Batman: Arkham Origins Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 259
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    I forgot I had a family until I played this game, it literally ruined my life, until my parents got me a pet snake. I am scared of snakes andI forgot I had a family until I played this game, it literally ruined my life, until my parents got me a pet snake. I am scared of snakes and I killed myself, so now I live with Jesus so I'm happy, Still sings better than Justin Bieber 10/10 Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    I have just finished the game and I had a ton of fun playing it. It is true that it does not make that much different than Arkham City, butI have just finished the game and I had a ton of fun playing it. It is true that it does not make that much different than Arkham City, but since AC was one of the best games of this generation, does it have to? I am glad that WB Montreal did not change the general formula of the game. You still explore one of the most atmospheric open-world environments, beat-up thugs and enjoy the cool story with its many plot twists. The graphics still look pretty good, the sound and voice-over is great and the free-flow combat is still one of the best combat systems to date. The villains and the respective fights are quite entertaining and the city is again full with content and areas to explore. I do miss the Riddler trophies, but there is a lot of other fun stuff to do and to complete. If you enjoyed the previous two titles, then you probably will also enjoy this entry. It does not make much different, but what it does, it does great. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    If you have played either of the two previous arkham games you are going to feel at home with arkham origins, it still has the same fantasticIf you have played either of the two previous arkham games you are going to feel at home with arkham origins, it still has the same fantastic combat system and predator rooms however they added a fantastic new addition to game play with the added feature of detective mode even though the game could of done with more of this feature if im honest A brilliant game and one of the better games of 2013 Expand
  5. May 20, 2015
    7
    Alot of people have said this is the worst Batman Arkham game that has been made so far. And that is true. However, this is still a good gameAlot of people have said this is the worst Batman Arkham game that has been made so far. And that is true. However, this is still a good game that, while it may not live up to the standards set by the first two games, it is still good on its own.
    The main problem with the game is the fact that everything in this game is, seemingly, a copy and paste from Arkham City. From the world it's in to the combat system, everything here feels the same and that's because it is the same. Some minor changes to the gameplay and the different way the Riddler Trophies are set up now (they are datapacks instead of trophies) is about all thats different here.
    The story kinda makes up for that in the fact that they had a great premise that had an average ending. The game had alot of promise but it's clear they didn't put alot of effort into the game. WB was content with taking about 75% of Arkham City, throwing a few new bad guys in there, and calling it a day. It's still worth playing but not to the point that City and Asylum were at when they were released.
    Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two reviews:

    One, the gameplay: Just as great as Arkham City. It's grittier, Batman is a hothead, earlier versions of criminals. I love it. The characterizations are great, especially the Joker. A couple new enemies, a couple new gadgets. It's a blast to play and viscerally satisfying to be the Batman. The holiday atmosphere is a nice addition. I think it's a worthy addition to the Arkham games and captures the philosophy, style, and play of the other two very well.

    Two, the technical stuff: Unlike the other two games, this game was released with game-stopping bugs, glitches, poor AI, and idiotically obvious problems that HAD to be fixed before releasing. I would absolutely not buy this game until they release at least one patch. Maybe two. The only redeeming things I can say about this is that 1.) you can _generally_ fix whatever glitch you encounter by restarting the last save and 2.) the main story doesn't seem to hit a glitch wall. With restarts you can finish it. Forget about the sidequests; from broken comm towers to bugged out disruptor you'll have a tough time finishing the Riddler or Penguin sidequests.

    I have a great time playing this game, right up until I hit one of the many glitches. Then I get frustrated and turn it off and resolve to wait until the patch. Then I convince myself it's worth playing because it's still a blast and try it again. Rinse and repeat. Going to be a great game when they get things fixed. Until then, stay away.
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2016
    0
    De tanto en tanto entro en el juego a ver si avanzo algo... Después de una determinada misión con un personaje rival clásico (no digo cual porDe tanto en tanto entro en el juego a ver si avanzo algo... Después de una determinada misión con un personaje rival clásico (no digo cual por no spoilear) el tema es que me he quedado LITERALMENTE ENCERRADO EN LA BATCUEVA CON ALFRED, sin poder salir de allínpara la siguiente misión.

    O yo soy muy torpe que no se como ir de un lugar a otro (en este caso entrar en la batala con un destino) o es un BUG como una casa que hace el juego injugable.

    Y eso que a nivel de gráficos, con una Nvidia GTX 660 o una GTX 970 como tengo ahora, visualmente es BRUTAL.

    Pero un juego roto no se puede permitir.
    Expand

See all 259 User Reviews