User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 905 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 905
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Wolf-
    Jul 14, 2005
    4
    Great idea, bad implementations. The game is more or less unplayable in multiplayer due to the fact that you can't connect to any servers. The key-binding and the menues for otimising and change settingd for your game is horrible examples on how not to do it. When you finally get to play the game it is fun and cool and everything, but all the hassle in getting there is detracting Great idea, bad implementations. The game is more or less unplayable in multiplayer due to the fact that you can't connect to any servers. The key-binding and the menues for otimising and change settingd for your game is horrible examples on how not to do it. When you finally get to play the game it is fun and cool and everything, but all the hassle in getting there is detracting ALOT from this game. Patch it, and patch it now! Expand
  2. BlahB.
    Aug 6, 2005
    0
    Buggiest game of all time. I found the demo to be quite fun, I bought the full retail version and It was, and still is totally un playable. This game is a huge system hog, and runs awfully on my 2.6@2.86ghz 1gig of pc3200 lowered timing ram 9800 XT 75% of the time I have played this game have been wasted by crashes, system lockups and major graphical errors. This game is a conspiracy Buggiest game of all time. I found the demo to be quite fun, I bought the full retail version and It was, and still is totally un playable. This game is a huge system hog, and runs awfully on my 2.6@2.86ghz 1gig of pc3200 lowered timing ram 9800 XT 75% of the time I have played this game have been wasted by crashes, system lockups and major graphical errors. This game is a conspiracy between Nvidia ad EA games, if your system dosn't run an nvidia graphics card, this game is not playable. I give this game my TOTAL SUCK award. Expand
  3. MickN.
    Sep 18, 2005
    4
    I don't get the appeal of the BF series of games. Engagement ranges are far too close, so that you get a bunch of people circle strafing and leaping 5 feet into the air. Who knew military types had such well developed calf muscles? Weapons ballistics are a joke. Bullet flight times are far too slow and the damage they do is ludacriously underpowered. By contrast, air power is I don't get the appeal of the BF series of games. Engagement ranges are far too close, so that you get a bunch of people circle strafing and leaping 5 feet into the air. Who knew military types had such well developed calf muscles? Weapons ballistics are a joke. Bullet flight times are far too slow and the damage they do is ludacriously underpowered. By contrast, air power is insanely powerful. The jets and helos don't even have to land to refuel or re-arm, they just skim over their runways and magically get reloaded and repaired so that they can rain more bombs down and totally throw off play balance. As the maps are so small, a jet can cover the entire distance of a map in about 15 seconds. this means that they are practically indestructable. Add to that the fact that the game's map load times are 2-3 minutes, that the rankings system is buggy, and that the community seems to consist of team killing 15 year olds and this game gets a 4. Expand
  4. Thosa
    May 23, 2006
    0
    I played on LAN and even then there were REALLY BAD lag spikes. also it is really stupid how you have to be signed in to an account to play- waht happens if their server goes down?? the vehicles are also completely unbalanced, you can drive/fly around in a tank/plane/chopper for ever and you will never run out of fuel. also you will never die unless you come across another I played on LAN and even then there were REALLY BAD lag spikes. also it is really stupid how you have to be signed in to an account to play- waht happens if their server goes down?? the vehicles are also completely unbalanced, you can drive/fly around in a tank/plane/chopper for ever and you will never run out of fuel. also you will never die unless you come across another tank/plane/chopper. basically if your not in a vehicle or you are not camping hard (doing nothing of course because everybody else is also camping or in vehivles) you die. one rocket should be able to take out a tank or at least immobilise it so you could run up and throw nades down hatch, etc. This game does not deserve to be called an FPS as hardly any of it is shooting. its all about flying/driving around and just shelling/bombing the crap out of anything that moves. Expand
  5. MichaelB.
    Jun 28, 2005
    0
    This game would be absolutely amazing, but it has so many bugs that it's practically unplayable. If I could do it over I'd have waited until at least the 2nd or 3rd patch to play it.
  6. Brian
    Dec 4, 2006
    4
    Theres a few bugs but its an ok game. The biggest downfall is there is no wide screen support. They are not with the times. they say its an advantage to over players. But thats bull. Anything can be an advantage.
  7. PhilK.
    Mar 26, 2006
    4
    Riddled with problems, including long loading times, unreliable server connections, crashing to desktop, stupidly long weapon reloading animations that cancel the reload if you change weapon before it's finished, poor weapon accuracy, unbalanced weapon power, poor vehicle physics (tiny trees or other insignificant obstacles will stop a tank or APC dead in its tracks and cause highly Riddled with problems, including long loading times, unreliable server connections, crashing to desktop, stupidly long weapon reloading animations that cancel the reload if you change weapon before it's finished, poor weapon accuracy, unbalanced weapon power, poor vehicle physics (tiny trees or other insignificant obstacles will stop a tank or APC dead in its tracks and cause highly unrealistic amounts of damage), extremely unfair spawning behaviour which usually means you get shelled to death as soon as you spawn, most maps are strongly biased for skilled chopper/jet pilots whereas the infantry combat is woefully lacking and based more on luck than skill. I could go on. How much time have you got? Expand
  8. Thosa
    May 18, 2006
