User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. MalibuP.
    Jun 5, 2006
    4
    If you said to me, "there is an add-on for BF2, called Armored Fury!" I would say, "Great, more tanks, tank battles, anything but the over powered air assets!" Imagine my shock when you find there are no new tanks, no increased numebr of tanks on a map, and there are more planes, to destroy the one or two tanks on the map.
  2. MarekBiernacki
    Jun 7, 2006
    2
    This is an outrage im mean $9.99 for this, and everyone does not play on the same server, its stuid and pointless. COunterstrike:source is better in every way and so is call of duty 2
  3. AnonymousSoldier
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    This booster pack adds brand new maps and other content to BF2 for a quite cheap price of 10 bucks. I think it's a bargain if you like BF2 and want to play some new really well polished maps. Also some of the above reviews are actually factually incorrect. This is not a patch, the patch is given for free. And you don't need to buy this in order to keep playing BF2. But if you This booster pack adds brand new maps and other content to BF2 for a quite cheap price of 10 bucks. I think it's a bargain if you like BF2 and want to play some new really well polished maps. Also some of the above reviews are actually factually incorrect. This is not a patch, the patch is given for free. And you don't need to buy this in order to keep playing BF2. But if you want even MORE content for BF2, then you should buy this booster pack. I think it's a fair addition for the BF2 lovers, and even further expands an already massive game with the previous expansion and booster packs. Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Jun 8, 2006
    5
    I enjoyed 'special forces' a decent addition to BF2.. However I found myself drifting back to the standard game and associated servers... I was intrigued buy this add-on and looked forward to some mechanical based open ground battles... Sadly I
  5. TheFirst
    Jul 4, 2006
    8
    The addon is nice, being one of the first to play DCmod for Battlefield 1942, i've been aching to see a OH-6A Cauyse Or a AH-6J Little Bird. These are some of the fastest military helo's ever made. The addition of the A10 was welcome as well, although one downside was the size of the maps, they made me feel clausterphobic with being in such big aircraft and such a tiny map. I The addon is nice, being one of the first to play DCmod for Battlefield 1942, i've been aching to see a OH-6A Cauyse Or a AH-6J Little Bird. These are some of the fastest military helo's ever made. The addition of the A10 was welcome as well, although one downside was the size of the maps, they made me feel clausterphobic with being in such big aircraft and such a tiny map. I would highly recomend EA and dice to remake these maps so that they feel bigger. although being on the ground as apart of the infantry, the maps feel dense and crowded, as well as HUGE. I dont know how they should do it, but i hope the make more maps for Armored Fury. Expand
  6. PatrickH.
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    Its a waste of money. The best thing is the background music while loading maps. And after Patch 1.3 you cant play the game caused by so many bugs. The maps are not really good and fast you will et tired of it.
  7. PdDeshtch
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    Good to get new maps. It gives us time to play before all the loosers learn to exploit it and greef people. Some new ideas but not much. Its like that $5 hotdog at the ball park. $5 isn't really all that much money ... but for a hotdog that leaves you hungry after eating it.
