtracks are indeed amazing, but all the whole gameplay is too much linear for me. Killing monsters, smashing everything and experiment with different weapons can be funny at first, but after a few minutes it was too much repetitive and boring. It seems everyone like and dislike the game for different reasons, so my suggestion is to try the demo first and then decide whether take it or not. Expand
  14. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    It's a decent game, but it's criminally short. Do not buy this unless it's on sale for a couple of bucks on steam. I paid full price for it and felt ripped off because the game was so damn short. It's got a great visual style, great gameplay, great music, but the story feels a bit hollow and not very fleshed out, and as I mentioned before, the game's major flaw is that it's so damnedIt's a decent game, but it's criminally short. Do not buy this unless it's on sale for a couple of bucks on steam. I paid full price for it and felt ripped off because the game was so damn short. It's got a great visual style, great gameplay, great music, but the story feels a bit hollow and not very fleshed out, and as I mentioned before, the game's major flaw is that it's so damned short. If you get it for a couple of bucks you'll have an enjoyable (if short) experience. Do not pay full price for this. Expand
  15. Dec 9, 2011
    5
    An amazing, original presentation but completely hollow gameplay that feels like it only gets in the way of the storytelling. Very disappointed, the game certainly had potential but unfortunately to me a game, however beautiful it is, just cannot be lacking a solid core gameplay and still be enjoyable.
  16. Jan 28, 2012
    5
    I've noticed a lot of indie games getting overrated on metacritic. This is one of them. Music is pretty good the first time you hear it, but the sound of it doesn't vary much as you progress, and you end up getting annoyed by it. The narration was also annoying, I thought. It is an interesting fantasy world with decent art and ideas, but the gameplay is boring and repetetive. But if youI've noticed a lot of indie games getting overrated on metacritic. This is one of them. Music is pretty good the first time you hear it, but the sound of it doesn't vary much as you progress, and you end up getting annoyed by it. The narration was also annoying, I thought. It is an interesting fantasy world with decent art and ideas, but the gameplay is boring and repetetive. But if you enjoy an old guy talking all ghetto to a western tune, while an angry white haired kid shaped like an ape hits things one million times to kill them while they zip around, this game may suit you. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    Wow, this is so overrated. If I was just judging by the voice over and story it would be a 10. But unfortunately the combat falls way short. The fighting is ridiculously simple--like a game from the 80s, but not in a good, retro way. The enemies just fade out without death animations which is very unsatisfying. The game's laughably easy with the hardest thing being that the hit boxesWow, this is so overrated. If I was just judging by the voice over and story it would be a 10. But unfortunately the combat falls way short. The fighting is ridiculously simple--like a game from the 80s, but not in a good, retro way. The enemies just fade out without death animations which is very unsatisfying. The game's laughably easy with the hardest thing being that the hit boxes for the sprites seems off so you have to pass your projectiles beneath the enemies. Expand
  18. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    It's a great game. But it's a bit behind the times. The narration is the best aspect of the game as the weapons and dungeon crawling aspects are well worn and don't present much that we haven't seen before. Ultimately I put the game down after a few sit downs and never actually finished it, it just wasn't enough that it had an interesting story, the combat failed to keep me interested pastIt's a great game. But it's a bit behind the times. The narration is the best aspect of the game as the weapons and dungeon crawling aspects are well worn and don't present much that we haven't seen before. Ultimately I put the game down after a few sit downs and never actually finished it, it just wasn't enough that it had an interesting story, the combat failed to keep me interested past the first few hours. Basically it all boils down to, 'If I wanted to read a book...'. I'm sure you know the rest. Expand
  19. Aug 16, 2011
    7
    The game is ok, combat can be fun and not too simplified, tons of destructible environment is also a plus. What i didn't like was annoying "off-screen" voice and price. 14 bucks could be fair price if Bastion had multiplayer and/or was replay-able, but as soon as you complete the main story you will never play this game again.
