Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1038 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 249
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Very very great game i don't understand people saying it ruined the sequel! I recommend it to everyone interested in batman and who enjoyedVery very great game i don't understand people saying it ruined the sequel! I recommend it to everyone interested in batman and who enjoyed arkham city. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    I have just finished the game and I had a ton of fun playing it. It is true that it does not make that much different than Arkham City, butI have just finished the game and I had a ton of fun playing it. It is true that it does not make that much different than Arkham City, but since AC was one of the best games of this generation, does it have to? I am glad that WB Montreal did not change the general formula of the game. You still explore one of the most atmospheric open-world environments, beat-up thugs and enjoy the cool story with its many plot twists. The graphics still look pretty good, the sound and voice-over is great and the free-flow combat is still one of the best combat systems to date. The villains and the respective fights are quite entertaining and the city is again full with content and areas to explore. I do miss the Riddler trophies, but there is a lot of other fun stuff to do and to complete. If you enjoyed the previous two titles, then you probably will also enjoy this entry. It does not make much different, but what it does, it does great. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    I had just written a nice 5000 character review but instead of posting it I accidentally pressed backspace and lost it. I'm not willing toI had just written a nice 5000 character review but instead of posting it I accidentally pressed backspace and lost it. I'm not willing to write it again so I'll just summarize it.

    I played a patched version of Origins so I didn't experience many bugs described here.
    I've experienced a few minor bugs, though.

    What I liked in Origins:

    1-Amazing graphics, even better than Arkham City's, which I thought impossible to top in 2013.
    2-The same old great navigation and combat mechanics. There are new moves too and fights are still thrilling. Never lose this, please!
    3-Some of the same good old gadgets, but also new ones and redesigned ones too.
    4-New side missions, improved crime scene missions (they look like CSI rather than Batman)
    5-Same good old play modes plus new challenge modes available
    6-Extended map (almost doubled) and new fast travel feature.
    7-Great voice acting, as always, perhaps a bit weaker, but still great.
    8-Added proper and more realistic ledges for each building. You won't find gargoyles in a steel mill anymore.
    9-The story goes back to the beginning of the exploits of Gotham's dark night, which represents a breath of fresh air. Thugs seem to think you are just an urban legend...you show them how mistaken they are time and again, and it's hilarious.
    10-Ability to go back to the Batcave almost anytime.

    What I didn't like:

    1-The story is too short, with considerably less "character duels", plots and fights overall.
    2-The game is too easy...either that or I've become a true combat machine. Overall, combat situations aren't as dense and challenging as they were in Arkham city.
    3-There seems to be less content with respect to the previous title. Less side missions, less enigma trophies, etc.
    4-Even though Origins is a pretty much flawless game, I found some bugs that forced me to reload a couple of times and made my final duel with Bane a little weird.
    5-This is related to number 1 and 2, but still, gadgets are too easy to get too early, which makes the game even shorter and easier.

    As you can see, I Iiked this game despite its shortcomings. The problem is that Arkham city was so amazing, so long, so complete and filled with so many side missions and other stuff that Origins isn't able to completely live up to it as some people expected.
    If you liked the Arkham saga, you won't be too disappointed with Origins. This is a pretty solid saga and I'm happy it exists because I haven't found any other saga that can be compared to it, not even AC.
    Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2014
    7
    Alright, so the new WB studio didn't do a very good job with this game. The animations are unpolished, and the game doesn't flow as well asAlright, so the new WB studio didn't do a very good job with this game. The animations are unpolished, and the game doesn't flow as well as Arkham City did. This is NO REASON to give the game a 0. It was disappointing, sure! But Arkham City was NEAR PERFECT. Notice that this is Arkham Origins, and superhero origin stories are almost always the weakest of them all. None of this changed the fact that this is still a great game! They weren't very original in terms of gameplay, so I won't be able to bring this up to an 8/10. Aside from this they still managed to capture each of the characters in the game very well, the voice actors did amazing jobs, and the game really does feel like you're going back in time.
    The game by far doesn't live up to its predecessors but fact is, its still a great game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two reviews:

    One, the gameplay: Just as great as Arkham City. It's grittier, Batman is a hothead, earlier versions of criminals. I love it. The characterizations are great, especially the Joker. A couple new enemies, a couple new gadgets. It's a blast to play and viscerally satisfying to be the Batman. The holiday atmosphere is a nice addition. I think it's a worthy addition to the Arkham games and captures the philosophy, style, and play of the other two very well.

    Two, the technical stuff: Unlike the other two games, this game was released with game-stopping bugs, glitches, poor AI, and idiotically obvious problems that HAD to be fixed before releasing. I would absolutely not buy this game until they release at least one patch. Maybe two. The only redeeming things I can say about this is that 1.) you can _generally_ fix whatever glitch you encounter by restarting the last save and 2.) the main story doesn't seem to hit a glitch wall. With restarts you can finish it. Forget about the sidequests; from broken comm towers to bugged out disruptor you'll have a tough time finishing the Riddler or Penguin sidequests.

    I have a great time playing this game, right up until I hit one of the many glitches. Then I get frustrated and turn it off and resolve to wait until the patch. Then I convince myself it's worth playing because it's still a blast and try it again. Rinse and repeat. Going to be a great game when they get things fixed. Until then, stay away.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Too many bugs and lags
    many troubles with batclaw!!handling have troubles too in fights
    i think they ruined the game may many crashes.And
    Too many bugs and lags
    many troubles with batclaw!!handling have troubles too in fights
    i think they ruined the game
    may many crashes.And multiplayer have many bugs too
    Expand

See all 249 User Reviews