Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 861 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 224
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    GOTY 2013. Best game in the series. Solves problems with earlier Arkham games. For example, Bane here is not a mindless monkey brute, as he shouldn't be. Joker is closer to being his real old, darker self, instead of the annoying character he became post-TAS. We see Barbara as an actual character, not some drone voice on your earpiece. We see a strong, angry Batman, not one that almost looks like he should be walking around with a monocle and passing out get-out-of-jail free cards. Forget plot and characterization in previous games, Origins is where its at. The series had good gameplay; now it also has good everything else.
    About the gameplay itself, it's similar but improved on the previous flaws. Combat in AC was great but too easy. This time around you need to time things properly; spamming the attack button will make you lose your combo constantly and eventually die, unlike the previous games.
    So overall..the series improves once again.
    Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    i don't understand the amount of hate to this game every one is giving this game bad credits only for lack of innovation a game like arkham city was so perfect that i can't think of anything to add to it because of its perfection i only need a solid story and that's what i found in this game yes there was some few glitches but they're not big deal as you soon will be consumed in the amazing graphics amazing story outstanding sound tracks and i must say that Batman'c character in this game is the BEST he is a total badass i hope to see more from the series in the future Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    This game is a certain shot. It's obvious that Warner wants to win a lot of money with the Batman: Arkham's serie and a prequel of the 2 previous games is the best form of enhance the universe of the game. There are a very few new things. The detective vision is better when analysing a crime scene, with a structure similar with CSI tv show. The fight is almost the same, only with some new moves. The history doesn't have the same level of epicity that the previous ones has, but when (SPOILER) Joker appears for the first time, the history improves a lot. The game also show the beginning of the Batman/Joker relationship and it's very good(SPOILER). The biggest problem, for me, is a bug that occurred when I was with 2 hours of gameplay. The screen got completely black and Batman began to fall in a very strange way. Then, I had to begin a new game. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    If there's one thing that's noticeably true about Arkham Origins it's that Rocksteady's departure is definitely felt.

    Some pretty glaring
    bugs and glitches aside, Origins' biggest issue is that it lacks any kind of actual innovation. Whereas Arkham City outdid Arkham Asylum by MILES, Origins feels like the previous game just with a different coat of paint. Combat has hardly changed (besides not feeling as fluid as before), Batman has more-or-less the same gadgets or different ones that fill the same role as previous ones, and the world map feels a lot smaller and emptier despite actually being larger than the one from Arkham City.

    The only thing Origins really has going for it is its story.

    Many new characters to the series make their debut here and some the familiar faces are introduced all over again as they come into contact with Batman for the first time. As this is Batman's second year of crime fighting we get to witness things like the GCPD's (and specifically James Gordon's) absolute mistrust of the Dark Knight, Alfred's sincere concern in regards to Bruce's physical and mental health, Batman's own ongoing fight to conquer his own fears and figure out where he must stand morally in the fight for justice, and the beginnings of the Joker's obsession with Batman.

    Overall it's definitely a beefy script that covers a lot but it does falter in a couple of ways namely in terms of focus. Going into the game we knew that the set-up was that Black Mask put a bounty on Batman's head and eight different assassins/villains are coming after him. Less than halfway into the game though that story arc is all but abandoned as the Joker takes center stand and shortly after is followed by Bane. The assassin arc then takes the back seat and a majority of the eight sent after you are relegated to side missions. While this shifting about doesn't exactly hurt the game it could've only helped if there had been a bit more focus.

    In the end, when it comes down to it Arkham Origins is the weakest of the "Arkham Trilogy" but a worthy addition nonetheless.
    Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Overall it's linear, repetitive, and buggy. The game adds little overall to its predecessor, Arkham City, and is not worth full price.

    The
    relatively simple addition of blocking and counter attacks adds a great deal to the fight sequences, and makes them more than just a button mashing slog. A few new gadgets are introduced, but the total number is still manageable. The main quest is extremely linear, and there are few, if any, chances to deviate from the script. The world is larger than the other Batman games, but it's just populated with more of the same mobs, building types, geography, and trinkets.

    At release time the game is quite buggy. I was frustrated as hell when I realized the door I was trying to bypass at one stage didn't involve some trickery or inventiveness to get around, but just a restart to get past a software glitch. There are also numerous bugs affecting side quests, and thugs you need to interrogate, but can't.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Too many bugs and lags
    many troubles with batclaw!!handling have troubles too in fights
    i think they ruined the game
    may many crashes.And
    multiplayer have many bugs too Expand

See all 224 User Reviews