Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1358 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 263
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    A really amazing game on all aspects. Sounds like a fake review but really, I have nothing to criticize on Arkham City. I've had hundreds of hours of fun with it and I just wanted to say it. :) Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    GOTY 100%
    Nice game, made me a fan Batman. Good graphics and optimization, Went through the whole, not finding a single bug, the plot is very
    interesting. Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    This game is simply AWESOME !
    If you played Arkham Asylym and loved it, you'll be ecstatic with Arkham City, because everything just got
    better.
    You just can't help feeling totally badass when playing as The Dark Knight, beating up common criminals and the occasional evil mastermind.
    Lots of fighting, lots of gadgets, lots of riddles in a spectacular graphic experience.
    Once you get going, it's hard to put down.

    And they even made Batman's sidekick Robin somewhat badass - not the typical gay whimp we're used to from early comics, movies and TV series.
    You can play As Batman (of course) and Catwoman, and Robin and Nightwing in a DLC installment. Each with their own special moves and abilities.

    You'll be cheating yourself from a great gaming experience by not getting it.
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMD crossfire. However slapping an extremely low score on this game due to the poorly implemented dx11 mode - would be reasonable if that meant you where unable to play the game smoothly . Direct x 9 mode runs flawlessly, and runs incredibly well. So even people without the exact hardware needed to run dx11 mode - are still able to play this game at a vastly better visual standard than everyone else. The game itself is incredible, one of the best of 2011. Arkham asylum was already a great game with a great combat system, it was structured almost like an oldschool metroid game. With progression tied to gadgets. This game opens up, and gives you a hubworld, it still has that metroid structure - it just combines it with elements of open world games. And this combination is so great it's intoxicating. Every single piece of this game is individually fantastic, now tie them all together. And you have a game that is truly worth the asking price. And then some. Involving plot. Check. Open world. Check. Enjoyable gameplay. Check. Variety. Check. Poetically mindblowing visuals. Check. 9/10?. Check. Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Though it was a month late in release, the Batman Arkham City PC version is a definite console port. The only graphics change that you can apply is an automated 'Benchmark' feature that wastes five minutes of your time changing nothing. I'm sure it changed something there but after the test the game still looked exactly the same, and I couldn't know if it did change anything because there was nothing to tell you the current specs that the game was running on.
    Another problem was the seemingly rushed PC changes. I was playing a Silent Predatorn Riddler Challenge and when I accidently mashed the buttons after doing a wrong thing I didn't see the 'F' hovering about a nearby gargoyle, I saw an 'RB'. Thats just one example of some really un-PC like elements of this game.
    However, past the fact that this game took longer to put on PC - to no changes whatsoever - there is no doubting that the game is really good. Arkham City is as filthy as Arkham Asylum, and as fun to explore. There are new features like Beat Downs, smoke pellets and multi-person counters and takedowns. Overall this wasn't worth the extra month that PC players had to wait, but playing Batman: Arkham City is definitely fun.
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    I willl never buy another WB game again terrible console port, framerate issues, bugs, DRM and limited installations what ????!!!!???.........never again. Expand

See all 263 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.