    1
    I played on LAN and even then there were REALLY BAD lag spikes. also it is really stupid how you have to be signed in to an account to play- waht happens if their server goes down?? the vehicles are also completely unbalanced, you can drive/fly around in a tank/plane/chopper for ever and you will never run out of fuel. also you will never die unless you come across another I played on LAN and even then there were REALLY BAD lag spikes. also it is really stupid how you have to be signed in to an account to play- waht happens if their server goes down?? the vehicles are also completely unbalanced, you can drive/fly around in a tank/plane/chopper for ever and you will never run out of fuel. also you will never die unless you come across another tank/plane/chopper. basically if your not in a vehicle or you are not camping hard (doing nothing of course because everybody else is also camping or in vehivles) you die. one rocket should be able to take out a tank or at least immobilise it so you could run up and throw nades down hatch, etc. This game does not deserve to be called an FPS as hardly any of it is shooting. its all about flying/driving around and just shelling/bombing the crap out of anything that moves. Expand
  9. MerrittL.
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    THE WORST GAME EXPERIENCE EVER. Heres my experience with the game. Downloaded demo, liked it. Spent $30. Installed on my 2.4ghz x850radeon 1gig ram computer. Game started up, decided not to play just yet. 1 hour later i try to get it to run it and low and behold it wont start up! spend the next 15 hours trying to fix. attempt to reach EAs technical support only to find out that it is just THE WORST GAME EXPERIENCE EVER. Heres my experience with the game. Downloaded demo, liked it. Spent $30. Installed on my 2.4ghz x850radeon 1gig ram computer. Game started up, decided not to play just yet. 1 hour later i try to get it to run it and low and behold it wont start up! spend the next 15 hours trying to fix. attempt to reach EAs technical support only to find out that it is just an email system - thats not technical support, its an excuse. THE WORST VIDEO GAME EXPERIENCE EVER. This problem has happened to alot of people but EA has not fixed it. They only care about making a release date and delivering a well marketed piece of crap. The game itself, is good. IF your computer is gonna run this buggy excuse for entertainment. My computer now runs slower for some reason ever since the incident, all thanks to ea. THIS GAME SUCKS. Expand
  10. ChrisW.
    Sep 6, 2005
    4
    Well, after all the hype I was bitterly let down by this title. Totally hyped as game of the year by EA but all I was met with was bug after bug, lag after lag. I have a very good PC and looking forward to its release, poor show by EA. As is any other EA franchise game, it lacks quality but what you lack in quality you get in quantity. The game has a vast array of in depth modern military Well, after all the hype I was bitterly let down by this title. Totally hyped as game of the year by EA but all I was met with was bug after bug, lag after lag. I have a very good PC and looking forward to its release, poor show by EA. As is any other EA franchise game, it lacks quality but what you lack in quality you get in quantity. The game has a vast array of in depth modern military equipment. But how can I summarise this game in a sentence... Battlefield: Vietnam meets modern warfare....Total Farce! Expand
  11. T.W.
    Jul 1, 2005
    4
    Aside from the plethora of menu problems mentioned by other users already (which are just as annoying as the other users say they are), I found random crashes to desktop a persistent problem on three completely different PCs with three seperate copies of this game (mine, and my two roommates). The fact that people call this game 'realistic' makes me gag. If you set all the Aside from the plethora of menu problems mentioned by other users already (which are just as annoying as the other users say they are), I found random crashes to desktop a persistent problem on three completely different PCs with three seperate copies of this game (mine, and my two roommates). The fact that people call this game 'realistic' makes me gag. If you set all the settings on high, it does look very pretty. But that's not realism. Realism is scoring a kill when you hit a guy in the head with a burst from a SAW - not knocking his helmet off. The damage models don't need to completely mirror reality - but if you beat an opponent to the draw and place your shot accurately on a lethal part of the body - they should die. In BF2 you can stand behind someone an arm's length away, hit them with three shot bursts from an M16 and watch them casually rotate around (while you put more bursts into their body) and return fire. Expand
  12. JohnD.
    Jul 19, 2005
    4
    This is anohter craptacular proof that we are freakin' testers. Server connectivity is a real issue in this game, they will tell you that it'll be fixed, which is true, but what in 2 and a half year? If they decide that th egame is not supported anymore and that the Account Servers (Painfully slow as they are) will be decomissioned within the next few weeks. Then you'll This is anohter craptacular proof that we are freakin' testers. Server connectivity is a real issue in this game, they will tell you that it'll be fixed, which is true, but what in 2 and a half year? If they decide that th egame is not supported anymore and that the Account Servers (Painfully slow as they are) will be decomissioned within the next few weeks. Then you'll understand what way it is meant to be played. Overall graphich experience is good, the game has huge potential, but still, the "only starting online Game effect kind of disappoints me :( Expand
  13. CWRosenburg
    Jul 31, 2005
    4
    The single player stuff is fun to play, graphically excellent, matches up with that mod for half-life way back when. The online/multiplayer - I'm just not into it. Keeps rebooting or kicking me off line. I'm not a big fan of online games anyway. Why bother?
  14. Cray
    Jul 7, 2005
    2
