Battlefield 3 PC

Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4872 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Having played multiplayer FPS for so long, the AI in single player always comes up short and few developers get it right. There's nothing outHaving played multiplayer FPS for so long, the AI in single player always comes up short and few developers get it right. There's nothing out there to suggest that BF3 single player is any different than what this genre typically produces, and I doubt I'll grind any more than the 30mins I've already put in. I am, however, rather new to the BF multiplayer experience with just BC2 under my belt, but I worked my way up to 50 and enjoyed every bit of it. Itâ Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I give this game a 9/10. The multiplayer gameplay is excellent. The new game engine helped a lot in this release and you will noticeI give this game a 9/10. The multiplayer gameplay is excellent. The new game engine helped a lot in this release and you will notice immediately. Singleplayer is fun, it has an interesting story, beautiful scenery, and great gameplay. The AI in singleplayer (on Hard - haven't tried other difficulties) are decently challenging. To a novice, Hard would be nearly impossible. Which I like. It's a challenge. The ONLY reason I take off 1 point of 10 is because of the lack of an in-game menu of any sort. You cannot change servers from in-game. You must exit the game and use their web page (aka Battlelog) to navigate servers. No thank you. However, overall the game definitely has a lot more Pros than Cons. There is no way anyone should be able to give this game less than a 5.0 honestly. Anything less than 5 is someone Nerd Raging.
    **EXCELLENT GAME**
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have reallygreat game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    The game is actually quite good. Pros: Graphics, sound, high level of unlocks in multiplayer, Battlelog, overall multiplayer feels "fun."The game is actually quite good. Pros: Graphics, sound, high level of unlocks in multiplayer, Battlelog, overall multiplayer feels "fun." Cons: Occasional "wtf" moments in multiplayer can be very frustrating, gun recoil is a bit too high, hit reg still has a few issues, lower level guns suck.

    Something I'd like to mention is the insane amount of XP needed to unlock the weapons and attachments in multiplayer. It's pretty crazy. You get an average of maybe 3k experience in one round, and some of the better unlocks require 200k just for a single unlock. Additionally, some guns can only be unlocked by gaining experience through co op missions. There are only 7 co op missions, and to do these each 3 or 4 times to unlock a single gun gets old really fast. Another issue is the fact that lower level guns and equipment sucks. Higher level guns are just way better than the ones you start out with. This makes it difficult to get started in the game, as you'll be constantly wiped out as you try to beat someone with a gun that's twice as good as yours. However, once you've played maybe 5 hours of multiplayer you'll have plenty of good enough weapons to hang with the top players (if you're good enough). I'd also like to mention destructibility and suppression. They add a whole lot to the game. Being under fire by a tank and suppressing fire as chips of concrete fly and walls crumble around you is a thrilling and frightening experience, one unique to Battlefield. Destroying a wall with an RPG and then rushing the defenders inside and wiping out a whole squad is exhilarating. It's moments like these that truly make this game so much fun.
    Overall, the game is very well done. It really is a lot of fun and I enjoy the multiplayer a whole lot. Don't play this game a couple hours then give up. Stick with it, and I promise you'll end up enjoying one of (if not the) best first person shooter game on the market.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Single Player is instantly unforgettable, script driven and short. The real meat and bones is the Multi-player that takes a bit of gettingSingle Player is instantly unforgettable, script driven and short. The real meat and bones is the Multi-player that takes a bit of getting into if new, but enjoyable when when you get to grips with what may a steep learning curve, get a good team and work with them and you'll have many a great game. Let down however is the need to access servers via the browser, it simply takes far to long to get into a game. It at least looks like hte developers are taking on feedback which is always encouraging. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    Wow. What a let down. After all the hype and the hope, it can't hold a candle to BF2. I say BF2 and NOT BFBC2. Some seem to think Bad CompanyWow. What a let down. After all the hype and the hope, it can't hold a candle to BF2. I say BF2 and NOT BFBC2. Some seem to think Bad Company is BF1, Bad Company 2 is BF2, and BF3 is just BFBC3. To the latter, they're correct. Scoring: Points are rated above average (7) If the game improved on the average, it'll gain points, if it falls behind the average, it loses points.

    Sound ------> +3 ------ Excellent. By far the best part of the game.
    Graphics ----> +1 ------ Really Good when on MAX, otherwise average.
    Maps ---------> -1 ----- Poorly designed, lopsided crap.
    Gameplay --> -2 ----- Bad. Bugs, glitches galore. Feels like a beta. BFBC1 & 2 had crappy multiplayer made for console gaming and those who haven't experienced a well balanced gameplay focused game... such as BF2. If you go from BFBC1 or 2 to this, you'll be happy. If you go from BF2 to this, you likely won't. On the bright side, there are some things that are better than BF2. The spotting is simply hitting Q on the enemy now. No more of this holding Q, putting it on the enemy, then releasing it. That was cumbersome. Pace ---------> -1 ------ Strangely a little to quick. Things happen unrealistically fast. Like in CoD Black Ops. Everything seems to happen at x1.5 speed. Helicopters take off too quickly. If you're shot down, you crash quickly. The movements are too sudden. It feels like a crappy churner of a console port.
    Interface ----> -1 ----- Talk about trying to be all sleek and cool and fresh... and totally blowing it. Only being able to play the game with an internet browser window open? Really? Only being able to "search" (poorly) for servers in said browser window? Really? Who's terrible idea was that?

    Final Score --> 6

    Summary: Excellent sound, great graphics, meh maps, bad gameplay, bad interface. Mostly steps backward.

    Unfortunately, GAMEs are about GAMEplay. So, BF3 bombs. I can't believe I'm actually looking forward to the predictable vanilla whatever factor of MW3 (not the multiplayer, it has always sucked). At least they stick stick to what they're good at... I hope.

    Advice for DICE. Take BF2, give it BF3 graphics and BF3 sound, and you'll have a guaranteed winner. You dropped the ball this time, but everyone gets a Danzig 5/mulligan I suppose. But really, I blame it all on EA, so keep on doing what you do... as long as it's without EA.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2015
    0
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaa aaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aa aaaaa aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaa aaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aa aaaaa aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaa aaaa aaaaaaaa aaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa a aaaaaaaaaa a Expand

See all 1551 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.