Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 281
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slowI can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Possibly one of the best and most complete games I have ever played. I enjoyed every second of Arkham City from start to finish. InitialPossibly one of the best and most complete games I have ever played. I enjoyed every second of Arkham City from start to finish. Initial release with DirectX11 support was rushed and needed to be patched ASAP as it wasn't implemented/coded too well. However I enjoyed the game for what it truly is. It is a great tribute to Batman which says a lot because we all know how crappy superhero games and movie spin-off games can be. I will be playing through Arkham City once again as soon as I have the chance. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Maybe it's a 9, not a 10, but it's unfair to have a user scor of 7.7. Is a great game, an awesome experience. The city, the music, theMaybe it's a 9, not a 10, but it's unfair to have a user scor of 7.7. Is a great game, an awesome experience. The city, the music, the dialogues, the characters, the script, you feel that you really are Batman. It feels 500% Batman. Besides the problems with DX11 that the game had in its release (I didn't buy it for PS3 to get the game in PC so I feel really angry when DX11 didn't work), Batman Arkham City is what I call "the game that makes you feel the experience of live in a new world" (it also applies to Red Dead Redemption for example). I really recommend this game and then start to wait for the next one, because the end allows to make a lot of new stories for a next game of the series. And yes, I want more Catwoman, is great to play with her. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    Batman Arkham City-a detailed review

    Plot summary: Bruce Wayne is kidnapped whilst protesting the use of Arkham City.He is in a super
    Batman Arkham City-a detailed review

    Plot summary: Bruce Wayne is kidnapped whilst protesting the use of Arkham City.He is in a super prison called Arkham City where all the super villains are and the worst criminals in Gotham.He investigates Arkham City's dark secrets and discovers a huge project called protacle 10 run by Dr Hugo Strange the owner of arkham city.What is his plan?

    Batman Arkham City is the sequel to Batman Arkham Asylum so those who played the original with be at home with this installment to the arkham series.The gameplay in Arkham City is vastly improved with better animations,more moves and a better upgrade system.

    The moves in this game are brilliant,its so satisfying to smash a thugs skull in.You can upgrade your amour and moves.You can also upgrade your gadgets to which is a great addition to the game.Like the original the mood set for the game is dark,gritty and dirty.

    Which is a good thing because that works best for Batman,especially in a game like this.

    The map is much bigger,as the title suggests its a city so is bigger better? Well yes it works,with a variety of side missions,thugs all over and lots of buildings it improves from the original.Its a bigger better game that overall is a great play trough

    DLC:
    The DLC for this game is great,there a Batman skins,more challenge maps and a separate story but connected to the main one where you play as robin-Harley Quinns revenge,but only play this if you have completed the main story as it has lots of spoilers,it wont make sense either if you don't complete the main story.

    Overall Arkham City is a great game,I give it a solid 9/10 just as good as the original.Better in different ways.
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMDI experienced the very same technical issues as all of you had. Worse - even. Since the game negatively scales when running dx11 and AMD crossfire. However slapping an extremely low score on this game due to the poorly implemented dx11 mode - would be reasonable if that meant you where unable to play the game smoothly . Direct x 9 mode runs flawlessly, and runs incredibly well. So even people without the exact hardware needed to run dx11 mode - are still able to play this game at a vastly better visual standard than everyone else. The game itself is incredible, one of the best of 2011. Arkham asylum was already a great game with a great combat system, it was structured almost like an oldschool metroid game. With progression tied to gadgets. This game opens up, and gives you a hubworld, it still has that metroid structure - it just combines it with elements of open world games. And this combination is so great it's intoxicating. Every single piece of this game is individually fantastic, now tie them all together. And you have a game that is truly worth the asking price. And then some. Involving plot. Check. Open world. Check. Enjoyable gameplay. Check. Variety. Check. Poetically mindblowing visuals. Check. 9/10?. Check. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    "Let's create a Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel but bigger, much bigger". More gadgets, more enemies, more secondary quests, more ketchup. Still"Let's create a Batman: Arkham Asylum sequel but bigger, much bigger". More gadgets, more enemies, more secondary quests, more ketchup. Still an outstanding game but plot and exploration needs more work, just like AA. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Simply horrible, linear to the extreme, just horrible experience.
    Extremely "stupidified" gameplay for non demanding players.
    This is the
    Simply horrible, linear to the extreme, just horrible experience.
    Extremely "stupidified" gameplay for non demanding players.
    This is the most disappointing game I had ever played.
    Expand

See all 281 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.