Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action rpg form Supergiant Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  5. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  7. 70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 332
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game!
    Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    There is no other option than to give this game a perfect 10.
    It's mix of combat and story is perfect topped off with a fantastic soundtrack
    There is no other option than to give this game a perfect 10.
    It's mix of combat and story is perfect topped off with a fantastic soundtrack that you will want to listen to over and over.
    The graphics are perfect for this isometric game, mixing old school isometric graphics with a bright colorful style makes any screenshot from this game into a work of art.

    The games story and narration are fantastic. I highly recommend this game if you enjoy semi-retro or indie platformers.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Coming from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've neverComing from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've never wanted to find out more, or what happens next in a video game. The combat is intriguing and makes you think on your feet on a regular basis, Mix that with the variety of weapons all fit different combat styles makes you play like you want to rather then the best way. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Bastion is one of those few games that really tries to be different. You are the Kid, one of the few survivors of a disaster called "TheBastion is one of those few games that really tries to be different. You are the Kid, one of the few survivors of a disaster called "The Calamity". The Calamity shattered the land of Caelondia to pieces, and you must find other survivors, rebuild the Bastion, and try to find out what caused the Calamity to happen.

    + Good combat system: The fights and moves feel smooth and right
    + Great weapon system: You start out with a hammer, and as you advance through the game you'll find more and more weapons, all with their own abilities, pros, and cons.
    + Upgrades/Buffs/Achievements: Bastion comes with the ability to completely modify the difficulty you are playing. There are several buffs called "Spirits", which you can collect and aquire throughout the game. Also, you can invoke the spirits of the gods to create environmental effects, increasing an monster's lifebar for example.
    + Innovative Narrating: Bastion is all about the story. As you travel through the game, the narrator travels with you, monitoring your every move and decision. He tells you about monsters, history, landmarks, etc. A very nice add
    + A very mature cartoony look: The graphics look great, and totally belong to this sort of game.
    + Soundtracks: Nice!

    - Replayability: You'll probably need 3 or 4 hours max to finish the story. Then you can start "New Game Plus Mode", restarting the campaign but with all your weapons, upgrades and buffs from your previous game, allready unlocked and at your disposal.
    - No feature DLC: The developers wanna focus on their next game and see Bastion as a 1 time thing, there won't be any future DLC available and thats, in my opinion, a missed chance.

    Concluding: This is the best Indie game i have ever played! The story, the gameplay, the narrator, it all fits together perfectly. 15,- is truly a steal, this game is worth more then that.
    Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    With beautiful and eye popping visuals and with a cool narration to go with it, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game. Unlocking someWith beautiful and eye popping visuals and with a cool narration to go with it, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this game. Unlocking some really cool weapons as you go along the levels, being able to hold two at a time and also being able to unleash a special ability. What really made me indulge into the game was it's sheer simplicity, the more you play the more you want to go on. It is not a very long game but the experience is worth it. Yes, yes, you could say the game is easy, I've heard that numerous times before. But that is only a small problem as you could add shrines to increase the games difficulty.
    All in all, A really great indie game, a must have.
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Bastion is a fantastic and colorful game that tells a heartwarming story. The game revolves around the narrator, a likable figure thatBastion is a fantastic and colorful game that tells a heartwarming story. The game revolves around the narrator, a likable figure that dictates your actions and voices the game's story. He is quite unique, and unlike other narrators in games like "Thomas Was Alone" or "The Stanley Parable". I honestly can't quite explain it, you would have to play the game for yourself to see it.

    The gameplay is fun and even though animation isn't top-notch, you barely notice it. You have the ability to level-up, gaining new weapons and powers there's also plenty of secrets about the world to discover. Bastion's combat is fairly enjoyable and although challenging, it was not frustrating.

    Bastion forms around the choices you make. This includes the narration. For instance, during the beginning of the game, (if you destroy enough items) you are told the classic line: "Kid just rages for a while." Some of the other choices are more influential, of course. I was proud and happy about some of my choices, but filled with dismay over others. (And such is life.)

    Overall, this is one of the best indie games of all time. It's worth all $15, but if you wait long enough you can pick it up on sale (or in an indie bundle).

    Bastion is great for everyone, no matter what you like in a game.
    Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    0
    This game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. The viewpoint of the game was not to my liking and made the game near unplayable.This game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. The viewpoint of the game was not to my liking and made the game near unplayable. The controls were ghastly and even with the use of an xbox controller were not great. The ending was disappointing and the story in general was dull and unoriginal. The use of a narrator was obviously an attempt to cover the terrible flaws of the game by the company. Overall I would not play this game again if someone paid me. Expand

See all 332 User Reviews