Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action rpg form Supergiant Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  5. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  7. 70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 331
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game!
    Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    There is no other option than to give this game a perfect 10.
    It's mix of combat and story is perfect topped off with a fantastic soundtrack
    There is no other option than to give this game a perfect 10.
    It's mix of combat and story is perfect topped off with a fantastic soundtrack that you will want to listen to over and over.
    The graphics are perfect for this isometric game, mixing old school isometric graphics with a bright colorful style makes any screenshot from this game into a work of art.

    The games story and narration are fantastic. I highly recommend this game if you enjoy semi-retro or indie platformers.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Coming from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've neverComing from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've never wanted to find out more, or what happens next in a video game. The combat is intriguing and makes you think on your feet on a regular basis, Mix that with the variety of weapons all fit different combat styles makes you play like you want to rather then the best way. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    good music, fun gameplay. my problem with the narrator is that my mother language is not english so if i want to follow everythink he says igood music, fun gameplay. my problem with the narrator is that my mother language is not english so if i want to follow everythink he says i have to focus on the narrator or subtitles, if it would be translated into other language i would enjoy it a lot more. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    With beautiful and eye popping visuals and with a cool narration to go with it, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game. Unlocking someWith beautiful and eye popping visuals and with a cool narration to go with it, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game. Unlocking some really cool weapons as you go along the levels, being able to hold two at a time and also being able to unleash a special ability. What really made me indulge into the game was it's sheer simplicity, the more you play the more you want to go on. It is not a very long game but the experience is worth it. Yes, yes, you could say the game is easy, I've heard that numerous times before. But that is only a small problem as you could add shrines to increase the games difficulty.
    All in all, A really great indie game, a must have.
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Bastion is an exceptionally fun and memorable Indy action adventure with some heart and soul. The game layout and pacing are good, alwaysBastion is an exceptionally fun and memorable Indy action adventure with some heart and soul. The game layout and pacing are good, always allowing players to get back into the action with little slowdown. The way the story unfolds with a commentator commentating on events and the players actions is original and provides some good context to the story. There even are some nice touching moments in the story and atmosphere which may start to pull the emotion strings a little. The graphics and music are very good featuring a nice art style with an original mix of western and anime. The weapons and game play are very fun and its great to have challenges that give the player the chance to get good at all weapons while being rewarded. The game makers of Bastion were really on to something but I cant help but feel that while the story is good, given its potential it could have done more and been truly great and awesome. I also feel that more could have been further done with the emotion felt by the events of the story but how much more can we expect from a small Indy developer? Recommend. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    0
    This game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. The viewpoint of the game was not to my liking and made the game near unplayable.This game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. The viewpoint of the game was not to my liking and made the game near unplayable. The controls were ghastly and even with the use of an xbox controller were not great. The ending was disappointing and the story in general was dull and unoriginal. The use of a narrator was obviously an attempt to cover the terrible flaws of the game by the company. Overall I would not play this game again if someone paid me. Expand

See all 331 User Reviews