Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4501 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Seriously, a must have for any true FPS player.

    It isn't exactly what i wanted, but hey it is still a great IP, and better than ever.

    Frost
    Bite 2, gives this game a heart and soul. The game play has evolved from BF2 and has incorporated several ideas from Bad Company 2, the game that kept the itch at bay.

    Politics aside, this game on PC out beats any of the competition, including its past games. The fact that no Xbox or PS3 games has ever seen such a wide multi-player. The PC version automatically gets 2 points over the Xbox and PS3 counterparts, because 24 player is nothing compared to 64 players. I can't see my buying the console versions, especially since they want you to pay to play online.

    32x32 is awesome, and i expected nothing less, however i did expect some more, like 48x48, or 64x64. These new battlefields are so beautiful that i have spent time just exploring, so i can live with 64 player since having 64 guys shooting at me wouldn't give time to take in the Frost Bite that has attacked my heart!

    The kicker is the "Back to Karkand" pack, which gives us old BF2 players complete nostalgia, just like watching the old X-Men or Transformers cartoon.

    All in All, I must say that out of every FPS ever made, and the impact of their releases, because of this, this game must be no less than a 9.5, and a solid 10 for being the best FPS ever created when it comes to army/war games.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Ignore these fools who give it a bad score, they REALLY don't know what they are talking about and need to get a life. Very good game, you WON'T be disappointed.

    PS. Why do you think the critic reviews are ALL positive?
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Good game, still waiting for the dlc, been playing since release and havent really got any problems with it appart from the auto join needs to be fixed so you get put in servers in your own country :) Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Comparing this game to MW3 is somewhat justifiable but I always viewed both games as the same genre but different takes on it. BF3 is by far the best in the series with updated graphics and mechanics this game is not only challenging to play in multiplayer but ever kill feels well deserved. The single player however is just as cliche as ever. Though it was lengthy it was more of an after thought. But Battlefield games have always been known for multiplayer and the huge scale of it so it is somewhat forgivable. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    Eh. Graphics are nice if you can run it... Otherwise the multiplayer is a pass for me. Its the same thing Dice is known for, crappy realism. Practically all of the guns feel like airsoft. (fake and pointless) Helicopters are slower than glaciers (well it almost feels that slow) and jets, which are back, feel slower than glaciers it seems like a jet should feel like its going 500mph not 50mph. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    Nothing of this game is good. The story is written so poorly, with a cut scene every five minutes. This game is filled with Quick Time events, and even if you fail the quick time event your buddy will come and save you. The game is so easy, I died only once, due to unfair enemies just to make the game seem harder. The voice acting is poor. I feel like I am playing a dumbed down version of Call of Duty Modern Warfare, yeah, I said it! The story is the same as all First Person hand Holders, bad people kill people so we have to kill them. I feel as if I am controlling a robot, this game feels like I am incapable of doing anything myself and has to hold my hand. This game is so short, it is sad. I could spend more time in the first level of Deus Ex than playing this entire game. They pad this just to make it longer. AI characters have to follow you everywhere, treating you like a child! They have to open doors for you! The enemy AI is even worse, walking into your gun fire.
    There is a mission that makes you think you are going to fly a jet, but it is just on rails shooter! Not a good one either. I got so board after five seconds of this piece of crap! I am so offended by this game, why did I spend money on? I want to destroy this game.
    I feel like my computer is about to shoot itself for me just playing this game.
    The shooting just sucks, there is no power to the weapons. All of the weapons are the same, they all fire the same, take the same time to reload, the same amount of ammo to kill an enemy. They all sound as if a cat is sneezing.
    There is regenerating health, are you a star fish x10000 or something?
    Your AI partners are so incapable of killing anyone, I don't even want them there! All they are doing there is just to further the story.
    This game has none of the wakey over-the-top stuff from Call of Duty. Most of the time in this game you are ducked behind cover because the enemy AI shoot a never ending stream of bullets at you. Not that it matters because you are a starfish x10000.
    I feel this game is a step back in human evolution. Yeah the reverse of the Theory of Evolution.

    I know a bunch of fan boys will say "Oh this game is for the multiplayer that is what it is the multiplayer is good it is good play the multiplayer it is good"
    BULL CRAP!
    I played the multiplayer, it sucks. It is the normal multiplayer of this generation of First Person Hand Holders. You start with a load out. One thing I can say is load outs suck! Play Half Life's multiplayer where you have to pick up weapons on the map, and if you die you start with a pistol. Load outs make it so you don't have to look around the map. It also gives higher level players an advantage over others because the have better equipment. The whole leveling system sucks anyway I wish games would take it out. They should take a Que from Halo which had a good multiplayer (For this gen)with no load outs!
    It is the same thing over and over, you die, respawn, you kill someone, die, respawn, die, respawn, you kill someone, die, respawn, kill someone, die, respawn, die, respawn, die.

    I think this game should be renamed 3"
    Expand

See all 1534 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.