    To enjoy Battlefield 2, you have to find a game to join. The interface that lets you find a game is so crude and full of bugs that finding a decent game to play in becomes a painful and drawn-out task. The game itself could be the greatest game in the world (its not, not even close), but the game finding/joining interface is so bad that the overall combination is unplayably bad.
  15. JamieC.
    Jul 1, 2005
    4
    What happened? There are no naval battles because there are no longer any ships. There are no gameplay variations other than conquest because CTF and other modes have been inexplicably dropped. They've also dropped the large, open desert maps in favour of more confined environments most of which encourage the same kind of guerrilla fighting. The addition of the Commander might seem What happened? There are no naval battles because there are no longer any ships. There are no gameplay variations other than conquest because CTF and other modes have been inexplicably dropped. They've also dropped the large, open desert maps in favour of more confined environments most of which encourage the same kind of guerrilla fighting. The addition of the Commander might seem like a neat idea, but his ability to track enemy units and shell them with artillery means even a lone sniper, hidden in grass and on the very edge of a map, can be pinpointed and bumped off without anyone ever seeing him. The addition of weapon unlocks seems like a good idea, but it renders casual players ineffective against the hard core - the hard core have played long enough to get better guns. In short then, largely disappointing. Expand
  16. WesleyV.
    Jun 3, 2006
    2
    Very nice game
  17. CoreyS.
    Jul 9, 2005
    4
    Totally umfinished. Constant crashing to desktop. Buggiest game I've played in at least two years.
  18. ZackO.
    Aug 13, 2005
    3
    The game could be fun and engrossing...if it actually worked half of the time. Succesfully joining a game, not having a rediculous amount of lag to the point where you move every two seconds, and not having the game crash randomly is half of the battle. literally. For people who dont have the most up to date computers in the world, the game is a gigantic letdown. I Bought my Dell The game could be fun and engrossing...if it actually worked half of the time. Succesfully joining a game, not having a rediculous amount of lag to the point where you move every two seconds, and not having the game crash randomly is half of the battle. literally. For people who dont have the most up to date computers in the world, the game is a gigantic letdown. I Bought my Dell Dimension Desktop last december, making it relatively new with a good graphics card, and i am only able to run this piece-of-crap game on Low graphics and detail. Unless you have a state of the art computer, this game looks and plays like a game made in 1998. In addition to the inability to play the game half of the time, the stat tracking crashes often, erasing my stats. Usually it takes days to even update my stats. I have a superfast internet connection that has no problems with any other programs except this one. Im glad that EA decided to release this "game" about 6 months before it should be completed and released. This is more of a beta version of the game than the actual game. Crappy production, ridiculous system requirements, little or no team work most of the time, many bugs, and an AWESOME concept that simply isnt finished, give this game a three out of 10 in my book. My only hope is that the promised patch will magically fix all of these problems, but my hopes arent high. The first two patches only made the game worse. What i really cant understand is why all the reviewers praise it so much. What they must realize is that not everyone has state of the art computers like them. The only review that relates to what i have said is the Review by Gameshark. They havent been brainwashed by all the hype that this game got before its release. Expand
  19. ScottZ.
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    Could be a great game but.......... The small arms fire is rediculous. Its all about luck because of the random bullet spread. Yes automatic weapons have recoil but it can be controled. Yet in this game the bullets go everywhich way but where your aiming. There is no predictable recoil to compensate for. So your better off just holding the trigger and praying. I guess thats how they chose Could be a great game but.......... The small arms fire is rediculous. Its all about luck because of the random bullet spread. Yes automatic weapons have recoil but it can be controled. Yet in this game the bullets go everywhich way but where your aiming. There is no predictable recoil to compensate for. So your better off just holding the trigger and praying. I guess thats how they chose to balance it for the children that cant aim. In fact it gives sum1 that sucks an advantage because since the bullets dont hit where the crosshairs are held, those that acutally aim dead on will miss. If you panic and just spray back and forth like a little kid your more likely to get a hit. The sniper rilfes arent 1 shot killers, pathetic. I'm sorry but if a .50 cal BMG round hits ANY part of a human body it will kill you outright. The hydraulic shock from the impact sends a shockwave through you (like the ripples on a pond after dropping a stone) that tears organs and pops blood vesals. Have you ever heard a vet say "Well after I was hit by the .50 I......." ? didnt think so. A sniper is one of the most feared weapons on the battlefield and rightfully so. I know alot of gamers hate snipers so the designers take away their effectiveness, instead they should limit the number of sniper rilfes just like the tanks/choppers. But thats just my opinion. Expand
  20. JoeB.
    Aug 8, 2005
    3
    No coop support, very buggy. This is a late beta release, this game is not near complete. Caveat Emptor...
  21. Dec 29, 2010
    1
    If you're considering giving it a shot you're way too late, the old crowd has all the old weapons, the experience, the map knowledge and the cowardice that makes them sprint for Vehicles, you will pretty much never be in a straight up fight and when you are more than likely you'll be ambushed and downed in seconds or the other way around.

