Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1599 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 285
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slowI can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Batman Arkham City is a must play game for not just batman fans, but superhero fans in general. The PC version of the game is also prettyBatman Arkham City is a must play game for not just batman fans, but superhero fans in general. The PC version of the game is also pretty excellent after all the patches. My favourite action game..... Expand
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    One of my favorites; the best ive played in years. Full of rich storylines and areas to explore. Level up
    system enables new weapons and
    One of my favorites; the best ive played in years. Full of rich storylines and areas to explore. Level up
    system enables new weapons and abilities to keep the fun alive even when into the game for 30
    hours. Plus you get to layout the keyboard the way you want it. A feature I dont want to do without.
    Try it; you will love it!
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2015
    9
    I found Arkham City to be a strict improvement on the first game and blends straight forward story telling with a unique open worldI found Arkham City to be a strict improvement on the first game and blends straight forward story telling with a unique open world experience. City is one of those games where you can finish the story in ~10 hours or take many many hours to find out all of the Easter eggs and intricacies in the game. The combat is fluid and interactive where every skill you level up has a noticeable difference on how you can approach combat scenarios.

    Once I started this game I simply could not put it down and I honestly believe this is one of the most outstanding games in recent memory. The port in the only downside to ANY of these heavily combat based games that are clearly meant for controller but using a keyboard and mouse wasn't a terrible experience.

    Score: 9/10 almost perfect except for the port!
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMDI experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMD crossfire. However slapping an extremely low score on this game due to the poorly implemented dx11 mode - would be reasonable if that meant you where unable to play the game smoothly . Direct x 9 mode runs flawlessly, and runs incredibly well. So even people without the exact hardware needed to run dx11 mode - are still able to play this game at a vastly better visual standard than everyone else. The game itself is incredible, one of the best of 2011. Arkham asylum was already a great game with a great combat system, it was structured almost like an oldschool metroid game. With progression tied to gadgets. This game opens up, and gives you a hubworld, it still has that metroid structure - it just combines it with elements of open world games. And this combination is so great it's intoxicating. Every single piece of this game is individually fantastic, now tie them all together. And you have a game that is truly worth the asking price. And then some. Involving plot. Check. Open world. Check. Enjoyable gameplay. Check. Variety. Check. Poetically mindblowing visuals. Check. 9/10?. Check. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    "Let's create a Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel but bigger, much bigger". More gadgets, more enemies, more secondary quests, more ketchup. Still"Let's create a Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel but bigger, much bigger". More gadgets, more enemies, more secondary quests, more ketchup. Still an outstanding game but plot and exploration needs more work, just like AA. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Simply horrible, linear to the extreme, just horrible experience.
    Extremely "stupidified" gameplay for non demanding players.
    This is the
    Simply horrible, linear to the extreme, just horrible experience.
    Extremely "stupidified" gameplay for non demanding players.
    This is the most disappointing game I had ever played.
    Expand

See all 285 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.