Bastion Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action rpg form Supergiant Games.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  5. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 351
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game!
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Brought me that same awesome feeling Kingdom Hearts did back when it came to PlayStation 2. The atmosphere in Bastion is just wonderful. IBrought me that same awesome feeling Kingdom Hearts did back when it came to PlayStation 2. The atmosphere in Bastion is just wonderful. I really liked the colorful graphic design and responsive combat along with the storyline. I've always enjoyed hack and slash games and Bastion truly delivers. Only rant I have about it is the length. You don't often see games like this and I just didn't want it to end so soon! I'm currently on my 4th playthrough on new game plus but it doesn't really bring anything to the table. Nevertheless it has become one of those games I play through at least once a year. Couldn't recommend more! Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Out of all the games that I have ever played, for any platform, Bastion is possibly the best. The game makes wonderful use of the narratorOut of all the games that I have ever played, for any platform, Bastion is possibly the best. The game makes wonderful use of the narrator mechanic and tells a wonderful, compelling story. the game is also gorgeous. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    This game is a perfect example of an abstract concept well-executed. The little details sprinkled throughout the game such as artifacts, andThis game is a perfect example of an abstract concept well-executed. The little details sprinkled throughout the game such as artifacts, and the "Who Knows Where" reflections give so much life to the story that I was immersed. There's nothing complicated about Bastion and that's what makes it elegant. The story is, for the most part, simple and easy to follow, and focuses more on the emotional aspect. The art and soundtrack work to the games advantage here, and create a wonderful and immersive experience. The best part of Bastion is that everybody will take something different out of it. Some people will revel in the well-tuned hack and smash gameplay (side note: the game does a good job mixing up the combat system throughout the game and making the player feel powerful), some people will feel enchanted by the music and art, and others will be taken aback by the sheer emotional depth to the plot. There are just enough decisions throughout the game to make it interesting, and the quality of the ending is something all game developers should strive to emulate. I had goosebumps, if that's any indicator. Overall a spectacular game that deserves every bit of praise it gets. The primary downsides of it are that it can get a tad repetitive, depending on how often you switch up your weapons, and some players might be annoyed with one of the turns in the plot (I won't spoil anything). These faults are fairly minor though, and I had no problem cruising through this game in a state of total bliss. Very solid 9/10, Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I bought the game on sale after playing through the demo and loving it, and three days later I've completed it... for the first time. Now, I'mI bought the game on sale after playing through the demo and loving it, and three days later I've completed it... for the first time. Now, I'm not a fan of hack-n-slash gaming nor of RPGs; but Bastion got through my initial prejudice. It manages to strike just the right balance between action that's never repetitive, almost always challenging without demotivating, and just plain fun; character development and upgrades that keep you engaged and looking to experiment without overwhelming you with options; and above all, a compelling and immersing story that keeps you wanting to find out what happens next. The graphics are beautiful even if not state-of-the-art. The game is displayed in an animated pseudo-3D isometric view, with some cut scenes hand-drawn. This isn't your latest realistic FPS with the latest GFX, but it suits the game just fine. My only issue here is that the character's movement sometimes seems robotic and reminiscent of 90's-style frame-animated isometric shooters.


    The soundtrack -- a pretty important element for me in games -- passes my "Will I listen to this later?" test with flying colors. In fact I'm going to buy it despite the relatively steep price compared to the game itself ($10 for the OST, $15 for the game, and no actual discount when buying the two together). The story, as mentioned, is the heart of the game. It unfolds slowly, bit by bit, in the narrator's old, raspy voice, mirroring and shedding light on your actions. This ambitious concept could've gone wrong in so many ways, and yet the folks at Supergiant Games got it pretty near perfect, to the point that it is an almost profound experience at times. The narration is a huge boost to the storytelling aspect of the game and makes it that much easier to immerse yourself in it, but that won't be worth anything without a good story, which Bastion luckily has. Like Braid before it, Bastion knows how to tell a good story, using your in-game actions to advance the plot -- but not always in the way you expected, making you wonder who's playing with whom. I think this element could've been used a little more heavily, but I'm still very happy with the result. The game play is intuitive and simple, yet complex enough to keep your interest. There are a variety of different mechanics all interacting with each other, so you never sink into a repetitive routine or "farming". Sometimes it feels a little too linear -- most maps basically have a single path you'll have to go through -- but then, when it matters, the game presents you with some tough choices and lets you choose without bias and with no obvious right or wrong answers. All in all, it's an very enjoyable game that doesn't require a huge commitment but certainly leaves its mark on you. I'm definitely going to play the last part again to explore some other choices, and then there's "New Game Plus" which promises a different experience altogether (haven't tried it yet). Supergiant definitely made an effort to provide replay value here and that's appreciated. Even without it, the primary story line is good enough that I'd be completely content to just wrap it up, 3 days after I started playing, with just the story and the soundtrack as memories of the experience. So, aside from some minor issues, I think this is a pretty amazing game, definitely worth its price. Try out the demo if you haven't yet, and then go play the real thing. You'll be richer for it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Bastion is an exceptionally fun and memorable Indy action adventure with some heart and soul. The game layout and pacing are good, alwaysBastion is an exceptionally fun and memorable Indy action adventure with some heart and soul. The game layout and pacing are good, always allowing players to get back into the action with little slowdown. The way the story unfolds with a commentator commentating on events and the players actions is original and provides some good context to the story. There even are some nice touching moments in the story and atmosphere which may start to pull the emotion strings a little. The graphics and music are very good featuring a nice art style with an original mix of western and anime. The weapons and game play are very fun and its great to have challenges that give the player the chance to get good at all weapons while being rewarded. The game makers of Bastion were really on to something but I cant help but feel that while the story is good, given its potential it could have done more and been truly great and awesome. I also feel that more could have been further done with the emotion felt by the events of the story but how much more can we expect from a small Indy developer? Recommend. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    1
    i don't know what i must to say. This game so boring. This looks like WB wind the rating. Good music,good art. But gamplay so stupid. Where isi don't know what i must to say. This game so boring. This looks like WB wind the rating. Good music,good art. But gamplay so stupid. Where is the story? This is so stupid game. Expand

See all 351 User Reviews