    Vehicles are also hilariously over powered,
    If you're considering giving it a shot you're way too late, the old crowd has all the old weapons, the experience, the map knowledge and the cowardice that makes them sprint for Vehicles, you will pretty much never be in a straight up fight and when you are more than likely you'll be ambushed and downed in seconds or the other way around.

    Vehicles are also hilariously over powered, tracking flying opponents with stationary guns is difficult to say the least and they often have some magical ability to know the EXACT gun which has a lock on them. Tanks will easily gun you down, APCs blow you to hell, Jeeps and buggies will come out of no where.

    Maps are so huge that often battles become rolls, one team will gain momentum and just wont stop or the defenders will not budge, one map in particular of the Americans having to do amphibious assualt against the chinese is pretty much impossible for the yanks as you cannot get to the shore there are too many emplacements and the reliance on slow APCs or boats makes you cannon fodder.

    In conclusion, buggy, unbalanced, actual combat between people is always amazingly ungratifying, short and boring while maps can either be unbalanced rolls or too big for you to see anything. Oh and spawn camping.
    Expand
  22. TimothyS.
    Oct 6, 2005
    1
    There is only 7 words to describe this game... There is a problem with your connection. ArrRGGh!
  23. J.White
    Jul 1, 2005
    2
    The fact that 'trusted' game reviewers like Game Spot and IGN rate a game like BF2 so highly makes me cringe. The game isn't bad. Aside from some crazy damage modeling issues - playing the game is fine (though the lack of a bot option to fill servers so we don't spent twenty minutes waiting for enough players to join the server should be REQUIRED). The problem is all The fact that 'trusted' game reviewers like Game Spot and IGN rate a game like BF2 so highly makes me cringe. The game isn't bad. Aside from some crazy damage modeling issues - playing the game is fine (though the lack of a bot option to fill servers so we don't spent twenty minutes waiting for enough players to join the server should be REQUIRED). The problem is all the endless bugs that plague this game. I 'played' this game for four hours last night with four friends who purchased the game, and over 2.5 hours were spent trying to get all of us onto a ranked server, then trying to find one with decent lag levels, and once we were all on and playing - the random crashes that would hit each of us every so often pretty much required us to start the entire process over again. Getting more than one person onto a ranked server is, as has already been mentioned by other people here, nearly *impossible*! Game reviewer are either in the pockets of big game companies like EA, or have no business reviewing video games when they rate a game so incredibly bug-prone as a 8 or 9 out of 10, or an 80 or 90 out of 100. It's misleading, and dishonest. A word of warning to all potential players/purchasers of this game - wait at least two to three months before you consider buying this game. By then, it may be out of beta testing (we who purchased this game when it was released are essentially the real BF2 beta testers) and only purhcase it at that time if the patch notes for this game are sufficiently long, and detailed. As for the five of us, we're going to try returing our copies of the game this weekend. I'll pick it up when it's in the $10.00 bargain bin next summer - if they've patched it enough to make it worth spending the $10. Expand
  24. Warren
    Sep 25, 2005
    0
    I bought this game so I could play it onlne with my bro-in-law and a few other friends. installing it was a pain in the A$$, but I worked through it. after playing it for a while, my stats stopped registering. After dealing with EA Games tech support, unistaling and reinstaling the game, disabling my firewall, and everything else I could think of, I got no results. All of this after I bought this game so I could play it onlne with my bro-in-law and a few other friends. installing it was a pain in the A$$, but I worked through it. after playing it for a while, my stats stopped registering. After dealing with EA Games tech support, unistaling and reinstaling the game, disabling my firewall, and everything else I could think of, I got no results. All of this after spending more than $300.00 to update my machine. Think I'll stick with Valve games. Expand
