Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    92
    Second best of the Battlefield 3 add-ons. [Feb 2013]
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    90
    Aftermath is the best out of all Battlefield 3 DLCs. Its maps tend to favor infantry, but the experience is as tense as ever.
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    85
    Aftermath retains most of the polish present in DICE's previous expansions. [March 2013, p.79]
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    80
    A DLC surprise for Battlefield 3. The Iranian environment devastated by an earthquake has created an excellent map pack along with an entertaining new mode and a nicely inventive crossbow. This DLC proves that Battlefield 3 has still things to offer, it is not depleted yet.
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    80
    Aftermath is so much more than a mediocre new gameplay mode. Every one of the four new locations is of high quality - there's something for the lovers of infantry battles, as well a map that should please fans of Teheran Highway. All in all - Aftermath is a very good add-on, that expands on the ideas from the basic game and is worth recommending to supporters of middle-sized maps.
  6. Feb 6, 2013
    75
    At first I was a little disappointed by small number of new weapons introduced in Aftermath. However it turned out that one of them – the crossbow – is a very versatile piece of equipment and can replace a whole bunch of other toys. I might have pictured this DLC differently but after all I got hooked for long hours. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.60]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    By far, this is the best Battlefield 3 expansion pack. Back to Karkand was just a classic maps port - i can't adequately judge it. I really disliked Close Quarters for Call of Duty styled gameplay. Armored Kill did not bring anything really new - just a bunch of big maps to say "yay, we're still loving classic Battlefield". Aftermath sets the new direction of further development, improvement and increasing variety if gameplay without merging and stealing ideas from Call of Duty. Highly recommended for everyone looking for brand new and original Battlefield moments. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Aftermath DLC for PC takes BF3 up a notch; most noticeably by the inclusion of 4 new maps that are the best produced in BF3, and up there with the best Battlefield Series maps. They are medium sized maps that are maybe slightly smaller than Karkand, but much bigger than Grand Bazaar. Helo's, Tanks and new transport vehicles are also included. The new CrossBow weapon is a novelty - but once you unlock the various bolt ammo - it adds functions to your 4 kit loadouts that they would otherwise not have while only taking an equipment slot and not having to be your primary weapon. Playing the new game mode "Scavenger" is a fun way to unlock it. Scavenger allows you do "find" weapons on the map or you must use only your kits pistol and knife. The weapons range from lvl. 1 PP-2000 to powerful M-Tars and AKs. The CrossBow can be found. Otherwise scavenger is simply a Conquest. In closing this DLC is what DLC should be all about. Keeping a game fresh and fun nearly a year after release. BF3 Aftermath is something EA/Dice should be proud of. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Reminds me of the movie black hawk dawn down. Urban warfare with firefights breaking out at street corners and torned buildings. Playing it reminds me of the first time I saw battlefield 3 trailer :) Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    If you want a good infantry experience this is the expansion pack for you. The maps aren't very open but you'll find quite a lot of flank routes which you can use. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Its no "Back to Karkand" but it is my 2nd favorite DLC from Battlefield 3.

    For this DLC, I feel they took the ideas from the smaller
    vanilla maps like Seine Crossing, Grand Bazaar, and Operation Metro... and perfected it. The maps are medium sized without a lot of "open space." But unlike the smaller vanilla maps... these maps do not contain all of the hallway/doorway choke-points. Unlike the "Close Quarters" DLC, it doesn't have the small labyrinth feel with too many flank routes. They do that to try and be "chaotic" but I feel "Close Quarters" is just for a dumbed down run-n-gun experience. Aftermath offers the BEST Close Quarters infantry experience in Battlefield 3. Scavanger mode is a fun game mode. Its got that campy, play with friends... not to be taken too seriously feel to it... that's similar to how I feel about Gun Master mode... but I prefer Scavanger Mode. More fun because there's less requirement to use weapons you do not enjoy using, but sometimes you have to. I gave it an 8, because its not "Back to Karkand" calibur. While good, the maps offer little variation. Maybe some open space and air vehicles would have been a good choice for ~2 of the maps to change it up a bit. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Don't buy this. The gamplay is good but one thing that destroyed it for me is the publishing company EA. If you want Battlefield to be destroyed by the greed of this company go ahead and buy it otherwise spend your money to help someone who really deserves it. For example an Indie dev studio or Valve but don't fund them. I regret buying this. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    1
    Any normal person clearly understands that a few new maps and crossbow can't cost so much as this DLC does. And what a normal player would be learning how to shoot from that crappbow while normal weapons are available. That is boring (like Duty Calls). Expand

See all 13 User Reviews