  8. JoelR.
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    When Dice / EA announced that there were introducing all of these air vehicles but no new tanks or armor, I was worried that this would be another flyboy heaven, where the flyboys get to pound the tanks and infantry to smithereens as easy as pie. Well, it doesn't seem to be working out that way. AF booster pack seems very well balanced between armor, air power and infantry. Not all When Dice / EA announced that there were introducing all of these air vehicles but no new tanks or armor, I was worried that this would be another flyboy heaven, where the flyboys get to pound the tanks and infantry to smithereens as easy as pie. Well, it doesn't seem to be working out that way. AF booster pack seems very well balanced between armor, air power and infantry. Not all infantry kits are as useful as others (the anti-tank kit does very well, whereas the support and medic kits won't score you many points, to be sure). The maps are beautiful and seem to be very well designed. There are some choke points but nothing that cannot be worked around without too much effort. The extra ambience added into the maps (the lightning storm overhead in Operation Harvest, the sounds of the howling wolves and loons in Operation Midnight Sun) are terriffic. Racing a fast-moving jeep around the cloverleaf in Operation Road Rage is a real blast, too. If Battlefield 2 is getting a little stale for you, Armored Fury is a real breath of fresh air. Expand
  9. MrTAPE
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    Nothing really new except the heloes and planes for which one is regularly TK-d as was to be expected.. I was hoping for maps and number of vehicles to rival the brilliance of some DC (BF1942 mod) maps. Alas, there are too little armored vehicles to do the title of the booster pack justice. Having said that, the maps are nicely done, and for the sniper lovers, there are great open fields Nothing really new except the heloes and planes for which one is regularly TK-d as was to be expected.. I was hoping for maps and number of vehicles to rival the brilliance of some DC (BF1942 mod) maps. Alas, there are too little armored vehicles to do the title of the booster pack justice. Having said that, the maps are nicely done, and for the sniper lovers, there are great open fields and hidey holes. And you get a cool new car to roar around in ! For 10 bucks, not much to complain about, except that it should be free and included as a normal patch with bug fixes.. Expand
  10. WhyYouLoveMe
    Jun 7, 2006
    8
    Don't believe all the h4ters. If you would ACTUALLY review the content you might be able to provide some insight. The new A-10 (and the SU counterpart) is slow, powerful and fun to fly. It can be easily shot down so piloting requires new strategies to effectively bomb/destroy targets. The new scout choppers are easy to fly and very maneuverable. They have an attached UAV forDon't believe all the h4ters. If you would ACTUALLY review the content you might be able to provide some insight. The new A-10 (and the SU counterpart) is slow, powerful and fun to fly. It can be easily shot down so piloting requires new strategies to effectively bomb/destroy targets. The new scout choppers are easy to fly and very maneuverable. They have an attached UAV for making capping flags easier (especially with more than 1 soldier). The new maps are fantastic and offer differing styles of gameplay. Operation Harvest doesn't have any planes in it so the folks that have no skill shooting down a plane don't have to whine about it. Worth the money if you love BF2. Expand
  11. AdverseEffect
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    This is a solid addon for those of you who want to use new choppers and battle in American locales. Sure, it could have been included in the original release but as far as I'm concerned, compared to most games I've paod $50 for, Battlefield 2 has more than justified the procepoint and I have no problem adding more material to an awesome game for only $10.
  12. Shockz
    Jul 29, 2006
    8
    Not perfect, but worth shelling out 10 bucks for. Despite the title, there is very little focus on armor. Rather, the focus is more on air-power, which is somewhat more balanced--the three ground-attack planes are all much slower and more vulnerable to anti-air fire, while the scout choppers have a nice anti-infantry kick and UAV-style scanning, but have to keep moving in order to avoid Not perfect, but worth shelling out 10 bucks for. Despite the title, there is very little focus on armor. Rather, the focus is more on air-power, which is somewhat more balanced--the three ground-attack planes are all much slower and more vulnerable to anti-air fire, while the scout choppers have a nice anti-infantry kick and UAV-style scanning, but have to keep moving in order to avoid tank fire--a single blast of which will take out a scout chopper. As for the maps, Midnight Sun is pretty bad (most of the Chinese maps get screwed, I've noticed), Operation Road Rage is decent, and Operation Harvest is godly. I'm serious--this map has to be divinely inspired. It offers perfectly balanced air, armor, and infantry--there are no ground-attack planes, only scout choppers. There is plenty of cover for infantry to hide from scout chopper gatling gunfire and take out tanks. And tanks get a generally wide-open map perfect for exchanging fire with, well, other tanks. Again, perfectly balanced, and the most fun I've had on a BF2 map since Gulf of Oman. Like I said before, Armored Fury is well worth your $10. I review this independently of Patch 1.3, which, for better or for worse, is free and unrelated to AF. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jun 4, 2006
    0
    Definately a financial scam when a company is able to release what is essentially a patch and charge $9.99 for it. But since about half the gaming population will want it, the rest need to buy it to play on the current version. It's really unfair to the gamers (1 expansions pack and 2 "booster packs" in less than a year of release)... for shame.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Jun 6, 2006
    2
    I'm tired of all-armor expansions. The best levels in the basic game have limited or no armor. Why can't EA make more good infantry levels? BF2 is too often reduced to a rush for the armor and air power, followed by long, drawn-out massacres of infantry, making the game fun only for those who won the race to the armor.
