Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shipwrecked. Captured. Betrayed. Forced to perform for an audience of cats? Wait, what?? You've just unlocked the door to BattleBlock Theater! There's no turning back once you've started on your quest to free your imprisoned friends from evil technological cats! Immerse yourself in this mindShipwrecked. Captured. Betrayed. Forced to perform for an audience of cats? Wait, what?? You've just unlocked the door to BattleBlock Theater! There's no turning back once you've started on your quest to free your imprisoned friends from evil technological cats! Immerse yourself in this mind bending tale of treachery as you battle your way through hundreds of levels in order to discover the puzzling truth behind BattleBlock Theater. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. May 14, 2014
    90
    BattleBlock Theater doesn’t do anything particularly new, but that’s perfectly okay, because everything it does do it does without a hitch to speak of.
  2. May 15, 2014
    90
    Fun, humorous and challenging. Battleblock is an excellent platforming game by The Behemoth team.
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    90
    An exceedingly charming package. [Aug 2014, p.79]
  4. May 15, 2014
    85
    As the landscape of these types of games becomes increasingly bigger, it’s nice to see a game strive so hard for innovation.
  5. May 16, 2014
    82
    A well made port for a multiplayer game that's still fun and very good looking.
  6. May 14, 2014
    80
    BattleBlock Theater’s second opening night (this time on PC,) is just as crude, unhinged and delightful as its first. Come for the platforming, stay for the absurdity.
  7. May 27, 2014
    80
    There isn’t a great deal of variety in the environments as they all tend to stick to the same techno-theatre setting, but there’s plenty of fun to be had with BattleBlock Theatre especially when playing with a friend.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    Incredible narration and fun puzzles. Solid and very memorable game that I didn't want to end. Much more fun cooperatively than it is singleIncredible narration and fun puzzles. Solid and very memorable game that I didn't want to end. Much more fun cooperatively than it is single player. Highly recommend this game. Expand
  2. May 31, 2014
    10
    One of the best games i played so far. from the same creator of castle crashers also one of my favorite games so much levels, each time moreOne of the best games i played so far. from the same creator of castle crashers also one of my favorite games so much levels, each time more surprises and more fun. Really recommend to buy this game! Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    “Get the best time and I’ll give you a kiss because I love you!” so says the narrator
    behemoth u hv created yet another master piece for
    “Get the best time and I’ll give you a kiss because I love you!” so says the narrator
    behemoth u hv created yet another master piece for gamers. alien homid, castle crashers, and now battle-block theater.
    personally i hate platformers to the core. i just cant stand them running jumping cloncky mechanics in some and sliding mechanics in others ewww.
    but battle block is somehow different is it the narrator or is it because i love behemoth games.
    battle block puts you through rage inducing heart aching, vein popping sitiuations (online mode).
    battleblock it just insanely fun but without a companion it can become dull. but thats like after you 14hous into the game so it doesnt effect the score at all. its just truly a great game all together. thanks for reading
    Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    First things first: this is one of the funniest games that you will ever play. And here's why; the narrator is absolutely out of his mind, theFirst things first: this is one of the funniest games that you will ever play. And here's why; the narrator is absolutely out of his mind, the plot consists of cats who have somehow taken prisoners, and you get the opportunity to change your character's face and color each and every time that you play. Now if that doesn't make you want this game then you should have your head checked immediately, because something just ain't right up there.

    Aside from the hilarious lines and the evil evil kitties, this game is a surprisingly fun platformer that will keep you entertained until the very end. The levels aren't long, but can get extremely frustrating from time to time, especially if you're trying to collect every gem. And even though there aren't any "bosses" in the game, the last level of every floor is timed, and can be pretty difficult to get through. All-in-all, if you're looking for a new platformer to sink your teeth in to, consider picking this game up as it's one of the best platformers on Steam.

    And if you don't, then you'd better watch your back, because the cats are surely coming for you. Oh yeah, and did I mention that the soundtrack is totally awesome? Because it is. And anyone who knows their platformers knows how incredibly important a killer soundtrack can be. What are you still doing here? Go! Now! Get this game!
    Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Very fun game, especially if you have someone to play with. It's even better if you play with 4 friends in battle mods.
    It's a puzzle game
    Very fun game, especially if you have someone to play with. It's even better if you play with 4 friends in battle mods.
    It's a puzzle game and the humor could give to you and your friends good laughs.
    Expand
  6. May 16, 2014
    7
    One of the best platformers since "Super Meat Boy" (Super Meat Boy is far better, though). Single player is a lot of fun, co-op is an entirelyOne of the best platformers since "Super Meat Boy" (Super Meat Boy is far better, though). Single player is a lot of fun, co-op is an entirely different experience (you don't just go through the single-player missions with a second player, you're given all-new challenges that require cooperation). The online Arena modes feel like a throwaway feature, which is how I felt about the non-story modes in "Castle Crashers", but opinions will vary here.

    Music is superb. The taunting narrator is a fun twist, but he does run out of things to say and quickly starts repeating himself. You can, however, disable the frequency of his comments, or turn him off entirely, through the "Options" menu.

    Controls fine on keyboard, but I've always felt these games are best with a gamepad.

    I wish these guys could release a game every couple of years (it's now been six years since the original release of "Castle Crashers" in 2008), but maybe the reason they don't is because they'd rather make inspired games than simply churn out something to keep their name in the industry.

    Two major drawbacks are the musical selection (there aren't that many tracks in the game, and they start repeating themselves very quickly), and the time it takes from confirming "Retry" to a mission resetting takes far too long for this kind of game. It also would've been a huge plus if they got the narrator voice actor to record even just 20 additional lines, as he starts repeating himself way too quickly as well.

    I got this game for $10 during the launch sale, and I highly recommend it at that price. It's no "Super Meat Boy", but I don't think we'll see a game that steals the throne for a long, long time.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    3
    Wow! I'm actually angered that people are comparing this to the likes of Super Meat Boy. This game doesn't even deserves to drink the meatWow! I'm actually angered that people are comparing this to the likes of Super Meat Boy. This game doesn't even deserves to drink the meat drippings left behind. This game is an overly bloated pile. I love 2D platformers, and for people to give this a 10, it's just a bad move. Get ShovelKnight and save our money. Castle Crashers was a deeply rich and amazingly fun game, this game is not. It's like a crap follow up to an epic album. The "platformer" feels wonky and it's just boring... very very boring. I made these thoughts in a Steam forum and I had a few people get mad at me, and even someone from the company addressed my concerns. I remember back when this game was in development way back in the day.... even bought a shirt... now that shirt will go to the Goodwill. Behemoth is better than this, this is a huge letdown. It tries to be funny, it's not... the characters have no soul and the story is incredibly uninteresting. Drop your Ambien and play this game instead if sleep is something you need. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews