Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4595 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Honestly, I don't care what the single player looks and plays like. Playing the multiplayer is truly amazing. This game has such a uniqueHonestly, I don't care what the single player looks and plays like. Playing the multiplayer is truly amazing. This game has such a unique atmosphere, game play, graphics, customization, that you will simply not feel at any other game. BF was always about multiplayer. And they out-done themselves this time. :) Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Battlefield 3 is what it should be. A real shooter game with heavy realistic graphics and great multiplayer. The single player is beautifullyBattlefield 3 is what it should be. A real shooter game with heavy realistic graphics and great multiplayer. The single player is beautifully done and the entire system is perfect. If they take out the EA spyware, this would be a perfect game. With the PC's excellent graphics, this game should please fans and newbies of Battlefield and Call of Duty fans alike too! Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have reallygreat game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I love this game. The multiplayer part this the best, the singleplayer isn't so long but i liked it. It´s the best FPS i EVERI love this game. The multiplayer part this the best, the singleplayer isn't so long but i liked it. It´s the best FPS i EVER have played, and i got all COD. Battlelog was at first i thought it was wierd but after some time i really like it, nice with the stats and soo on. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Single Player is instantly unforgettable, script driven and short. The real meat and bones is the Multi-player that takes a bit of gettingSingle Player is instantly unforgettable, script driven and short. The real meat and bones is the Multi-player that takes a bit of getting into if new, but enjoyable when when you get to grips with what may a steep learning curve, get a good team and work with them and you'll have many a great game. Let down however is the need to access servers via the browser, it simply takes far to long to get into a game. It at least looks like hte developers are taking on feedback which is always encouraging. Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    6
    Well, first off, the Singleplayer sucks, so I'm not even going to bother talking about that or including it in the review score. This is aWell, first off, the Singleplayer sucks, so I'm not even going to bother talking about that or including it in the review score. This is a multiplayer game at heart. Secondly, the Co-Op is terrible unless you're with someone you know and have VoIP with them, cause they couldn't even be bothered to include the multiplayer text chat in it, making a successful game through public matchmaking nigh on impossible. That leaves the Multiplayer. It's good, but even nearly 8 months after release, it's still riddled with bugs and exploits. Expect random connection drops, copious amount of lag, and crashes. That said, the game - in essence - is pretty fun, but it's the lack of effort on the part of the developers to make the game robust that drops the score in my opinion. There's also the completely unnecessary origin platform, which does, quite frankly, **** all besides increase the time it takes to get into a game, and if its servers are down for maintenance or whatever (occurred twice in the 5 days that I've been playing) you cannot log in to origin, or, if you're already on battlelog, join any server. Another thing that really annoys me is Battlelog - why they couldn't have just put it inside the game client is beyond me, as to switch to another server, you have to first quit the game, then find a server in battlelog, then run up the game, which in all takes 2-3 minutes, whereas on bad company 2 or BF2, you could be back in a game in under a minute. There's currently a poll on Battlelog (DICE's **** excuse for a server browser/stat tracker) asking what users are most excited for: some of the 'DLC' (glorified map packs) or the next patch. The next patch is winning by a long way, which goes to show how fed up people are of playing a game that isn't actually finished and to a standard at which it's easy to enjoy. When it does work, it's really fun, especially if you get into a squad that works together, and the unlocking system is pretty fun too, rewarding you for using certain weapons a lot.
    All in all, could've been fantastic, but seems rushed and not up to DICE's standard. It's certainly not worth the £40 Origin is asking for, and the B2K DLC is probably only worth £5. I only bought this game because Origin gave me a £10 off voucher, and to be honest, I'd rather have just taken the £10.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    best multiplayer to date!!! its a fantastic game that after playing 160 hours, doesnt get old. the multiplayer is just so awesome!!!! therebest multiplayer to date!!! its a fantastic game that after playing 160 hours, doesnt get old. the multiplayer is just so awesome!!!! there are tons of vehicles, weapons and accessories. the maps are awesome and mostly have great design. there are few places were the design feels a bit flawed but overall its great and every map feels unique. in its launch the game had a lot of stability issues but it s ok now. the netcode (some kind of code in the game) isnt so good. for instance you can get shot even if you got into cover or the game wont do your reload even if you just saw the animation. this moments arent so bad, but in my opinion thats what holds this game back. the game is also a bit glitchy (though they patch it a lot. the multiplayer also has these amazing epic scenes that you get from playing (theyre name is battlefield moments). theyre not artificial and thyre really awesome and epic.
    the campaign is good, though pretty linear. the story is told in flashback (i dont really like this and isnt really special but its good enough to keep you in it. the missions are cool, even if near the end they can get a bit repetetive (the way shooters tend to do). the game is also beautiful, and one of the best looking games i have ever seen both in multiplayer and singleplayer). the games textures and effects are amazing, and they the game to a new level. there are also 6 co op missions, which are pretty fun.
    overall an extremely good game and one of my favorites. it has the best multiplayer to date!! the campaighn is also pretty good, if you want a multiplayer game buy this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 1540 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.