  25. Bas
    Jun 25, 2005
    4
    At the moment, the current version (no patches have been released yet), sucks. Hard. Really, really hard. Why? No bots in multiplayer. Singleplayer only supports you and 15 bots, while multiplayer supports 64 people. Weird crashes. The fact that the graphics look like ass when compared to a title like Half-Life 2, yet still manage to run at a choppier framerate then HL2. Crashes to your At the moment, the current version (no patches have been released yet), sucks. Hard. Really, really hard. Why? No bots in multiplayer. Singleplayer only supports you and 15 bots, while multiplayer supports 64 people. Weird crashes. The fact that the graphics look like ass when compared to a title like Half-Life 2, yet still manage to run at a choppier framerate then HL2. Crashes to your desktop. Server browser doesn't support favorites, and most servers lag. The few that don't lag are always full. Always. Always. This game is not enjoyable in it's current form, and should be avoided until EA releases some patches to fix the problems that could have easily been solved while in development. Expand
  26. DougD.
    Jun 28, 2005
    3
    Terrible gameplay with pretty visuals. The bullets in this game might as well be Nerf because if you ae not in a vehicle or bunnyhopping around, you're dead.
  27. FrankL.
    Jul 5, 2005
    1
    Piss poor effort from EA and DICE. I was alerted when the instructions said to look for the CD key in the wrong place, and the onscreen instructions told me to insert the wrong CD to play. Then you find all the other duplicative and contradicting documentation and menus. Tell me this is not indicative of sloppy and rushed production. I won't repeat all the notable game play issues. Piss poor effort from EA and DICE. I was alerted when the instructions said to look for the CD key in the wrong place, and the onscreen instructions told me to insert the wrong CD to play. Then you find all the other duplicative and contradicting documentation and menus. Tell me this is not indicative of sloppy and rushed production. I won't repeat all the notable game play issues. Patches may catch up with this halfbaked release. Like other reviewers I'd return the POS, cept I got it for free from Best Buy when buying a new 256 MB Nvidia card. So FU EA and Dice lol. Expand
  28. S.D.
    Apr 26, 2007
    4
    Could've been good. Ruined by the people who play it and by the horrendous lag.
  29. NanopN.
    Aug 27, 2005
    2
    Whats this game???? Its awful!!!. bugs all the time. bah!
  30. BobK.
    Jul 26, 2005
    3
    Buggiest game - evarrrrrrrrrrr.
  31. May 11, 2012
    0
    Out of desire to play a Battlefield game before regenerating health plagued the series and simultaneously wanting something that would run well on my laptop, I decided to pick up this old gem. The install process is long and tedious, more so than it really should have been. Messing with options works nicely... except for control configuration. Rather than removing an old keybind when youOut of desire to play a Battlefield game before regenerating health plagued the series and simultaneously wanting something that would run well on my laptop, I decided to pick up this old gem. The install process is long and tedious, more so than it really should have been. Messing with options works nicely... except for control configuration. Rather than removing an old keybind when you choose to bind a key to a new function, it just tells you you can't bind it. A bit annoying, but doable... unless you want to bind left shift to anything, of course. No matter what, it tells you it's bound to something in helicopter controls (despite checking multiple times and seeing no such thing), so so much for my preferred crouch key.

