Battlefield 3 PC

Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4971 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 3 - Operation Guillotine Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Battlefield 3 has the right to challenge Modern Warfare3, the destruction, graphics, weapons, and audio are beautiful. The singleplayer isBattlefield 3 has the right to challenge Modern Warfare3, the destruction, graphics, weapons, and audio are beautiful. The singleplayer is good but the multiplayer and co-op experience are the best, I just love playing with my friends on co-op or private matches. I have to give this 10 and so far this has to be the best game in over 5 years Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Ignore these fools who give it a bad score, they REALLY don't know what they are talking about and need to get a life. Very good game, youIgnore these fools who give it a bad score, they REALLY don't know what they are talking about and need to get a life. Very good game, you WON'T be disappointed.

    PS. Why do you think the critic reviews are ALL positive?
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have reallygreat game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Single player isn't the best in Battlefield 3, while multiplayer is where it shines. Large open maps, beautiful graphics, with epic fights onSingle player isn't the best in Battlefield 3, while multiplayer is where it shines. Large open maps, beautiful graphics, with epic fights on a large scale with 64 players on conquest mode. Jets soaring above, explosions going off, it is a really good and probably the best action multiplayer I have played. Initially i had severe issues where i could only play the game for a few minutes before it crashed, leaving me very frustrated, i ended up buying windows 7 64bit and doing a fresh install which seems to have done the trick. There are a number of people experiencing bugs, and it didn't have the best release, but once you get it working, it runs like a charm and is money well spent for the terrific multiplayer. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I have always been a fan of the battlefield series the idea of huge wars with jets flying tanks firing and overall chaos.
    While this is my
    I have always been a fan of the battlefield series the idea of huge wars with jets flying tanks firing and overall chaos.
    While this is my first delve into the true battlefield trilogy this was a worthwhile venture the game play is brilliant you can really tell how dice have put their heart and soul into this game and it has really paid off the visuals are amazing the sound is immersive and the game play is almost flawless.
    While the campaign has much to be desired we new this wouldn't be a defining feature.
    While I hate how EA handled the release of battlefield the overall game is well worth the money and well worth the wait.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    Wow. What a let down. After all the hype and the hope, it can't hold a candle to BF2. I say BF2 and NOT BFBC2. Some seem to think Bad CompanyWow. What a let down. After all the hype and the hope, it can't hold a candle to BF2. I say BF2 and NOT BFBC2. Some seem to think Bad Company is BF1, Bad Company 2 is BF2, and BF3 is just BFBC3. To the latter, they're correct. Scoring: Points are rated above average (7) If the game improved on the average, it'll gain points, if it falls behind the average, it loses points.

    Sound ------> +3 ------ Excellent. By far the best part of the game.
    Graphics ----> +1 ------ Really Good when on MAX, otherwise average.
    Maps ---------> -1 ----- Poorly designed, lopsided crap.
    Gameplay --> -2 ----- Bad. Bugs, glitches galore. Feels like a beta. BFBC1 & 2 had crappy multiplayer made for console gaming and those who haven't experienced a well balanced gameplay focused game... such as BF2. If you go from BFBC1 or 2 to this, you'll be happy. If you go from BF2 to this, you likely won't. On the bright side, there are some things that are better than BF2. The spotting is simply hitting Q on the enemy now. No more of this holding Q, putting it on the enemy, then releasing it. That was cumbersome. Pace ---------> -1 ------ Strangely a little to quick. Things happen unrealistically fast. Like in CoD Black Ops. Everything seems to happen at x1.5 speed. Helicopters take off too quickly. If you're shot down, you crash quickly. The movements are too sudden. It feels like a crappy churner of a console port.
    Interface ----> -1 ----- Talk about trying to be all sleek and cool and fresh... and totally blowing it. Only being able to play the game with an internet browser window open? Really? Only being able to "search" (poorly) for servers in said browser window? Really? Who's terrible idea was that?

    Final Score --> 6

    Summary: Excellent sound, great graphics, meh maps, bad gameplay, bad interface. Mostly steps backward.

    Unfortunately, GAMEs are about GAMEplay. So, BF3 bombs. I can't believe I'm actually looking forward to the predictable vanilla whatever factor of MW3 (not the multiplayer, it has always sucked). At least they stick stick to what they're good at... I hope.

    Advice for DICE. Take BF2, give it BF3 graphics and BF3 sound, and you'll have a guaranteed winner. You dropped the ball this time, but everyone gets a Danzig 5/mulligan I suppose. But really, I blame it all on EA, so keep on doing what you do... as long as it's without EA.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Callofdutyfield: Bad Company. Dumbed down in every respect. CoD style gameplay (CoD is a bad word for any serious pc gamer, and deservedly).Callofdutyfield: Bad Company. Dumbed down in every respect. CoD style gameplay (CoD is a bad word for any serious pc gamer, and deservedly). Might be considered a successor for Bad Company but certainly not for bf2. Hardcore mode feels like easy/normal.
    Singleplayer total joke.
    Killing of medic class worst idea ever. Now everyone has either medpack or paddles. They boast they promote teamplay by killing off medic class, the only dedicated team player???!!!!??
    Destruction worse than bc2. Building collapse still heavily scripted and debris is not persistent or interactive. Can't destroy a fcking chair with tank shoot.
    Jets fly at speeds you never know if pilot isn't doing a free fall kamikaze suicide run.
    Sound is realistic. So realistic it hurts the game. Explosions sound a lot worse than bc2 and most guns sound similar or downright same.

    ...and many many many more flaws...

    I cannot see this game be played for more than 2 years from now. Compare that to bf2 which is still actively played today (6 years after release). Mark my words in 2 years time there's bf4, and then 5,6,7,8,9.....lack of mod tools is meant to deny the community to prolong the lifespan of this game by correcting fundamental flaws so that EA can dish out new battlefield every 1/2 years (CoD). The excuse they made for not releasing the mod tools is a total insult....I could go on like that forever. Not touching any other EA game, only through torrents.
    Expand

See all 1520 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.