  20. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    Bastion borders on self-parody. I have never come across a game that is so steeped in its own "meaningfulness" and style while having so little substance. The narrator spouts vague descriptions and prophecies in a faux-homey manner as the ground builds around you as you move through each level (oh how symbolic! Err...) It is gimmicky and short...but enjoyable. Overall, the game seemsBastion borders on self-parody. I have never come across a game that is so steeped in its own "meaningfulness" and style while having so little substance. The narrator spouts vague descriptions and prophecies in a faux-homey manner as the ground builds around you as you move through each level (oh how symbolic! Err...) It is gimmicky and short...but enjoyable. Overall, the game seems disingenuous and doesn't have enough content nor a satisfying ending. The whole time you're playing, you're waiting for the game to live up to the art direction, the narrator, the music, and the critics' ratings. But it never does. The game is over fast and easy (I died only once.) It's a precious little enjoyable game, but the overwrought style gets irritating and laughable at times. Expand
  21. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    I played the demo and had a bit of fun. It's a cute game, I'd say if you never played a top down action rpg before it would be a great place to start so i will give it a six for some creativity and fairly smooth gameplay.
  22. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Signed up just to make this comment: there is a lot of hype, and this is a neat game, but so obviously a console port. The controls are wonky and hard to use accurately with keyboard and mouse. The game features a lot of quick-reaction timed button mashing (e.g., shield) which works well with trigger-style gamepads, but not with keyboard. Likewise, the WASD navigation is much lessSigned up just to make this comment: there is a lot of hype, and this is a neat game, but so obviously a console port. The controls are wonky and hard to use accurately with keyboard and mouse. The game features a lot of quick-reaction timed button mashing (e.g., shield) which works well with trigger-style gamepads, but not with keyboard. Likewise, the WASD navigation is much less sensitive than joystick, so you constantly fall off paths and die. Undoubteldy a great game for the XBOX, not so great for PC. Be warned before you buy. Expand
  23. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    This game looks great, the idea of the narrator reacting to what is happening works really well and adds to the mood and the whole game has a distinct style despite being an indie game. However, on the PC anyway, the combat is dull with the mindless pressing of the mouse button and combat does get repititive really fast.. The RPG elements are a bit too simple and it is far too easy andThis game looks great, the idea of the narrator reacting to what is happening works really well and adds to the mood and the whole game has a distinct style despite being an indie game. However, on the PC anyway, the combat is dull with the mindless pressing of the mouse button and combat does get repititive really fast.. The RPG elements are a bit too simple and it is far too easy and forgiving. Still, I can't say I didn't enjoy playing in parts. Expand
  24. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    It looks gorgeous, but the game-play gets tiring after a few levels. For me it doesn't succeed as an RPG or a 3D platform-shooter. There are some downright frustrating moments, but ultimately it's the beautiful gameworld that becomes so boring. I have played some indie titles, so I know that I can't expect big-budget production values. However, I can't quite work out how this game has suchIt looks gorgeous, but the game-play gets tiring after a few levels. For me it doesn't succeed as an RPG or a 3D platform-shooter. There are some downright frustrating moments, but ultimately it's the beautiful gameworld that becomes so boring. I have played some indie titles, so I know that I can't expect big-budget production values. However, I can't quite work out how this game has such a good user score. It's not bad, it's just not that amazing, sorry. Expand
  25. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    While many aspects of Bastion are interesting and it certainly has a unique and charming air about it, I don't think it really deserves the hype it has. The graphics are cute and narration and plot are done particularly well. In terms of in-game dialogue it felt a bit basic and I didn't really feel compelled to talk to the companions you gain properly. Combat is made somewhat interestingWhile many aspects of Bastion are interesting and it certainly has a unique and charming air about it, I don't think it really deserves the hype it has. The graphics are cute and narration and plot are done particularly well. In terms of in-game dialogue it felt a bit basic and I didn't really feel compelled to talk to the companions you gain properly. Combat is made somewhat interesting by how you constantly pick up new weapons and upgrades for them allowing you to customise how you play, but overall you still pretty much end up button-bashing over and over and over at the large amount of generic mobs. Most mobs don't give you any scare or force you to use tactics until very late game. On the other hand there are several challenge areas which are quite fun and testing. I didn't hate the game, and played it through to the end, I just felt that graphics and story only get you so far and the general gameplay has to be engaging as well. The game is medium-lengthed considering it's price (not cheap in term of indie games) and a completely playthrough, with completed challenge areas, took around 10 hours. Expand
