Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Batman's trip to the asylum has hardly any flaws. The controls fit perfectly and the missions will entertain you every second you play this game. Buy it, play it, love it.
  2. Batman: Arkham Asylum is the ultimate Batman experience, hands down.
  3. 100
    If you're a Batman fan, this is the best treatment the World's Greatest Detective has ever received in videogame form -- and if you're not a Batman fan, Arkham Asylum will change that. This is how to make a licensed game.
  4. For Batman fans, this game is a long time coming. Taking the Unreal engine, Rocksteady has gone and made a truly fun superhero game and it looks incredible on the PC.
  5. This is very nearly the perfect game. This game is as close to 100% as I've ever seen.
  6. A flawless PC conversion with PhysX visual extras over the console versions. In every way polished and fun, managing to at all times to capture the essence of Batman. Game of the Year material.
  7. 93
    Rocksteady nailed what Batman is supposed to feel like. Fans, rejoice.
  8. An amazingly polished, finely crafted piece of action gaming excellence that's worthy of the name Batman. [Dec 2009, p.70]
  9. This is the first game that truly grants players an opportunity to be Batman, whether he’s using his intellect or his fists. Anyone with even a modicum of interest in playing an awesome Batman game should pick up Arkham Asylum, without any hesitation.
  10. I can say with confidence and cannot stress enough, Batman: Arkham Asylum is, without a doubt, the best Batman game ever created. It does more than give you the Batman game you want, it gives you a video game that you could play repeatedly, even if it didn't have the caped and cowled Dark Knight in it.
  11. Long story short, if you're still not convinced that Batman: Arkham Asylum deserves your precious time, grab the demo, play it, then run to the store and buy it.
  12. A remarkable achievement. I need to stress just how thoughtful and smart its progression is. The way you make your way around Arkham is executed so well, and everything about the game is polished to an almost offensive sheen.
  13. The gameplay is diversified, the graphics are great and the combat-system is one of the best we have ever encountered. Batman: Arkham Asylum is a definite "Must-Have" on any platform and more then worthy to wear the famous name of The Dark Knight and Worlds greatest detective.
  14. Batman: Arkham Asylum is a massive triumph: Action, stealth and investigation as its best. The best videogame based on Bob Kane's composition, and the best superhero game this far too. A brilliant work that drives Rocksteady to the highest rank of developers.
  15. Buy this game. It's as simple as that. It's a masterpiece of design from concept to execution and is my game of the year so far.
  16. Whether you fancy skulking in the shadows, smashing slow motion fists in into a goon's skull, or simply using some cool gadgets, you can do no wrong with what is Eidos' best game in years.
  17. The result is so good that we're declaring it an easy 'Best of' contender for 2009.
  18. A new benchmark for superhero games, and a serious GOTY contender. [Dec 2009, p.56]
  19. Everything about this game--the impressive visuals, stirring soundtrack, superb voice acting, fiendish puzzles, hard-hitting combat--feels like it has been lovingly crafted by a development team that's both knowledgeable and passionate about the source material. Miss out on this one and the joke's on you.
  20. There isn’t a single element of Arkham Asylum that isn’t polished to the utmost degree.
  21. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.
  22. It's far from perfect, but still a damn good rollick through DC's well carved territory. [Nov 2009, p.88]
  23. The most satisfying brawler ever coupled with an uncommonly creative stealth game. Only the bosses drag it down. [Nov 2009, p.94]
  24. If the combat has been a bit more sophisticated in the latter stages of the game, it'd have been a nailed-on Classic. [Dec 2009, p.62]
  25. It's certainly the best Batman game by far, probably the best action/adventure game this year. Accordingly, I hope that Rocksteady has a sequel in the works.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 208
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    An excellent game in all aspects! I'm not a huge Batman fan, but this game was so polished that I could see myself getting into the Batman world. As the name suggests, your Batman at the Arkham Asylum, returning the Joker for the umpteenth time, when he breaks free and all hell breaks loose. The inmates are released and you need to work your way through several notable characters before facing the Joker and his intricate plot. Some of the popular characters like the Penguin, Catwoman, Twoface, and Mr. Freeze are not in the game at all, but this was a great decision as to separate the game from the not so great movies. The story flows and is interesting and I never felt like I was doing meaningless tasks just to advance the story. Everything was connected. The graphics look great and run smoothly, I never got any stuttering even when entering a new level. Audio was just what you would expect from a Batman game, everything sounded in place. From the whiz of the grapple gun to the swish of the cape. They even got some great voice actors for the cast. Batman is Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill as the Joker, and Arleen Sorkin as Harley Quinn. These actors were from the animated cartoon series I watched from the early to mid 90's and to recognize and hear their voices just as they sounded almost 20 years ago really took me back. Those are the ones that stand out, but all of the voice acting was done well. The gameplay focuses on mostly taking down inmates but there is also a search and explore aspect. When attacking you chain together combo hits as well as countering incoming attacks. You also have several scenarios where you will have to use stealth to incapacitate thugs with guns. You can sneak up from behind and do a silent takedown as well as hang from a statue and do an inverted takedown. The combo system works well and as you gain experience you gain the abilities of an instant takedown or picking up a prisoner and using him as a projectile after connecting 5 combo hits. The controls are a bit of an issue here. When throwing a enemy you have to use the wasd controls to direct him instead of the mouse. So even if you have a shot lined up you have to direct it and it just gets confusing when your in the heat of battle. I wound up not using the throw for most of the game because of this. For the takedown you press shift and right click but you have a pretty short window of opportunity to do so and the right click is also bound as an aiming mechanism for your gadgets. So I when trying to do a takedown or contering a punch, sometimes I would be aiming my batarang for a second and then getting hit messing up my combos. These problems might be solved by using a controller but I don't have the Xbox360 controller listed in the control config and I didn't want to go through the hassle of setting up one with a PS2 controller with an adapter. The explore and collect part of the game is initiated by The Riddler who has hidden question mark trophies and puzzles across the island. The puzzles come in the form of riddles that you take "pictures" of using the detective mode to have a high tech look at your surroundings Collecting these will unlock character bios and detailed character trophies that you can look at from the main menu. There are also Arkham plaques that tell more of the history of the island and how it came to be an institution. All in all, this was a fantastic game and I highly recommend it. Even at full price you get your monies worth which is not something I felt like I have gotten in a long time. Full Review »
  2. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    I like this game... i do. But when you can't save without windows live, and the patch system i so broken, that the word broken can't be used, i can only give it zero! basically its unplayable without windows live, therefor its completely broken, and can only be given a zero.

