Battlefield 2: Special Forces Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Battlefield 2: Special Forces, players will choose to fight as one of 6 different Special Forces soldiers – Navy SEALs, British SAS, Russian Spetznas, MEC Special Forces, Rebel groups and insurgents. Armed with the latest Special Forces weaponry, players can take control of any of the game’s 10 new vehicles to engage in major conflicts with up to 64 players. Additionally, persistent character growth allows players to continue to rise through the ranks. Battlefield 2 Special Forces takes the intensity and quality of Battlefield 2 behind the scenes of news headlines, showcasing the most elite and deadly forces in the modern military world. Using accurate Special Forces weapons, gadgets, and vehicles, these covert armies battle to control key military and strategic locations. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. This close to Christmas, Special Forces is probably for the game’s most loyal fans only — the folk who have played it so much that they are already desperate for new features to layer upon their already intense online experiences.
  2. One of the best FPS modern day war games to date, in my opinion. This expansion just adds to the realism allowing a more rounded arsenal and the use of some new tactics.
  3. Good enough to warrant purchase, but is it good enough to survive, unlike previous BF1942 add-ons? Climbing hook should appear in the basic game, too. [Jan 2006]
  4. It’s all the little changes that make the game more enjoyable and more squad-friendly. A few of the armies are a bit repetitious, but the skins and voice work are unique enough to give each army an independent presence.
  5. Unacceptable bugs and slowdown detract from an otherwise great expansion pack. [Feb 2006, p.36]
  6. EA have, just as they did with "Battlefield 2," released an unfinished game full to the brim with bugs and annoyances.
  7. A few patches from fun. [Feb 2006, p.72]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. AnthonyB.
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    This is the best online game I've ever played. Can't stop playing it. A few bugs distract but don't take away from the game play.
  2. JesseC.
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    Special Forces adds extremely exciting elements to an already awesome multiplayer game. Bugs and glitches aside, you are missing out if you don't get this game. Wait for a patch for Special Forces, but I haven't even seen too many bugs on my version. No problems installing, never any server troubles either! Expand
  3. EvanP.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Adds so much to the gameplay. The new maps are amazing and add great close quarters combat as well as some long open areas for sniping. Like the new crossbow zipline addition and absolutely love the grappling hook that allows you to go anywhere you possibly could ever want. Would have liked possibly adding another type of gameplay other than conquest. Overall it is still a great addition to the already great Battlefield 2. Just to everyone who gives it a horrible score just because it doesn't work on their crappy computer, please don't rate it if you haven't played it because if you actually had the computer to play it you'd see how great this game is. When everyone finally gets the good computer to run this they will be amazed how good it was especially for being released over a year ago. Collapse
  4. Al
    Dec 29, 2005
    8
    If you realy must have it, go for it. Otherwise, stick with the original BF2. I gues that new maps and new units make the original a bit expandable if you get bored playing original maps all the time. However, I dont think we need to pay $30 to only experiance new maps. It seems like something EA has already had in the bag during the release of the BF2, but decided to release as an expansion for the xmas shopping. I must say I expected more realistic enviroment, something like the American Army Spec Ops game. As always try before you buy... Expand
  5. JamesH.
    Dec 4, 2005
    7
    Like the expansion because of the new maps mostly, but the new forces and weapons are a plus also. However I agree a great deal with what Jimbo S. posted: it's the same old "take the flag" shtick. The flag opton could remain, bu why not alternate obejctives, like blowing something up or rescuing hostages? You know, the kind of ops that real special forces do? I also think that this expansion, along with the core game, are horrenduously flawed. The periods where one can't logon to even play the game still persist as well as mundane flaws like being kicked for teamkilling when such an offense was not committed. Also, being a former Marine, I can attest to the games striking lack of realism with respect to the USMC. We did not have "medics", the Army has those, we have Navy Corpsman. Also, the spec ops kit is obviously modelled after Delta Force, which a division of the Army. We have Recon and Force Recon, which should have been the spec ops kit. Also, the sniper weapon unlock, the Barrett sniper rifle, should not take more than one shot to kill. It's a FIFTY caliber weapon, that's a half-inch thick bullet, which would dismember a person who is shot with it, for which reason it is ONLY an anti-vehicle weapon. Expand
  6. DomH.
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    The rating is simple: For gameplay and fun level this game earns a resounding 10 that is if it works, which is hardly ever a trait that earns it a 0 but..... this is about the quality of the game not the frequency of issues so i cannot blank the original 10 out of the rating this gets a 5, which is still not good, but what do you expect when you unleash bug heaven. Expand
  7. TW
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    Do not let the Electronic Arts employees and fanboys who post 9s and 10s on here (and who know little to nothing of software design) fool you - this game is -garbage-. In BF2 you get a game that is far more feature-SHALLOW than the orginal. Fewer features, much poorer play-balancing, and virtually no challenge (unless you are a diehard conqeust-only player). I purchased the original BF2 and had to deal with EA's virtually non-existent tech support while trying to get the game to run on my computer. Once it was installed and actaully working (poorly) I spent the next two weeks constantly enduring helecopters gunning me down while they were taking *multiple* tank gun hits - that's balanced? The expansion has done nothing to address this, or the multitude of other problems that make this game more aggrivating than enjoyable to play. This 'expansion' essentially amounts to a map pack that costs you $30 - meanwhile the original game has been released for five months and virtually none of the bugs that were in the game since day one have been address by any of the three 'patches' EA has released. This is corporate greed at it's worst. My suggestion to you is try and play this on some poor slob's computer who has already been fleeced for the $30 cost of the expansion and see for yourself before you buy. After an hour or two of dealing with all of the above irritations you'll be throwing -his- copy of the game in the trash - and I think you'll agree that you're better off saving your money. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews