Bastion Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1370 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action rpg form Supergiant Games.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  5. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 354
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game!
    Expand
  2. May 7, 2014
    10
    Probably the best game i've ever played. The graphics are beautiful,the gameplay is smooth and filled with action. But the 3 things that madeProbably the best game i've ever played. The graphics are beautiful,the gameplay is smooth and filled with action. But the 3 things that made me a fonof the game,are the narration,the music,and the story. First,the narration is so AWESOME,you will hope that God has the same voice as Rucks. The music gives such a good atmosphere,it fits for every situation,and I couldn't find one not that sounded bad. And lastly,the story. The only word i could write to express it,is: gorgeous. I have shed a tear or two in the end,and from an indie game,its a big achivement to write a story like this. I can only recommend it for everyone. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Out of all the games that I have ever played, for any platform, Bastion is possibly the best. The game makes wonderful use of the narratorOut of all the games that I have ever played, for any platform, Bastion is possibly the best. The game makes wonderful use of the narrator mechanic and tells a wonderful, compelling story. the game is also gorgeous. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    good music, fun gameplay. my problem with the narrator is that my mother language is not english so if i want to follow everythink he says igood music, fun gameplay. my problem with the narrator is that my mother language is not english so if i want to follow everythink he says i have to focus on the narrator or subtitles, if it would be translated into other language i would enjoy it a lot more. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    The fantastic narration really brings this game to life. Although the gameplay is linear it manges to be enjoyable without being tooThe fantastic narration really brings this game to life. Although the gameplay is linear it manges to be enjoyable without being too challenging. Well worth a look. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Bastion is a fairly straight forward hack and slash game at it's core. The soundtrack, story, and narration are all fantastic. The gameplayBastion is a fairly straight forward hack and slash game at it's core. The soundtrack, story, and narration are all fantastic. The gameplay and graphics are serviceable. You have the option of ratcheting up the difficultly if things seem to easy. Bastion has lots of sizzle, and enough steak to keep you interested. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    1
    i don't know what i must to say. This game so boring. This looks like WB wind the rating. Good music,good art. But gamplay so stupid. Where isi don't know what i must to say. This game so boring. This looks like WB wind the rating. Good music,good art. But gamplay so stupid. Where is the story? This is so stupid game. Expand

See all 354 User Reviews