    Windows live is a bad attempt from microsoft to be a part of the gaming industry, and forcing PC players to become part of their **** broken, buggy, utterly completely pointless gaming gimmick!
    from now on, i might never buy another game with "windows live" on the cover.
    I really do, day for day, get a better understanding for pirates, less problems then actually buying a game!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    I was wary in the buying of this game. Checked some youtube clips... looked interesting... One word, wow!

    I stuck this one out to the end,
    well, the end of the story that is- and, what a ride! You ARE Batman!

    The one think that grabbed me, was the actual atmosphere. It brought the feeling of the newer Batman movies closer and sucked me RIGHT in! Punch, combo, boom, get the baddies from above, glide down THWACK!
    Upgrades are available for better armor, etc.. They didn't really feel like they had much of an effect, but some the weapons that are weened into your inventory as the game progresses kick ass ;>

    Graphic-wise, this game really shines. I'm not too sure how it looks on a non-nvidia card (the game uses the .. uhm Nvidia graphics ... physics thing to enhance smoke and adds tile effects), but even without the extra physics- it plays VERY well.

    As BenW mentioned in his review, "Definitely the best Batman game out there". The others that Ive played outside this one are pretty cack. (not tried the Sun Tzu one tho!)

    + Graphics
    + Plays very well
    + Batman

    - Fights get a little repetitive as the story draws to an end
    Full Review »