Batman: Arkham City Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1908 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Batman: Arkham City - GameSpot Exclusive Penguin Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 286
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slowI can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Great sequel for a great saga! Batman: Arkham City shows us a complete game with the main Batman´s enemies. The Joker, Two Faces and TheGreat sequel for a great saga! Batman: Arkham City shows us a complete game with the main Batman´s enemies. The Joker, Two Faces and The Penguin are great, but Batman is perfect. The new Batman´s weapons are excellent.
    Simply the best game of 2011
    Expand
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    One of my favorites; the best ive played in years. Full of rich storylines and areas to explore. Level up
    system enables new weapons and
    One of my favorites; the best ive played in years. Full of rich storylines and areas to explore. Level up
    system enables new weapons and abilities to keep the fun alive even when into the game for 30
    hours. Plus you get to layout the keyboard the way you want it. A feature I dont want to do without.
    Try it; you will love it!
    Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2017
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is the high point of the Arkham franchise. The characters, the atmosphere, the story, the combat, the music, the visuals –Batman: Arkham City is the high point of the Arkham franchise. The characters, the atmosphere, the story, the combat, the music, the visuals – all come together in a way that few other games achieve. Marred by some performance issues on PC (turning off DX11 features fixes most of the issues). If Batman has a place in your fandom, Arkham City has a place in your game library.
    Total size on my hard-drive (GOTY): 19GB

    + All of Gotham’s criminals have been thrown into an old, walled-off section of the city. A great excuse to bring the entire rogue’s gallery together. Exactly who brought this about and how? There’s your story. Simple but effective. (Like Arkham Asylum, the story is the creation of Paul Dini, who was a major part of the classic ‘90s TV show, Batman: The Animated Series.)
    + Batman, Robin, Catwoman, Hugo Strange, Penguin, Two-Face, Joker – there are many characters packed into Arkham City, all of them superbly voice-acted and visually realized. In addition to Kevin Conroy (as Batman) and Mark Hamill (as the Joker), Grey DeLisle brings perfection to Catwoman.
    + Great world design. Though not as large as Arkham Origins or the follow-up Arkham Knight, Arkham City is full of rooftops and shadowy corners that bear exploring. A number of buildings can be entered, bringing another dimension to the exploration (entering buildings is not seamless though - there is a loading screen).
    + The visuals look fantastic, if occasionally low-res. Light-shafts and shadows are particularly well-rendered, which play to Arkham City’s strengths. Lip-synch occasionally has issues.
    + Ambient sounds of crunching snow, wind and waves are enhanced by superb mood music and deep shadows everywhere. Finding the best brightness setting for your eyes can be tricky, but there’s no denying the atmosphere.
    + Soundtrack is superb. In contrast to Arkham Asylum’s more moody music, Arkham City immediately goes for an unabashed heroic feel. While the big heroic tracks are most obvious, the quieter tracks wonderfully fill the poignant silences.
    + The best combat of any of the Arkham games. Easy to understand, difficult to master.
    + Catwoman is playable in the open world. Awesome.
    + A nice selection of challenge maps that add playable Catwoman, Robin and Nightwing, each with their own combat styles and moves.
    + Harley Quinn’s Revenge DLC is included, and is a good two hours of supplemental gameplay material that happens post-campaign.
    + The GOTY edition includes everything – all DLC, skin packs, and challenge map packs.

    +/- The Catwoman DLC has been folded into the main story campaign. Can create some jarring moments when Batman is at a crucial plot point, and the cut-scene switches the story to Catwoman.

    - Performance on the PC is spotty, even now. Try cranking all the settings up, and the benchmark will run without issue, but the game will be plagued by stutter, both in the pre-rendered cutscenes (a video streaming issue) and in-game as the game-world loads in. I installed Arkham City to my SSD drive, I have a Haswell Core i5, 16GB of ram and an RX 470. My system is not the issue. Search the forums and you’ll find many complaints about cut-scene stutter and generally poor stream-in performance. Turn off DX11 graphical features and most of the problems disappear. Still have some issues with initial load-in stutter, but otherwise the issues were resolved. Maybe you won’t have issues if you’re on Nvidia instead of Radeon, but don’t be surprised if you do.
    - Frame-rate is capped at 62 by default. Altering a config file reveals the real fps limit to be around 200.

    Without the technical concerns, Arkham City wouldn’t just be a near-perfect Batman game, but one of the best games ever made. Still, the technical concerns are assuaged by the fact that Arkham City frequently discounts to $5 (or less!) on Steam during sales, where it offers incredible value. Heartily recommended.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2012
    9
    This is a really good game. I loved Arkham Asylum and was somewhat suspicious about whether the sequel would be able to put in enough newThis is a really good game. I loved Arkham Asylum and was somewhat suspicious about whether the sequel would be able to put in enough new features to make it a worthy sequel. Fortunately I had no reason to worry because this is another perfect example of taking the really good parts from the first game and innovate on this; the open world, more upgrades, several compelling stories (although the premise of a city dedicated to contain the most violent and horrible criminals does seem a bit silly). All this plus a really surprising ending made this game one of my top 10 all-time favorite games.

    And precisely because of this I feel I have to address something I would never otherwise do in a review. A lot of these reviews have been positive and some of them have also been negative, mostly centering around technical issues and bugs which I completely understand. I haven't encountered any serious bugs or glitches in this game but I can perfectly relate to having bought a game only to learn that it is full of bugs and crashes, making it completely unplayable - it hurts even more when you have high expectations and the price is high. But giving this game a 0 is just downright lazy. Think about all the games you have ever seen or played in your entire life and then look at the rating scale from 0-10. I would like to see 0 and 10 as the absolute worst/best games I have ever played and I will reserve those scores when they are appropriate and trust me there are a lot of games out there that are far more worse than batman Arkham City.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    This was the first Batman game in the Arkham series that I have played and I loved it. I love the slow motion ending to the fights and all theThis was the first Batman game in the Arkham series that I have played and I loved it. I love the slow motion ending to the fights and all the cool gadgets. The main story is good and to my surprise, the side quests keep me wanting more. I should go back and play Asylum, but there is too little time and too many games. I don't have a rig to run this game full blast, but almost and it looks good. I would of given it a higher score, but I felt slightly confined and a "10" is perfect and we all know that there is no perfect game out there. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    I willl never buy another WB game again terrible console port, framerate issues, bugs, DRM and limited installations whatI willl never buy another WB game again terrible console port, framerate issues, bugs, DRM and limited installations what ????!!!!???.........never again. Expand

See all 286 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.