  15. RobertB.
    Jun 6, 2006
    6
    This is essentially only a patch, it should have been free. But still, I love the maps (especially Operation Harvest - great defensive positions) and they definitely allow much more tactical play as opposed to the deathmatches I have seen in far too many servers recently. But when they add MORE planes to the already overpowered air, well... it just kind of gets sickening. I've This is essentially only a patch, it should have been free. But still, I love the maps (especially Operation Harvest - great defensive positions) and they definitely allow much more tactical play as opposed to the deathmatches I have seen in far too many servers recently. But when they add MORE planes to the already overpowered air, well... it just kind of gets sickening. I've actually died 20 times never encountering an enemy ground unit. Expand
  16. RogueDiamond
    Jul 11, 2006
    3
    Unfortunately, overall, the 3 new maps and few new aircraft do not feel like a product to be purchased, but rather a patch to be added. Even though the price is cheap, the overall value especially with the continuing glitches of the game makes it feel as if I am being scrubbed for just a bit more money. The maps themselves are pretty well designed and offer some new topography and Unfortunately, overall, the 3 new maps and few new aircraft do not feel like a product to be purchased, but rather a patch to be added. Even though the price is cheap, the overall value especially with the continuing glitches of the game makes it feel as if I am being scrubbed for just a bit more money. The maps themselves are pretty well designed and offer some new topography and strategies to play, of course, that is if you can find a server running the booster pack. No new armies and no new weapons feels like opportunity lost and over all, BF2 has not been functioning very well of late. Again, we are hoping that patch 1.4 will give us a base product that functions well. All that said I go back to the fact that the booster packs and their content feel like addendums to patches that should have been released to a community that has been more then patient waiting for a game to get all its kinks worked out. Had there been more content, even another army and some new infantry weapons it may have been worth it. Shame, because had they been given freely to the community a whole lot more people would be playing them. As someone else said above, I find myself returning to the base game for various reasons and my $ poorly spent. Expand
  17. JasonC.
    Jul 23, 2006
    1
    I feel as if I have been robbed. I unfortunately dropped $10 on this pile of crap called Armored Fury. The maps looked neat enough and I like A-10s, so it seemed like a win-win situation. Well, I was wrong. Sure the maps look great, but the gameplay isn't all that different from Battlefield 2; well, that is if you can play Armored Fury long enough! This game locks up my computer at I feel as if I have been robbed. I unfortunately dropped $10 on this pile of crap called Armored Fury. The maps looked neat enough and I like A-10s, so it seemed like a win-win situation. Well, I was wrong. Sure the maps look great, but the gameplay isn't all that different from Battlefield 2; well, that is if you can play Armored Fury long enough! This game locks up my computer at random. Sometimes I can manage to play nearly an hour, but more than often I cannot play longer than a few minutes without having to reboot my computer. And it's not just me, many others are having this problem too. My computer is perfectly within the recommended specifications to play this game, but it freezes anyway. Without the expansion installed, my game runs perfectly fine. I have contacted technical support and they refuse to acknowledge that anything is wrong. I really think EA knows the problem, but it appears they are doing very little about it because the 1.4 beta patches #1 and #2 do not solve the issue (and by the way, who releases BETA patches?! Lunacy I say!). In the end, even if you did get the game to work, you will likely be disappointed. It seems as though the A-10 has been nerfed to death and the new littlebird helicopter is extremely difficult to pilot. All this content really should have been free and also WITHOUT bugs! Expand
  18. Anonymous
    May 26, 2006
    5
    You know what, I just can't stand little booster packs. They don't do anything other then add a couple of good maps and items that SHOULD have been in Battlefield 2 in the first place. I call it the money-crank, and I'm going to say this. Rip off. For a game that STILL (about a year after release) to have a ton of bugs and to release a sub-expansion pack is a disgrace!
  19. PhilD.
    Sep 22, 2006
    7
    Battlefield 2 is great and Armored Fury just more to it, I play as much and as often as I can!
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Of the three maps, Operation Road Rage stands out the most since teams would be hectically fighting back-and-forth for the crucial center control point. However, if you're not a big fan of using aircraft in Battlefield 2, then this booster doesn't offer a huge amount.
  2. With some nice added content and balanced gameplay, Armored Fury is a nice booster pack for an already terrific game. Plus, at just 10 bucks, the price is certainly right for fans looking to add more substance.
  3. 80
    By presenting a slightly less intense version of the game, the cooperative mode makes it easier for less experienced players to jump in and see what all the fuss is about. At ten bucks, you can hardly complain.