Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battle Worlds: Kronos is a turn-based strategy game in the tradition of Battle Isle, Advance Wars and Panzer General. Have you ever wondered what games like that would look like today? Well, the makers of this game did. Thus, the game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    82
    A model Kickstarter project, delivering exactly what it promised, on time. And on top of that, it is a fine, turn based strategy game in the classic mold to boot. Maybe even a bit too classic: more originality in design of the world and mechanics would have only improved things. AI does fine on the small scale tactics and punishes the player for the careless positioning of single units, but at the larger scale it feels like overwhelming numbers and scripting of the missions are what the player is fighting against. [Jan 2014]
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    82
    I have waited 19 years for a worthy successor to Battle Isle 2 and it was worth it. Well animated units, simple to understand, tricky to master, challenging AI. The presentation could be better though.
  3. 80
    If you’re a fan of the Battle Isle series, you’ll love this solid, turn-based, story-infused strategy game. They’re still hard to come by. [Issue#237]
  4. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Solid, entertaining, and as a whole a top-notch turn-based strategy game that's not only great to play but even to look at. Just if it was a bit smarter now and then, and if it wasn't trying to present both its shallow universe and its story background as something amazing.
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a tactical strategy game that borrows from classics such as Battle Isle and Panzer General. Missions take long and demand your complete devotion, which makes the game fun but slow at certain times.
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    65
    Even though we appreciate the attempt to bring new life to the turn-based strategy genre, Battle Worlds: Kronos has proven not the be the best way to do it. A true fan would still be able to get a lot of fun out of this game, but the predictive A.I. and boring missions won't attract any new players.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    59
    The worst thing is that the campaign missions are simply boring. The weak AI spends most of the time waiting until you get close to its units, while scripted events often put you at an unfair disadvantage for the sake of creating drama.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This is the game all of us Battle Isle Fans waited for a long time now: a tactical turn-based strategy game, not simple but not an absoluteThis is the game all of us Battle Isle Fans waited for a long time now: a tactical turn-based strategy game, not simple but not an absolute pro-gamer game, and good game mechanics combined with nice and functional graphics. What makes it more perfect is the continued support and patching and a lot of listening to their supporters and fans: there will be soon versions on iOS and tablets, and a addon with new units and more campaign missions for free cause of the kickstarter campaign.

    I cant understand why those guys below me are voting that bad... for me its one of the best TB strategy game of 2013 and a long long expected successor of my good old battle isle 3.
    I love it :-)

    Pro:
    - Nice graphics, good game mechanics, simple but getting harder and more difficult with each mission.

    Con:
    - perhaps those quite simple text-boxes for the Story telling, but he - i wanna play a game and not watch a movie... and the story is only secondary for an tactical turn-based strategy game imho.
    Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This is the true heir of the 1990s prodigious Battle Isle games. In fact you could call him the true Battle Isle 4. This is a turn-basedThis is the true heir of the 1990s prodigious Battle Isle games. In fact you could call him the true Battle Isle 4. This is a turn-based pretty experience with balanced units. The gameplay is simple but deep. The ergonomy uses some new ideas that consistantly improve the allround feeling. The developpers are very reactive, in example they changed very quickly the mouse buttons actions regarding of users feedback. The map editor ensures a great durability, also does the multiplayer. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    I loved to play the "good old" battle isle titles. So I was excited to hear that there is a successor and backed it at kickstarter. And theI loved to play the "good old" battle isle titles. So I was excited to hear that there is a successor and backed it at kickstarter. And the game is worth it!
    The campaign is fun to play(even if the AI could be improved). The graphics are nice and the game is now running smooth.

    But the best thing with Battle World Kronos is the turn based multi player possibility. The possibility to play against up to three human rivals. The chance to test your wit against others.
    It is a game where winning is not about who clicks faster, but who has the best plan (or who makes the least mistakes ;-)

    The game was published more or less in a beta stadium and playing at the beginning showed quite a few bugs. But the last patches eliminated the problems (except for one) and made the game experience really great.

    I am looking forward for the next improvements and changes like the train expansion.
    (And when the developers manage to eliminate the mine bug I will award 10 points to the game ;-)
    Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    This is a true remake of battle island. Since I'm a huge fan of that game, my review is maybe a little biased. Gameplay is great, like oldThis is a true remake of battle island. Since I'm a huge fan of that game, my review is maybe a little biased. Gameplay is great, like old battle isle. Graphic is better than original (no surprise), but if you like rotating 3D and such, you'll have to look elsewhere. UI, Story and sound could do a little better.
    Nice campaigns with OK difficulty (AI is easy once you figure out how it works, but again that's true for all games, computers just aren't that smart....yet).
    Overall, 8 from me. Maybe 7 if you're not a fan of battle island
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as more efforts end up going into graphics and animations with your typical release. That being said, Battle Worlds still has pretty cool artwork and watching things explode is always a pleasure when in the game. Cutscene videos have extremely good quality, and almost dwarf the in game graphics by comparison.

    Where Kronos seems to shine most, is in the gameplay. The wide variety of units, and depth came to me as a surprise. From what I've seen, the tactical capacity, and room for creative strategic ideas is enormous. As a chess player, this was great to see for me.

    It's an engaging game, and requires a lot of planning, thinking, and concentration. The UI is very streamlined, and makes the complexity of the game easy to interface with (think Civ 5).

    For being turn based, command transitions are very smooth, and almost make it feel real time. Honest to the advertising, it does seem well optimized.

    Overall, the game plays like a modernized, more action packed model of Alpha Centauri, spliced with Advanced Wars. I will keep the rating updated as I continue to play. So far, very impressive. I'm having a lot of fun with it. Still haven't tried multiplayer.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    6
    Could have been a good game, but difficulty is brutal. If you are a hardcore strategy gamer this may be a great game for you, but if you are aCould have been a good game, but difficulty is brutal. If you are a hardcore strategy gamer this may be a great game for you, but if you are a casual gamer just avoid this game. Why can't I change difficulty settings like in almost all other strategy games?! Collapse
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    I did not like the game. They *say* that it is in the same line as Advance Wars? What is the only similarity with AW? Maybe the fact that itI did not like the game. They *say* that it is in the same line as Advance Wars? What is the only similarity with AW? Maybe the fact that it is turn based and that there are individual units. But that's about it. The way indirect units engage, the way the characters interact, the way the units move, the way money comes in or out, the interface so many things, mostly all the game. A waste of my money. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews