User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 121
  2. Negative: 25 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    There are a few words that come to mind as i randomly spawn, take a few steps forward and get shot in the back by someone else who has spawned near by......but in this review i will only use one and that is frustrating! That is my general feeling of close quarters. I admit i am not the best BF3 player out there by a long shot but usually i still get a fair amount of enjoyment out of BF3There are a few words that come to mind as i randomly spawn, take a few steps forward and get shot in the back by someone else who has spawned near by......but in this review i will only use one and that is frustrating! That is my general feeling of close quarters. I admit i am not the best BF3 player out there by a long shot but usually i still get a fair amount of enjoyment out of BF3 and it's DLC, however, i have had to replace my keyboard after playing close quarters due to pounding it took from my frustration. On the occasion i have lasted longer than 20 seconds i have generally found the maps to be adequate and the play modes engaging but these are few and far between. Shotgun loving players will like the close level design and hectic game play but for those that enjoy a couple of breaths between each bout of conflict steer clear of close quarters. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    Close Quarters ads variety to the Battlefield 3 franchise at the cost of tactical game play. The new maps look gorgeous and are well made. However, they could use additional areas to allow for a more tactical mode like Rush or Squad Rush, which is the biggest drawn back of this expansion. The new Conquest Domination is fun but it gets boring after a while and so does the Gun master mode,Close Quarters ads variety to the Battlefield 3 franchise at the cost of tactical game play. The new maps look gorgeous and are well made. However, they could use additional areas to allow for a more tactical mode like Rush or Squad Rush, which is the biggest drawn back of this expansion. The new Conquest Domination is fun but it gets boring after a while and so does the Gun master mode, which lacks variety in guns. It's mostly run and gun with these modes as defending key points is challenging on these maps, especially with the crazy spawn system.

    The new guns are nice and most of them have a use. The new mini map system is useless though as it lacks any vertical indication. Destructibility on these maps looks cool but is not as big and doesn't have the impact on game play I was hoping for.

    So should you buy this expansion? As part of their Premium service, which gives you all the expansions, this is a good deal, so yes. Also, if you are a Call of Duty player who wants to get your feet wet on Battlefield game play, this expansion is great to start with. Seasoned BF 3 veterans that want to buy this as a single DLC should be warned though: Don't expect any of the BF 3 game play here you are used to.
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    even tho its kinda lame to even sell 4 maps for 10ish euros i think maps overally arent that bad and weapons are good...but still if i want some hardcore close quarter i play deathmatch on canals or kha. island .. but overally the whole pay for each new rock we add system is kinda lame.. why dont they add monthly subscription if they are that lame ;D
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    Close Quarters adds, as the name suggests, maps featuring close quarters combat. They are of varying quality, Donya Fortress is more or less a 'run around with a shotgun/smg loadout' map, but Scrapmetal is a lot more varied, allowing snipers and other classes to do well. The third map falls somewhere in the middle. Overall, the maps feel like just a quick way to level up. The new gameClose Quarters adds, as the name suggests, maps featuring close quarters combat. They are of varying quality, Donya Fortress is more or less a 'run around with a shotgun/smg loadout' map, but Scrapmetal is a lot more varied, allowing snipers and other classes to do well. The third map falls somewhere in the middle. Overall, the maps feel like just a quick way to level up. The new game mode of Gun Master plays like similar modes on other titles, but in a confusing move, you start with pistols, and move on to rifles - meaning that if you begin a match late, or fall behind, you will become essentially a free kill to those with more powerful weapons. Close Quarters would be a decent expansion to just about any other FPS title out there, but this being Battlefield, you are left wanting more than simple run 'n gun gameplay. Hopefully the next expansion, Armored Kill, will bring BF3 back to its roots. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    5
    Any way I look at it, I can't help but notice how EA/Dice cheaped out on this one. I mean TDM on the other maps is just as good or better if you do need 64 player close quarters carnage. It looks like they would have only put half as much effort into these small maps than the big ones. so they should only cost half as much. Unless you like Call of Duty. Yes I had to mention it :?
  6. Sep 20, 2014
    7
    It's a decent expansion pack, the maps are good and the game modes are decent (they could have been more and better though). If you want the exact opposite experience of a Battlefield game then you should try it.
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    This DLC is a nice addition to BF3. To sum up simply:

    Pros - TIghter maps for run and gun gameplay, a welcome change of scenery, new well-balanced guns, nice wall destruction Neutral - Gunmaster mode: It's good, but needs variation in loadouts and resets the last kit you used to default on your next non gunmaster game. Cons - Conquest domination game mode is extremely average and
    This DLC is a nice addition to BF3. To sum up simply:

    Pros - TIghter maps for run and gun gameplay, a welcome change of scenery, new well-balanced guns, nice wall destruction

    Neutral - Gunmaster mode: It's good, but needs variation in loadouts and resets the last kit you used to default on your next non gunmaster game.

    Cons - Conquest domination game mode is extremely average and feels more like TDM (PTO is a little lame), C4 abuse on flags, spawn points are disgraceful -too easy to spawn camp
    Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 13, 2012
    84
    Battlefield goes Call of Duty and does it actually pretty well! [Aug 2012]
  2. PC Gamer
    Aug 8, 2012
    64
    It's worth buying if you're sick of getting shot by premium players' overpowered new weapons on regular servers and want to equip the new arsenal yourself, but Battlefield 3's hectic fighting fails at CoD's smaller scale. [Oct 2012, p.71]
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2012
    80
    If you love with Battlefield's team deathmatch mode, you must get this DLC. [August 2012, p.76]