Battlefield 3 PC

Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4920 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Having played multiplayer FPS for so long, the AI in single player always comes up short and few developers get it right. There's nothing outHaving played multiplayer FPS for so long, the AI in single player always comes up short and few developers get it right. There's nothing out there to suggest that BF3 single player is any different than what this genre typically produces, and I doubt I'll grind any more than the 30mins I've already put in. I am, however, rather new to the BF multiplayer experience with just BC2 under my belt, but I worked my way up to 50 and enjoyed every bit of it. Itâ Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I give this game a 9/10. The multiplayer gameplay is excellent. The new game engine helped a lot in this release and you will noticeI give this game a 9/10. The multiplayer gameplay is excellent. The new game engine helped a lot in this release and you will notice immediately. Singleplayer is fun, it has an interesting story, beautiful scenery, and great gameplay. The AI in singleplayer (on Hard - haven't tried other difficulties) are decently challenging. To a novice, Hard would be nearly impossible. Which I like. It's a challenge. The ONLY reason I take off 1 point of 10 is because of the lack of an in-game menu of any sort. You cannot change servers from in-game. You must exit the game and use their web page (aka Battlelog) to navigate servers. No thank you. However, overall the game definitely has a lot more Pros than Cons. There is no way anyone should be able to give this game less than a 5.0 honestly. Anything less than 5 is someone Nerd Raging.
    **EXCELLENT GAME**
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have reallygreat game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    A true masterpiece... In multiplayer mode.
    The campaign has an interesting story, but the AI is not very good and the spawns seems very
    A true masterpiece... In multiplayer mode.
    The campaign has an interesting story, but the AI is not very good and the spawns seems very unnecessary. I know lot of people likes to shoot lots of enemies and destroy lots of vehicles but Battlefield 3 is not the same genre as Duke Nukem! This is supposed to as close to reality as it can get. BUT... I want a game to give me realistic game-play... and DICE was able to give me that on multiplayer mode. You feel like in a real battlefield. The sound is just amazing, the graphics I don't even need to speak about. The game isn't just about running toward your enemy firing anything that moves like in BC2. Now you need to think your strategy in order to get the best for your team and squad. Battlefield requires you to work as a team and with strategy. That's my kind of game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Single Player is instantly unforgettable, script driven and short. The real meat and bones is the Multi-player that takes a bit of gettingSingle Player is instantly unforgettable, script driven and short. The real meat and bones is the Multi-player that takes a bit of getting into if new, but enjoyable when when you get to grips with what may a steep learning curve, get a good team and work with them and you'll have many a great game. Let down however is the need to access servers via the browser, it simply takes far to long to get into a game. It at least looks like hte developers are taking on feedback which is always encouraging. Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    6
    Well, first off, the Singleplayer sucks, so I'm not even going to bother talking about that or including it in the review score. This is aWell, first off, the Singleplayer sucks, so I'm not even going to bother talking about that or including it in the review score. This is a multiplayer game at heart. Secondly, the Co-Op is terrible unless you're with someone you know and have VoIP with them, cause they couldn't even be bothered to include the multiplayer text chat in it, making a successful game through public matchmaking nigh on impossible. That leaves the Multiplayer. It's good, but even nearly 8 months after release, it's still riddled with bugs and exploits. Expect random connection drops, copious amount of lag, and crashes. That said, the game - in essence - is pretty fun, but it's the lack of effort on the part of the developers to make the game robust that drops the score in my opinion. There's also the completely unnecessary origin platform, which does, quite frankly, **** all besides increase the time it takes to get into a game, and if its servers are down for maintenance or whatever (occurred twice in the 5 days that I've been playing) you cannot log in to origin, or, if you're already on battlelog, join any server. Another thing that really annoys me is Battlelog - why they couldn't have just put it inside the game client is beyond me, as to switch to another server, you have to first quit the game, then find a server in battlelog, then run up the game, which in all takes 2-3 minutes, whereas on bad company 2 or BF2, you could be back in a game in under a minute. There's currently a poll on Battlelog (DICE's **** excuse for a server browser/stat tracker) asking what users are most excited for: some of the 'DLC' (glorified map packs) or the next patch. The next patch is winning by a long way, which goes to show how fed up people are of playing a game that isn't actually finished and to a standard at which it's easy to enjoy. When it does work, it's really fun, especially if you get into a squad that works together, and the unlocking system is pretty fun too, rewarding you for using certain weapons a lot.
    All in all, could've been fantastic, but seems rushed and not up to DICE's standard. It's certainly not worth the £40 Origin is asking for, and the B2K DLC is probably only worth £5. I only bought this game because Origin gave me a £10 off voucher, and to be honest, I'd rather have just taken the £10.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Callofdutyfield: Bad Company. Dumbed down in every respect. CoD style gameplay (CoD is a bad word for any serious pc gamer, and deservedly).Callofdutyfield: Bad Company. Dumbed down in every respect. CoD style gameplay (CoD is a bad word for any serious pc gamer, and deservedly). Might be considered a successor for Bad Company but certainly not for bf2. Hardcore mode feels like easy/normal.
    Singleplayer total joke.
    Killing of medic class worst idea ever. Now everyone has either medpack or paddles. They boast they promote teamplay by killing off medic class, the only dedicated team player???!!!!??
    Destruction worse than bc2. Building collapse still heavily scripted and debris is not persistent or interactive. Can't destroy a fcking chair with tank shoot.
    Jets fly at speeds you never know if pilot isn't doing a free fall kamikaze suicide run.
    Sound is realistic. So realistic it hurts the game. Explosions sound a lot worse than bc2 and most guns sound similar or downright same.

    ...and many many many more flaws...

    I cannot see this game be played for more than 2 years from now. Compare that to bf2 which is still actively played today (6 years after release). Mark my words in 2 years time there's bf4, and then 5,6,7,8,9.....lack of mod tools is meant to deny the community to prolong the lifespan of this game by correcting fundamental flaws so that EA can dish out new battlefield every 1/2 years (CoD). The excuse they made for not releasing the mod tools is a total insult....I could go on like that forever. Not touching any other EA game, only through torrents.
    Expand

See all 1554 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.