Battlefield 2142 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2142, and the dawn of a new Ice age has thrown the world into a panic. The math is simple and brutal: The soil not covered by ice can only feed a fraction of the Earth's population. Some will live, most will die. In Battlefield 2142, players choose to fight for one of twoThe year is 2142, and the dawn of a new Ice age has thrown the world into a panic. The math is simple and brutal: The soil not covered by ice can only feed a fraction of the Earth's population. Some will live, most will die. In Battlefield 2142, players choose to fight for one of two military superpowers in an epic battle for survival, the European Union or the newly formed Pan Asian Coalition. Armed with a devastating arsenal of hi-tech assault rifles, cloaking devices and sentry guns, players also do battle using some of the most imposing vehicles known to man. Massive battle Mechs wage fierce combat on the ground, while futuristic aircraft rule the skies. When facing one of these new behemoths, players need to use their wits and an arsenal of new countermeasures like EMP grenades to level the playing field. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Battlefield 2142 delivers a sci-fi themed experience using the familiar Battlefield style. While the setting may have changed a bit, the overall gameplay hasn't.
  2. A great game. However, it isn’t as big of an improvement as "Battlefield 2" was over "Battlefield 1942." The new ranking system and unlocks will definitely keep fans of the series coming back for more.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    85
    A solid multiplayer game just like its predecessors. The new Titan mode is a lot of fun but sometimes it suffers from severe lag issues. The large amount of unlocks is both a blessing and a curse. [Dec 2006, p.82]
  4. This is definitely a case of evolution over revolution and, although the franchise makes a confident leap into the future, 2142's engine and gameplay are firmly rooted in the past. The action is still fast and frantic, the warfare is epic and exciting and the loading times remain as excruciating as ever.
  5. 80
    Ultimately, Battlefield 2142 is a game for the hardcore player. If you've logged endless hours into Battlefield 2, you're going to love the new class tweaks and you'll probably have half of the unlocks within the first week.
  6. PC Format
    78
    Such ordinariness only reinforces the nagging sense that this is the same game with bits bolted on. That's always the case with Battlefield games, but this time it's too little, too soon. [Dec 2006, p.110]
  7. games(TM)
    50
    Fails to offer anything fresh. The new elements added to the franchise are shamelessly plundered from other games, and generally not as well executed. [Dec 2006, p.114]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 138
  2. Negative: 41 out of 138
  1. MikeM.
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing!
  2. ThomasFarley
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    It was my second FPS game for the computer (my first was Halo), and I say. I played this game for hundreds of hours. It is simply amazing - It was my second FPS game for the computer (my first was Halo), and I say. I played this game for hundreds of hours. It is simply amazing - The graphics, the optimization, the balance. The squad-play is also amazing, being able to help other people out through separate squads. Bottom Line: It's an amazing game, earns a 10/10 for me. You will simply love the thrill of hiding from a Battle-Walker hunting you down! Or throwing EMP grenades at oncoming cars and then shooting them in the rear! Or using the Recon's cloak device to sneak past enemy lines and come up for a quick kill! It's certainly one of the best games I've ever played in my life. People that rate this game badly clearly haven't put any time or effort into exploring the game. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    The most balanced, well designed, team based shooter I have ever played. This game is all about skill. Love it or hate it. It is the best atThe most balanced, well designed, team based shooter I have ever played. This game is all about skill. Love it or hate it. It is the best at what it does. Expand
  4. MikeL.
    Jan 10, 2007
    8
    This is a great game hampered by some silly account management issues and EA's pathetic support.
  5. PhilH.
    Mar 24, 2008
    6
    Its an overall good game, but the fact that its lag prone and needs a bit more tweaks, its not perfect also, a lot of people have problems Its an overall good game, but the fact that its lag prone and needs a bit more tweaks, its not perfect also, a lot of people have problems with punkbuster, so id say, it can do better. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2015
    4
    Battlefield 2142 seems a bit too ... I do not know. The game is not like a battlefield. The game seems to have something missing, somethingBattlefield 2142 seems a bit too ... I do not know. The game is not like a battlefield. The game seems to have something missing, something you attract. Expand
  7. Elpresidenti
    Oct 19, 2006
    0
    after getting the game and installing it i am horrified to see ADVERTS, plus the game just dont feel right as it seems like they wanted toafter getting the game and installing it i am horrified to see ADVERTS, plus the game just dont feel right as it seems like they wanted to release it before Quake Wars, you can bet that EA are going to try and milk this by releasing Exspencive EX packs with content that should of been included in this this package as EA always does (eg the sims) , but ive now taken the game back to the store and got my money back, the main reason for this is after finding out that thanks to the game my PC now has spyware on it, ive have now decided to boycot all future EA Games because if i wanted to see adverts i would sit ond watch them on TV as all this is , is a form of spamming. Expand

See all 138 User Reviews