Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battle Worlds: Kronos is a turn-based strategy game in the tradition of Battle Isle, Advance Wars and Panzer General. Have you ever wondered what games like that would look like today? Well, the makers of this game did. Thus, the game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 13, 2014
    82
    A model Kickstarter project, delivering exactly what it promised, on time. And on top of that, it is a fine, turn based strategy game in the classic mold to boot. Maybe even a bit too classic: more originality in design of the world and mechanics would have only improved things. AI does fine on the small scale tactics and punishes the player for the careless positioning of single units, but at the larger scale it feels like overwhelming numbers and scripting of the missions are what the player is fighting against. [Jan 2014]
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    82
    I have waited 19 years for a worthy successor to Battle Isle 2 and it was worth it. Well animated units, simple to understand, tricky to master, challenging AI. The presentation could be better though.
  3. 80
    If you’re a fan of the Battle Isle series, you’ll love this solid, turn-based, story-infused strategy game. They’re still hard to come by. [Issue#237]
  4. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Solid, entertaining, and as a whole a top-notch turn-based strategy game that's not only great to play but even to look at. Just if it was a bit smarter now and then, and if it wasn't trying to present both its shallow universe and its story background as something amazing.
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    Battle Worlds: Kronos is a tactical strategy game that borrows from classics such as Battle Isle and Panzer General. Missions take long and demand your complete devotion, which makes the game fun but slow at certain times.
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    65
    Even though we appreciate the attempt to bring new life to the turn-based strategy genre, Battle Worlds: Kronos has proven not the be the best way to do it. A true fan would still be able to get a lot of fun out of this game, but the predictive A.I. and boring missions won't attract any new players.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    59
    The worst thing is that the campaign missions are simply boring. The weak AI spends most of the time waiting until you get close to its units, while scripted events often put you at an unfair disadvantage for the sake of creating drama.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Ich habe gerne und oft da alte "Battle Isle" gespielt und habe mich als Backer sehr auf das Release gefreut. Auch wenn das Spiel etwas Unreif auf den Markt kam, es hat absolut seine Existensberechtigung. Es bietet so ziemlich alles was der ALTE ZOCKER sich wünscht. Collapse
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This is the true heir of the 1990s prodigious Battle Isle games. In fact you could call him the true Battle Isle 4. This is a turn-based pretty experience with balanced units. The gameplay is simple but deep. The ergonomy uses some new ideas that consistantly improve the allround feeling. The developpers are very reactive, in example they changed very quickly the mouse buttons actions regarding of users feedback. The map editor ensures a great durability, also does the multiplayer. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This is the game all of us Battle Isle Fans waited for a long time now: a tactical turn-based strategy game, not simple but not an absolute pro-gamer game, and good game mechanics combined with nice and functional graphics. What makes it more perfect is the continued support and patching and a lot of listening to their supporters and fans: there will be soon versions on iOS and tablets, and a addon with new units and more campaign missions for free cause of the kickstarter campaign.

    I cant understand why those guys below me are voting that bad... for me its one of the best TB strategy game of 2013 and a long long expected successor of my good old battle isle 3.
    I love it :-)

    Pro:
    - Nice graphics, good game mechanics, simple but getting harder and more difficult with each mission.

    Con:
    - perhaps those quite simple text-boxes for the Story telling, but he - i wanna play a game and not watch a movie... and the story is only secondary for an tactical turn-based strategy game imho.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Two days in:

    It's a quality game. Watching the developer video really connected with me. I feel gameplay in modern titles has suffered, as
    more efforts end up going into graphics and animations with your typical release. That being said, Battle Worlds still has pretty cool artwork and watching things explode is always a pleasure when in the game. Cutscene videos have extremely good quality, and almost dwarf the in game graphics by comparison.

    Where Kronos seems to shine most, is in the gameplay. The wide variety of units, and depth came to me as a surprise. From what I've seen, the tactical capacity, and room for creative strategic ideas is enormous. As a chess player, this was great to see for me.

    It's an engaging game, and requires a lot of planning, thinking, and concentration. The UI is very streamlined, and makes the complexity of the game easy to interface with (think Civ 5).

    For being turn based, command transitions are very smooth, and almost make it feel real time. Honest to the advertising, it does seem well optimized.

    Overall, the game plays like a modernized, more action packed model of Alpha Centauri, spliced with Advanced Wars. I will keep the rating updated as I continue to play. So far, very impressive. I'm having a lot of fun with it. Still haven't tried multiplayer.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    6
    Could have been a good game, but difficulty is brutal. If you are a hardcore strategy gamer this may be a great game for you, but if you are a casual gamer just avoid this game. Why can't I change difficulty settings like in almost all other strategy games?! Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    5
    I was very excited about the prospect of a turn based game with a focus on strategy and difficultly. Unfortunately once I got into the campaign this turned to out to be illusion. The "strategic" AI in this game controls groups of units in pretty much two modes. Wait until you are in range then have the group attack, or chase and attack. That is it. Every battle and encounter will plays the same way with the AI shuffling units around. The "difficulty" is implemented by giving the AI endless spawning units that attack and suicide themselves to whittle your units down. This is a big disappointment and a clear cop approach out for game developers who can't come up with a good AI.

    The end result is the campaign scenarios railroad you into making a rush play to the end objective. There is no real strategy...you rush units leaving some behind as you go to delay endless spawning masses while grabbing anything you can along the way. You'll play the same scenarios over and over, wiping out, until you hit upon the right path on the map. The game is move akin to solving a puzzle by trail-and-error that using any real battle strategy.
    Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    I did not like the game. They *say* that it is in the same line as Advance Wars? What is the only similarity with AW? Maybe the fact that it is turn based and that there are individual units. But that's about it. The way indirect units engage, the way the characters interact, the way the units move, the way money comes in or out, the interface so many things, mostly all the game. A waste of my money. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews