Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 262
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    I forgot I had a family until I played this game, it literally ruined my life, until my parents got me a pet snake. I am scared of snakes andI forgot I had a family until I played this game, it literally ruined my life, until my parents got me a pet snake. I am scared of snakes and I killed myself, so now I live with Jesus so I'm happy, Still sings better than Justin Bieber 10/10 Expand
  3. Wik
    Oct 27, 2013
    9
    This game took me by surprise. I have the 2 other games in the series. But I found them a little boring.
    This game is much more enjoyable.
    This game took me by surprise. I have the 2 other games in the series. But I found them a little boring.
    This game is much more enjoyable. And the MP is a blast best fun in a long time.
    Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    8
    A very good game, but with far too many bugs, some of which are progression-blocking. Most insultingly, WB Montréal has announced they won'tA very good game, but with far too many bugs, some of which are progression-blocking. Most insultingly, WB Montréal has announced they won't patch the game Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2015
    7
    Gameplay : 7
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8 Sound : 8 **********************************************************************************
    Gameplay : 7
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 7
    Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Overall it's linear, repetitive, and buggy. The game adds little overall to its predecessor, Arkham City, and is not worth full price.

    The
    Overall it's linear, repetitive, and buggy. The game adds little overall to its predecessor, Arkham City, and is not worth full price.

    The relatively simple addition of blocking and counter attacks adds a great deal to the fight sequences, and makes them more than just a button mashing slog. A few new gadgets are introduced, but the total number is still manageable. The main quest is extremely linear, and there are few, if any, chances to deviate from the script. The world is larger than the other Batman games, but it's just populated with more of the same mobs, building types, geography, and trinkets.

    At release time the game is quite buggy. I was frustrated as hell when I realized the door I was trying to bypass at one stage didn't involve some trickery or inventiveness to get around, but just a restart to get past a software glitch. There are also numerous bugs affecting side quests, and thugs you need to interrogate, but can't.
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2016
    0
    De tanto en tanto entro en el juego a ver si avanzo algo... Después de una determinada misión con un personaje rival clásico (no digo cual porDe tanto en tanto entro en el juego a ver si avanzo algo... Después de una determinada misión con un personaje rival clásico (no digo cual por no spoilear) el tema es que me he quedado LITERALMENTE ENCERRADO EN LA BATCUEVA CON ALFRED, sin poder salir de allínpara la siguiente misión.

    O yo soy muy torpe que no se como ir de un lugar a otro (en este caso entrar en la batala con un destino) o es un BUG como una casa que hace el juego injugable.

    Y eso que a nivel de gráficos, con una Nvidia GTX 660 o una GTX 970 como tengo ahora, visualmente es BRUTAL.

    Pero un juego roto no se puede permitir.
    Expand

See all 262 User Reviews