  26. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    I played this game for 3 hours. It's a beautiful game, with a great soundtrack and good voice-overs. But gameplay is shallow at best. Everything you do in the first 15 minutes is everything you'll for the rest of the time. And it ain't much. It's not an RPG at all. It's more like a top-down isometric shooter/hack and slash. There's no reason to get this game with so many more interestingI played this game for 3 hours. It's a beautiful game, with a great soundtrack and good voice-overs. But gameplay is shallow at best. Everything you do in the first 15 minutes is everything you'll for the rest of the time. And it ain't much. It's not an RPG at all. It's more like a top-down isometric shooter/hack and slash. There's no reason to get this game with so many more interesting games out there. Expand
  27. Jan 22, 2016
    6
    Bastion is not a bad game, but it is another one of those Indie's where many people seem to be reviewing its "uniqueness" based on its single gimmick (constant semi-adaptive narration whose likeness and style of delivery is entirely relative). Problem is, once you get past the novelty, and when every trivial minor event gets "narrated" in detail, it starts to lose impact. Then all you'reBastion is not a bad game, but it is another one of those Indie's where many people seem to be reviewing its "uniqueness" based on its single gimmick (constant semi-adaptive narration whose likeness and style of delivery is entirely relative). Problem is, once you get past the novelty, and when every trivial minor event gets "narrated" in detail, it starts to lose impact. Then all you're left with IS the gameplay which for all the talk of being "story driven" is basically a button-mashing hack & slash but far more bland, generic and boring compared to other isometric ARPG's like Diablo 2 or Torchlight. Every level looks and plays the same with the same overall "formula". You fight the same waves of enemies over & over. Likewise, I don't see how a "your world broke apart and you set out to restore it" plot is "ground-breakingly original" unless you're completely new to computer games?... Expand
  28. May 20, 2014
    6
    A good game, with a great story and art style, the only thing is that the gameplay is lacking a bit, although i also have a dislike to the hack n slash type of games
  29. Sep 4, 2016
    6
    Bastion is a nice little game, but not as good as many of the other reviews mention.

    The gameplay is pretty bland, story is ok, never really inspired me.
    Graphics are bad in my opinion. It can be fun, but I played lots of games much better than this one.
    Not sure if playing this game in 2016 is making me biased, but I can't see anything special in it.
  30. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Bastion is definitely a good game. No question about it but it isn't really a GREAT game. When it was released it was descended into the gaming world amid of ticker tape parade of hype. It did not live up to that hype at least not across the board. The gameplay, character development and plot are all good but like I said before none of them are great. The game is not without monotony,Bastion is definitely a good game. No question about it but it isn't really a GREAT game. When it was released it was descended into the gaming world amid of ticker tape parade of hype. It did not live up to that hype at least not across the board. The gameplay, character development and plot are all good but like I said before none of them are great. The game is not without monotony, the enemies aren't (by and large) particularly distinct, the multitude of weapons and attacks add something but that something isn't really that much fun, the plot is sort of vague and unnecessarily dark. The bosses, level designs and 'quests' feel pretty repetitive.

    All that said what Bastion does do is bring a really novel and humanizing use of game narration and actual voice to transform its gameplay. The effect wears off after a few hours but having the narrator (who's voice I love) responding to the nuanced gameplay choices you make is truly fun. He will mock you if you are playing poorly or dawdling he will comment on your ingame successes and tell the elements of the story as they unfold around you. The other element of the game that really grabbed me and deserves mention is the manner in which the game world is 'constructed' around you. The levels assemble and disassemble themselves as you play in a way that is interesting and beautiful.

    In closing Bastion is an interesting product and definitely worth a play through. It has incredibly innovative elements unfortunately none of those elements are truly central to the gameplay.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    83
    It's a highly polished, bug-free bundle of fun and at $15, it's a steal. Kudos to Supergiant Games.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    75
    Bastion hides a fun traditional gameplay under gorgeous and innovative visuals, that on the long run could come short in variety.