Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. This close to Christmas, Special Forces is probably for the game’s most loyal fans only — the folk who have played it so much that they are already desperate for new features to layer upon their already intense online experiences.
  2. The game adds more of what Battlefield 2 fans liked from that game while adding enough factions, maps, vehicles, and weapons to make it a worthwhile purchase.
  3. These supermen are capable of feats ordinary Battlefield grunts could only dream of, wielding 12 new firearms and racing across eight huge new maps in 10 new vehicles. Them's a lot of numbers, but then this is definitely no ordinary game. [GamesMaster]
  4. One of the best FPS modern day war games to date, in my opinion. This expansion just adds to the realism allowing a more rounded arsenal and the use of some new tactics.
  5. The hottest online shooter is now better than ever. Do yourself a favor and experience it firsthand. [Feb 2006, p.110]
  6. If Digital Illusions could’ve ironed out some balancing issues and worked on the physics for the vehicles a little more, as well as denied the assault class a little bit of their overwhelming power, Special Forces would’ve probably been the best expansion pack to ever come straight out of a box without a patch or anything.
  7. Good enough to warrant purchase, but is it good enough to survive, unlike previous BF1942 add-ons? Climbing hook should appear in the basic game, too. [Jan 2006]
  8. Battles in Special Forces are more discreet and intense than they were in the original sequel. These wars are fought not by large armies but by squads of specially trained infantry using the latest in weapons and military technology.
  9. With its focus on infantry and urban combat, Special Forces delivers more of the intense and insanely fun Battlefield 2 gameplay; at least, it does if you can get it running.
  10. The new maps nicely supplement the old ones and the expansion adds plenty of mileage for fans of the game.
  11. A decent enough expansion that's worthy enough of the Battlefield name, while at the same time providing a different enough experience to avoid an overly familiar feeling.
  12. 80
    What you get with Special Forces boils down to a batch of maps (albeit well-designed ones), some slightly new weapons to choose from, and a few new vehicles. There is still only Assault: Conquest mode, which is largely why I don't recommend to those of you who didn't dig BF2.
  13. It’s all the little changes that make the game more enjoyable and more squad-friendly. A few of the armies are a bit repetitious, but the skins and voice work are unique enough to give each army an independent presence.
  14. If your only complaint about the core game was that it still seemed too quick, too "deathmatchy," then Special Forces is just the reinforcement the Commander ordered.
  15. What Special Forces lacks in innovation, it more than makes up for in new maps. [Mar 2006, p.50]
  16. Unacceptable bugs and slowdown detract from an otherwise great expansion pack. [Feb 2006, p.36]
  17. With a few technical issues aside, if you are a fan of Battlefield 2, you will still want to grab this expansion; if only for the new weapons, vehicles, and stuff to do.
  18. Feels more like a tacked-on "fix" for some issues than a true expansion.
  19. EA have, just as they did with "Battlefield 2," released an unfinished game full to the brim with bugs and annoyances.
  20. Effective, brutal and full of hard-as nails military posture, it's a decent expansion pack to one of the best games of the year.
  21. The game does little to add to the original title.
  22. We expect more for thirty dollars. We want loads of maps, more meaningful lighting, more classes, more new vehicles and maybe a play mode other than Conquest. It's probably worth another tour of duty, but we wouldn't rush to enlist.
  23. Players who've enjoyed the Battlefield franchise for its signature rollicking vehicular combat can skip this expansion altogether.
  24. 60
    The most astute comment I've heard about Battlefield 2 still applies to Special Forces: everything about it sucks except for the actual game.
  25. A few patches from fun. [Feb 2006, p.72]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Good expansion that added much and let gamers spend extra hours after each corner of 'Battlefield 2' was well known. I personally enjoyed russian military forces and of course a hook, that had changed perception of the maps and added extra strategy to the gameplay. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2010
    7
    I'd the latest game patches installed, but still no leaning left/right for this game. The goof is about attaching all those C4 explosives onto a quad/beach bike, then speed the bike all around the place, sharp brake it to a full stop right by one or two enemy vehicle(s) that has about 4 to 6 guys in it/them ... got off the quad/beach bike and quickly press the detonator button that's ready in hand ... BOOM! So easy for the expert difficulty mode, I really wished there's an option to assign more enemy bot numbers to the opposition army. The medic guy could drive me up the walls sometimes, the priority for the medic guy to rescue the down and injured first, regardless of how close the enemy is (like just few metres away), so in the end both the medic guy and the just saved player (after one resurrected by the medic guy) was gunned down altogether right after the medic guy saved a bot/player, should have made the medic guy more wiser and shoot the enemy if there's one nearby, or make some hot-keys (when down and injured, press either the keyboard key 1 to 3) so the downed player could order the medic guy to save/rescue the player or to shoot the enemy first. The mouse sensitivity couldn't be set higher for flying the choppers and jets, there are all sort of mice made all around the world, the sensitivity of my mouse are normal, but this game's flight-mouse sensitivity is not normal, I need to flung the wireless mouse off my desk to turn the F-15 Eagle jet around. It's hard to fly the F-15 at the pretty-above-and-near-take-off speed, as the mid-low flying speed could get the jet lost control and crash easily, there's no constant/fixed thrust rate for the afterburners by pressing the 1 to 9 keys on the keyboard, one needed to press and hold down the "W" key to make the jet accelerate and fly, you take a glimpse at the flying speed to the mid-left of the screen, the next thing you know was that you almost flew out of the small fly zone or missed the bombing target! Yes, flying the chopper needed a joystick, or else you could barely aim at a target or fly low enough to dodge some rockets. Full Review »
  3. Paul
    Sep 24, 2007
    4
    Well, it's a real shame that once again hackers/cheaters have gotten their hands on this one too. ANYONE who opposes the fact is a cheating loser as well. And to think that these a**holes actually "think" they have any skills whatsoever. NO...YOU ARE NOT ANY GOOD AT ALL. I mean being shot with a silenced 9mm from 200 yds?...ROTFLMAO! The accuracy in this game is already bad enough, but to cheat for stats? Is nothing sacred for those who like fairplay and sportsmanship anymore? Like I said, oppose this and you're a contributing cheat...and ALSO like I said YOU HAVE NO SKILLS STATPADDER good for nothings. Game could have been real great but Punkbuster comes up short. Still unplayable almost due to punks. If you are mature, you realize death is gonna' come for you in this game...plenty. But you guys with major points for nothing, 1 mile kills with a pistol, and shooting through walls all while going undetected is a laugh. You are only good in your own mind, some of us like the satisfaction of actually EARNING our merits. Thanks and good luck and good fortune to all of you who are honest in life's different endeavours and.....GAMES!! :D Full Review »