Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 278
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slowI can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Este es el videojuego más cercano a la perfección por donde lo mires, si eres un gamer es un crimen dejar pasar una obra maestraEste es el videojuego más cercano a la perfección por donde lo mires, si eres un gamer es un crimen dejar pasar una obra maestra como lo es Batman Arkham City. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    A really amazing game on all aspects. Sounds like a fake review but really, I have nothing to criticize on Arkham City. I've had hundreds ofA really amazing game on all aspects. Sounds like a fake review but really, I have nothing to criticize on Arkham City. I've had hundreds of hours of fun with it and I just wanted to say it. :) Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2014
    9
    Where do I start? It's a true gem that has little to no flaws whatsoever. The graphics are superb, the story is great, the voice acting isWhere do I start? It's a true gem that has little to no flaws whatsoever. The graphics are superb, the story is great, the voice acting is amazing, the gameplay is a spot on. In short, it's a true joy to play.

    The game revolves around a small section of Gotham City, known now as "Arkham City", where gangs and thugs seem to have free-run of there own little slice of Gotham. It allows much greater freedom than Arkham Asylum did - and is all the better for it. You start with all the abilities and gadgets that you picked up in the previous game, and unlock a ton more too. As such, it may have a steep learning curve for people that did not play the previous game, but once you get into it, it's fluid, responsive and great fun.

    Upgrades to your Batsuit and character(s) abilities are bought with XP, that is earned fighting thugs - and you are rewarded for slick moves, long combos and variety. You can also quick-fire gadgets during combat, adding another really cool addition to the game.

    Jimbo Rating: 9/10
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMDI experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMD crossfire. However slapping an extremely low score on this game due to the poorly implemented dx11 mode - would be reasonable if that meant you where unable to play the game smoothly . Direct x 9 mode runs flawlessly, and runs incredibly well. So even people without the exact hardware needed to run dx11 mode - are still able to play this game at a vastly better visual standard than everyone else. The game itself is incredible, one of the best of 2011. Arkham asylum was already a great game with a great combat system, it was structured almost like an oldschool metroid game. With progression tied to gadgets. This game opens up, and gives you a hubworld, it still has that metroid structure - it just combines it with elements of open world games. And this combination is so great it's intoxicating. Every single piece of this game is individually fantastic, now tie them all together. And you have a game that is truly worth the asking price. And then some. Involving plot. Check. Open world. Check. Enjoyable gameplay. Check. Variety. Check. Poetically mindblowing visuals. Check. 9/10?. Check. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    "Let's create a Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel but bigger, much bigger". More gadgets, more enemies, more secondary quests, more ketchup. Still"Let's create a Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel but bigger, much bigger". More gadgets, more enemies, more secondary quests, more ketchup. Still an outstanding game but plot and exploration needs more work, just like AA. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    very boring!!!!!!!

See all 278 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.