Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    84
    Battlefield goes Call of Duty and does it actually pretty well! [Aug 2012]
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    83
    Battlefield 3 Close Quarters does its job well. Expanding on an already excellent game and bringing a different flavor to it. The expanding of the Battlefield and situations keep things fresh and interesting and things look like they can only get better with even more expansions coming down the pike.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    If you love with Battlefield's team deathmatch mode, you must get this DLC. [August 2012, p.76]
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    You no longer have to worry about that Battlefield 3 along with its Close Quarters has become a better copy of the Modern Warfare 3. Close Quarters brings a very different gaming experience that is not for everyone, but the fact that the game's massive multiplayer now possess more of its pleasant possibilities is undeniable. Those of you addicted to tanks and planes should pass Close Quarters and await more open-ended maps in the upcoming additions.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    65
    Close Quarters was definitely made for fans of Call of Duty – it offers everything that Modern Warfare had from the beginning. Smart tactics is thrown out the window and replaced by confined spaces and fast-paced shootouts.
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    64
    It's worth buying if you're sick of getting shot by premium players' overpowered new weapons on regular servers and want to equip the new arsenal yourself, but Battlefield 3's hectic fighting fails at CoD's smaller scale. [Oct 2012, p.71]
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    Close Quarters isn't able to stir up the same emotions as BF3 did, and turns it into a simple arcade shooter, similar to many other first person shooters out there. I won't deny, that an occasional match on Ziba Tower will happen for me, but my thoughts will stay with the original Battlefield 3.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Epic! Good added value. Incredible inhouse fights, great entertainment. Faster access to servers is also very much appreciated. PLatoon ranking i am still missing but overall i am happy. USD 50 is not cheap but acceptable. Looking forward for the next DLCs to come........ Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Close Quarters is usually recognised as a bad expansion. But I disagree, Close Quarters is an amazing expansion at what it is meant to do, get up close and personal. And it does this extremely well. It does have traces of Call of Duty, but I don't find this bad; I find it interesting. Interesting to see what Battlefield could be like. I think DICE had a full intention of doing this when they released this. Close Quarters is not horrible, it is quite the opposite, and I encourage people to play it. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    I'm not a huge fan of Team Deathmatch in any game and didn't enjoy it in Battlefield either - give me large maps and a tank anyday. I always do Conquest or the like because it didn't feel like I was trapped within four walls. I was planning on passing this expansion and get back to the vehicle maps with my buddies but decided to give it a shot via Premium since I'd probably like some of the expansions.

    Wow. It is as if the TDM maps were layered and seamed together to make a great sandwich. The level design is beautiful and the destruction is amazing but the reason I keep going back for more is the play style - it's original. There's no place to hide. There's no place to camp. You can and will be flanked wherever you are. The best you can do is check as many corners as you can and keep moving.

    It's an evolution of the tactical shooter. My squad (real life buddies) move around a map as one unit - front checks ahead, second checks one side, third the other side, last watches our six. We are unstoppable because we work as a team and work with each other's strengths. What a rush. Again, TDM bores me but I can play the new maps all day long because it feels like a dungeon crawl rather than two sides of a small map. Gun Master is a good time too because it is different. We've had a lot of fun with that one. If you don't like fast paced action, play a different game. This one is fast and ferocious - you'll be out of breath and hungry for more at the end of the match.
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    This DLC is a nice addition to BF3. To sum up simply:

    Pros - TIghter maps for run and gun gameplay, a welcome change of scenery, new
    well-balanced guns, nice wall destruction

    Neutral - Gunmaster mode: It's good, but needs variation in loadouts and resets the last kit you used to default on your next non gunmaster game.

    Cons - Conquest domination game mode is extremely average and feels more like TDM (PTO is a little lame), C4 abuse on flags, spawn points are disgraceful -too easy to spawn camp
    Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    I think Close Combat is a good addition to Battlefield 3. The maps and modes offer a new way of playing much more akin to Call of Duty than to traditional BF3. Of course I play BF3 for it's unique gameplay and wide open maps, but this expansion provides a nice change of pace every once in awhile. It gave me a reason to use different weapons and freshens things up a bit overall. I really like the Gunmaster mode and I think that this was really well done. There are a few hang-ups of course, but overall I think they delivered pretty much exactly what they said they would and it has provided for an extra bit of variety to the other maps. These aren't the kinds of maps I want to play over and over again, I play one or two rounds and move on to the older maps. Now I am very much looking forward to the Armored Kill expansion! Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    There are a few words that come to mind as i randomly spawn, take a few steps forward and get shot in the back by someone else who has spawned near by......but in this review i will only use one and that is frustrating! That is my general feeling of close quarters. I admit i am not the best BF3 player out there by a long shot but usually i still get a fair amount of enjoyment out of BF3 and it's DLC, however, i have had to replace my keyboard after playing close quarters due to pounding it took from my frustration. On the occasion i have lasted longer than 20 seconds i have generally found the maps to be adequate and the play modes engaging but these are few and far between. Shotgun loving players will like the close level design and hectic game play but for those that enjoy a couple of breaths between each bout of conflict steer clear of close quarters. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    I already tried to think positive about this DLC and completely ignored the dubstep music in the trailers, but I should have listened to my gut and follow my intuitions. See for yourself if these few maps and assignments will make you entertain you for a while. They certainly didn't entertain me. Bottom line: Skip this DLC, wait for quality. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews