Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    The diehard fans of Bruce Wayne can set up a good PC and prepare themselves for the coming of one of the best action games ever conceived.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    100
    Batman: Arkham City isn't just one of the best games of the year; it's one of the best action games I've played this entire generation of consoles. Rocksteady nailed the combat, exploration, structure, atmosphere, and story in this game and it pulls everything off almost flawlessly.
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    96
    Rocksteady already proved that they're an amazing studio with Arkham Asylum, but with Arkham City they now belong to the Olympus of the Action/Adventure genre. This game is the ultimate superhero experience.
  6. Dec 24, 2011
    95
    Rocksteady Studios made a masterpiece, a perfect Batman game and one of the best games of the year. [January 2012, p.53]
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    94
    It's a masterpiece. This PC version makes it even better, despite some DX 11 issues, that will be hopefully patched very soon, and do not spoil the incredible depth and value of the game itself.
  9. Nov 28, 2011
    93
    Batman: Arkham City saves the DC and Marvel universes from a dire gaming year 2011. I can only utter my fulsome praise to Bruce Wayne, Warner Brothers and Rocksteady for a furious game. Chapeau!
  10. 92
    Though the ending is surprising, in a way, the story isn't the main focus of Batman: Arkham City. Exploring and adventuring come first, you have so much to do that you that the hours just slip by you. Yes, the boss fights are probably too easy, the narrative too short, the framerate goes down on occasion and not all the players will appreciate searching through every nook and cranny to find trophies. But it's all up to you and Arkham City offers a variety that not a lot of new games have nowadays.
  11. 92
    The developers should be proud for Arkham City and its precise portrayal of Gotham's mood- at least accordingly to recent films and comic books. A gothic atmosphere is undoubtedly dominant, as the majestic architecture of neoclassical buildings shadows the industrialization and the bright lights of a contemporary metropolis.
  12. Dec 9, 2011
    92
    Rocksteady applies what they learned with Arkham Asylum to an semi-open world setting and the end result is something amazing. At first it seems there's too much things happening and too many bad guys in the story, but they are all brought together beutifully. Catwoman episodes, albeit short, pace the overall story well. As expected, the PC version looks amazing. [Dec 2011]
  13. Nov 25, 2011
    92
    A huge accomplishment that surpasses its predecessor in almost every way, with polished gameplay, great storytelling, fantastic atmosphere and outstanding voice acting. It's a deeply satisfying Batman experience and one of this year's finest video games.
  14. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  15. Nov 24, 2011
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. 90
    It's hard to create an extraordinary game but to recognize it is quite simple. Arkham City with its cinematic appearance towers high above the rest with its production values. [Dec 2011]
  17. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  18. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    This game is not unlike Arkham City – easy to get in, almost impossible to get out.
  19. Dec 7, 2011
    90
    Arkham City, despite its squalor, is fantastic to look at.
  20. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  21. Nov 30, 2011
    90
    Batman: Arkham City's irresistible world, joyous movement, rewarding combat, and varied side quests make it an exceptional adventure game.
  22. Nov 28, 2011
    90
    Arkham City is still a superb game in PC and it benefits from some extra features with the right PC, but the delay compared to console versions, the weird mix of Steamwork, GFWL and SecuROM, and some initial perfomance settings with DirectX 11, makes this version a missed opportunity to make something truly great for compatible users.
  23. Dec 15, 2011
    86
    Batman: Arkham City suffers from a botched port job; it's unstable and the DRM offers an even greater incentive to pirate nowadays. The patch fixed most of my problems, but I cannot overlook the two weeks it took to get to that point so I could finally get around to this review. Once you get past these technical issues (or if you're lucky enough not to experience them), however, it really is an amazing action game that outdoes its predecessor in every way.
  24. Dec 2, 2011
    85
    A brave game, trying new ideas while also staying fundamentally similar. There are weaknesses in the recipes that Rocksteady has created - we can't say we're personally won over by the open world approach - but a weakness isn't a failure and it can't be overlooked that Arkham City is still a very strong game.
  25. Nov 24, 2011
    80
    Now that we've finally played the PC version, I'm happy to report that it will be the definitive version of Arkham City... eventually.
  26. Jan 10, 2012
    79
    Bat-brawling shows wear, and Batman's a charisma void, but the freedom and depth of the open world are mesmerising. [Feb 2012, p.62]
  27. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1446 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 278
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slowI can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    This release was rushed, and DX11 Support and tesselation options are horrible. I am an avid, and dedicated PC gamer, and this release is whyThis release was rushed, and DX11 Support and tesselation options are horrible. I am an avid, and dedicated PC gamer, and this release is why PC gaming is on the decline in popularity and quality. I truly cant wait for the day to pay 49.99USS for a game and it actualy works, and is fully optimized from launch. Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    They delayed the pc version for 5 weeks claiming to be making it better. That was 100% a direct lie. The game was compiled in September andThey delayed the pc version for 5 weeks claiming to be making it better. That was 100% a direct lie. The game was compiled in September and not a single file was updated or ever changed. It was completed at the same time as the console version but they wanted to milk that first. They knew many people would be impatient and get for the console and then buy the pc version later. They also knew many people got the game for free with Nvidia cards and would buy it for their console with the pc version being delayed. Not only was the game never worked on in those 5 weeks, its clear not one single person at Rocksteady even play tested the game in DX11. All it takes is ONE minute of gameplay to know that DX11 has major issues. Gpu usage just plummets in areas where it should go up so that results in huge framerate drops and hitching. It is not playable in DX11 or at least not in an enjoyable way. DX9 seems okay for the most part but physx does not seem to be running as well as it should be. The cut scenes are pretty stuttery looking with audio a bit out of sync in them too even though indicated framerate is at 60 fps. And many people, including myself, have had a few crashes too even in DX9. Other than all that the gameplay is pretty good. Still its hard to give the game a good score based on the overall situation that Rocksteady has placed the pc gamers in. Full Review »