Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1389 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 271
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Este es el videojuego más cercano a la perfección por donde lo mires, si eres un gamer es un crimen dejar pasar una obra maestra como lo es Batman Arkham City. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    This game is absolute masterpiece, with its awesome voice acting, storyline and missions. Pretty much continues where the last game left and does a great job in it. If you haven't bought this game already, go and buy it because its worth its money in every aspect. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    This game is jaw-dropping in every way. If you are a fan of Batman in any way, pick this up. Especially if you used to watch the animated series. Voice acting is superb. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "spoiler alert"
    Batman: do you want to know something funny? even after what you've dome, i'd have saved you.
    Joker: that actually is.... pretty funny.

    the endurance of such magnitude is practically un-achievable and therefore, is pretty funny. my Batman arkham city's review:
    sound-9 - it is amazing that rocksteady has almost made it feel like a real city with real people dwelling in it. the dialogues from in-mates, the ambiance, ...everything seems as if happening around you. the dialogues in the game may not be the most memorable but then games strong fidelity to comics justifies the way they are written and delivered.
    Graphics-8 - amazing in dx11 and with everything on high (i had tessellation normal and AA off but still you'd be blown away). but dx11 really puts pressure on even the best gpu's so at present you'll definitely need multi-gpu setups to play on high resolutions and with settings i mentioned and then to the best you may get is 50-60 FPS but i've seen the game looks awesome in dx9 and lower resolution too which will give you more FPS. as for the artistic aspect, arkham city, like i've said before, is like any other another city you're in and yet it has enough unique gotham landmarks and a creepy grim nature to it to identify it as a part of gotham.
    Gameplay-10 - WOW! i've been in batman's mind if not his body atleast. the game is strictly to be played on hard for the regular gamers because only on this difficulty you've to work your mind to plan a strategy when approaching any situation. n if you don't use bat gadgets in the fight then man you're so getting your a**-kicked. the combat looks amazing with never feeling repeated in any way because of varying groups of enemies requiring different combos and gadgets to KO them almost everytime. boss fights also are enough stressing to get your palms sweating when mashing the buttons. n if you still find this easy enough or not satisfied with it there lies story+ mode ahead which takes away hints n counter indications.
    Setting and presentation-9 - the story develops and unfolds consistently and well in a manner enough to keep you interested throughout. the characters especially villains used were also designed and voiced in such a way that their personalities totally went alongwith their nature. the only gripe is with the end which is by no means bad or totally disappointing but has been so overwhelmingly presented that it takes your mind away from some of the questions that were left unanswered or it could be very well possible that i still haven't been able to connect all the (so many) dots. then aside from the main story, devs did a great job with side-missions and riddler trophies and secrets. it took me 30 hours or something to finish 60% of game with story being 100%. if you plan to follow main story only then game is about 10-11 hours but the side missions and solving riddler challenges are so fun n intelligent that it easily kept me deviating from my main objectives. and hence throw in another 25-30 hours of that and you almost get an RPG with emphasis on exploration. this is more than you can ask for a game that has been labeled action/adventure only.

    conclusion-9 i'm giving this incredible piece of art and creativity 9 because of some technical issues and some issues with the story that maybe i've but i think few others might too especially with the end and some obvious questions that were left unanswered as said before. otherwise, if there's one thing that this game lets you know about batman then that is that batman's strength has never been his gadgets or the money that allows him to get them or his martial arts which he learnt at places having sub-zero degree environments ...they only help him on the way to reach his goal ...but his real strength lies in his persistence.... persistence to uphold his firm (idealistic) belief that justice is not a personal matter driven by revenge and justified by one's loss but it's a matter of being fair, driven by the goal to stop and punish the criminal for his wrong-doings only and justified by his repentance for his actions and redemption, if possible...... it is this ideal, his firm belief in it and persistence to uphold it that makes batman someone, something else entirely......
    Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Though it was a month late in release, the Batman Arkham City PC version is a definite console port. The only graphics change that you can apply is an automated 'Benchmark' feature that wastes five minutes of your time changing nothing. I'm sure it changed something there but after the test the game still looked exactly the same, and I couldn't know if it did change anything because there was nothing to tell you the current specs that the game was running on.
    Another problem was the seemingly rushed PC changes. I was playing a Silent Predatorn Riddler Challenge and when I accidently mashed the buttons after doing a wrong thing I didn't see the 'F' hovering about a nearby gargoyle, I saw an 'RB'. Thats just one example of some really un-PC like elements of this game.
    However, past the fact that this game took longer to put on PC - to no changes whatsoever - there is no doubting that the game is really good. Arkham City is as filthy as Arkham Asylum, and as fun to explore. There are new features like Beat Downs, smoke pellets and multi-person counters and takedowns. Overall this wasn't worth the extra month that PC players had to wait, but playing Batman: Arkham City is definitely fun.
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    I willl never buy another WB game again terrible console port, framerate issues, bugs, DRM and limited installations what ????!!!!???.........never again. Expand

See all 271 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.