    Widescreen support out of the box is non-existent or poor, and the 1.5 patch doesn't do much to fix it. The third party Widescreen Fixer program is practically necessary for a reasonable FOV.

    Another problem one is bound to run into is lack of server choice. This is to be expected in such an old game with many sequels released after it, but at this point it's not worth it at all to get anything more than the base game. Special Forces is completely empty aside from a few "server padding" bots (the sort that are in servers but don't spawn in or play, just sit there to inflate player count), and the other two expansions come free with patch 1.5. The remaining servers lack in variety, with very few non-"24/7 [map]" servers left, and unless you're lucky (unlike me) or have a group of friends to hop into servers with, you're likely to have a frustrating experience due to lack of players willing to go for the objectives and such. On a related note, many of the small number of servers left have rules that can be seen as ridiculous and unreasonable, so watch out for that.

    The balance is definitely lacking in the game as well. Infantry weapon-wise, it seems alright aside from LMGs that aren't the RPK having horrendous accuracy no matter what and grenades being far too "spammy". Air vehicles are wholly unbalanced against anything else, as they have a fairly easy time dodging any anti-air fire and ONE missile fired from an applicable aircraft is enough to destroy even a tank in one hit, without anything capable of doing the same against the air vehicles. Gunner beware, a single machine gun bullet from any aircraft hitting anywhere on a land vehicle seems to be enough to kill you.

    Relating to the last point, the accuracy of some of these pilots and chopper gunners is pretty questionable. I wouldn't be surprised if there were some aircraft aim-hack floating around that bypasses punkbuster seemingly flawlessly.

    Overall, despite how underwhelming my skill (and luck) at the game is and bad experiences all around, I'm likely to reinstall and play it again at some point.
    Expand
  32. Mar 19, 2012
    2
    Dont buy it. It a great game sure .. IF you can play it. You gone wast time and get super Pissed off with all the punkbuster failing, connection problems, cd key gone missing. Maybe you get lucky and every thing works fine at first but there will be a moment is gone fail on you, its just a mater of when.
  33. Jan 7, 2013
    2
    Battlefield 2 is a good game,very fun with mods,is a awesome war game,but there it's just unplayable,the gun spread goes everywhere,units in the game could survive about 15+ G36C (or what gun is it) without getting a single hitmarker. Unplayable,do not buy
  34. Jun 20, 2017
    0
    This was one of the worst BF games, I decided to go back and play it again for old time sake and the game has aged poorly, now I noticed how inaccurate the rifles are; how useless the AI is. Capturing enemy outposts is often deadly due to insta-death rocket barrages which you can't dodge, evade or hide from...even if you're in a building apparently..

    Honestly, Battlefield 1942 is
    This was one of the worst BF games, I decided to go back and play it again for old time sake and the game has aged poorly, now I noticed how inaccurate the rifles are; how useless the AI is. Capturing enemy outposts is often deadly due to insta-death rocket barrages which you can't dodge, evade or hide from...even if you're in a building apparently..

    Honestly, Battlefield 1942 is twice the game this is, even now BF1942 still has good replayability. This game is a stinker, and judging by the reviews - paid reviews was a problem back in 2005.
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    Once you strap into an F/A-18 and rocket over the landscape, once you're crouched next to a tank trying valiantly to repair it while bullets ping off of the armor inches above your head, once you defend a waypoint and ask for new orders from your commander over the radio, all of those nitpicks about map balance or sniper power fade.
  2. 100
    With incredible communication tools, top-notch visuals, and a fantastic balance of vehicles and classes, EA has won the battle and the war of online team-based shooters.
  3. 89
    The thing to remember about Battlefield 2 is that it's exceptionally fun.