Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Batman: Arkham Asylum, the player assumes the role of Batman as he delivers The Joker to Arkham Asylum. There, the imprisoned super-villains have set a trap and an immersive combat gaming experience unfolds. With an original script penned by Emmy Award-winning Batman writer Paul Dini, the game brings the universe of DC Comics' detective to life with stunning graphics. Batman: Arkham Asylum offers players the chance to battle Gotham's worst villains with Batman's physical and psychological strength in a graphically distinct and story-driven game. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Batman's trip to the asylum has hardly any flaws. The controls fit perfectly and the missions will entertain you every second you play this game. Buy it, play it, love it.
  2. For Batman fans, this game is a long time coming. Taking the Unreal engine, Rocksteady has gone and made a truly fun superhero game and it looks incredible on the PC.
  3. Batman: Arkham Asylum is a massive triumph: Action, stealth and investigation as its best. The best videogame based on Bob Kane's composition, and the best superhero game this far too. A brilliant work that drives Rocksteady to the highest rank of developers.
  4. The result is so good that we're declaring it an easy 'Best of' contender for 2009.
  5. There isn’t a single element of Arkham Asylum that isn’t polished to the utmost degree.
  6. New Batman game deserves the title for being the most adult Batman game ever. Great design, rough melee fights and a perfect cast of all the protagonists makes it the best choice among other comic rivals. [Oct 2009]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 210
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    An excellent game in all aspects! I'm not a huge Batman fan, but this game was so polished that I could see myself getting into the Batman world. As the name suggests, your Batman at the Arkham Asylum, returning the Joker for the umpteenth time, when he breaks free and all hell breaks loose. The inmates are released and you need to work your way through several notable characters before facing the Joker and his intricate plot. Some of the popular characters like the Penguin, Catwoman, Twoface, and Mr. Freeze are not in the game at all, but this was a great decision as to separate the game from the not so great movies. The story flows and is interesting and I never felt like I was doing meaningless tasks just to advance the story. Everything was connected. The graphics look great and run smoothly, I never got any stuttering even when entering a new level. Audio was just what you would expect from a Batman game, everything sounded in place. From the whiz of the grapple gun to the swish of the cape. They even got some great voice actors for the cast. Batman is Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill as the Joker, and Arleen Sorkin as Harley Quinn. These actors were from the animated cartoon series I watched from the early to mid 90's and to recognize and hear their voices just as they sounded almost 20 years ago really took me back. Those are the ones that stand out, but all of the voice acting was done well. The gameplay focuses on mostly taking down inmates but there is also a search and explore aspect. When attacking you chain together combo hits as well as countering incoming attacks. You also have several scenarios where you will have to use stealth to incapacitate thugs with guns. You can sneak up from behind and do a silent takedown as well as hang from a statue and do an inverted takedown. The combo system works well and as you gain experience you gain the abilities of an instant takedown or picking up a prisoner and using him as a projectile after connecting 5 combo hits. The controls are a bit of an issue here. When throwing a enemy you have to use the wasd controls to direct him instead of the mouse. So even if you have a shot lined up you have to direct it and it just gets confusing when your in the heat of battle. I wound up not using the throw for most of the game because of this. For the takedown you press shift and right click but you have a pretty short window of opportunity to do so and the right click is also bound as an aiming mechanism for your gadgets. So I when trying to do a takedown or contering a punch, sometimes I would be aiming my batarang for a second and then getting hit messing up my combos. These problems might be solved by using a controller but I don't have the Xbox360 controller listed in the control config and I didn't want to go through the hassle of setting up one with a PS2 controller with an adapter. The explore and collect part of the game is initiated by The Riddler who has hidden question mark trophies and puzzles across the island. The puzzles come in the form of riddles that you take "pictures" of using the detective mode to have a high tech look at your surroundings Collecting these will unlock character bios and detailed character trophies that you can look at from the main menu. There are also Arkham plaques that tell more of the history of the island and how it came to be an institution. All in all, this was a fantastic game and I highly recommend it. Even at full price you get your monies worth which is not something I felt like I have gotten in a long time. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    He is strong without super powers.That's why we all love him.Top 10 of all times for me is here.Great story,great gameplay,great joker too,what do you want more?PLAY IT!!!! Expand
  3. pipelinecache
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    I've never given a 10 rating for a game, but Batman: Arkham Asylum really deserves it. Of all the games I've played in 2009 this one stands above them all, especially on the PC with all the disappointing console ports that has been manufactured lately. The whole game is a piece of art and is very fun to play. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Great controls, great graphics. The story is a little too linear, but the universe is so immersive and the characters so polished (hello, Joker!), I found it very engaging overall. Fights are very dynamic and controls are so responsive you want to engage everyone.
    Detective mode underdelivers - why bother when you can play the entire game with detective mode ON and detect all hot spots? Give it a time limit, or limited use.
    One of the best action/adventure games I've ever played.
    Expand
  5. Vix
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    Simply the most fun I've had in a long time. Played it through three times now (well first time I didn't finish but that's thanks to the silly games for windows live losing my profile). My only gripe - would have been nice to grapple while in mid-air for a more fluid Batman experience! Still - worth every cent! Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    i really recommend this game it is really great this is the best superhero game you'll play although am not a big fan of batman but this is a great game with great characters and great voice acting Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    Batman AA is like every other button smasher I've ever played since the original NES. Kick, punch, roundhouse kick from one badguy to the next. Boring and cookie cutter. What happened to creativity? Expand

See all 210 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.