Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    As a complete package Battlefield 3 absolutely delivers and if you don't have some angry agenda against Origin it's a must-play. The PC version in particular ushers in a new era of graphical magnificence and the disparity between the consoles begs Sony and Microsoft to up the ante. Shooters don't come much better than this and it's a great way to kick off this year's holiday game rush.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    95
    Battlefield 3 offers one of the best multiplayer modes out there. The Frostbite 2 engine is capable of amazing things in order to show the most realistic war we've seen to date. Its only flaws are an extremely short campaign and a co-op mode that could have been much better.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    93
    Maybe Battlefield 3's off-line side is a little bit irregular, but its multiplayer options and amazing graphics justify the necessary upgrade of our computers. Those players looking for a game full of innovation will be disenchanted; however if you're looking for an amazing competitive on-line experience, this is it.
  4. 90
    Battlefield 3 is amazing. The single player campaign is definitely the weakest link, even though it's more than just decent. The co-op missions are fun, but online multiplayer is the main reason you should get Battlefield 3. Here, the game doesn't disappoint in any way and stands as the strongest entry of the series so far. This is the best multiplayer experience I've had this year.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    An extremely beautiful looking game that takes advantage of the hardware in every way possible, resulting in an experience that's so huge and fulfilling that it will keep you satisfied for years to come, especially with all the DLC map packs int he pipelines.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    What kind of game is Battlefield 3? Well made, extremely impressive, pretty and rich in content. But still it has some flaws and suprising peculiarities.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield 3's multiplayer, and I wish my thoughts about the game could end there. Unfortunately it also tried to force a totally unnecessary single-player game on me, and the browser interface looks like it came straight out of the 90s.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Single player is extremely lacking, but everyone knows this is a multiplayer game. But boy, is the multiplayer fun. Sorry, fun is the wrong word. Immersive. Jaw dropping. Ginormous. That feeling of being pinned down with your squad by enemy fire, seeing enemy armor closing in, getting ready to respawn. And then that feeling of seeing friendly jets on the horizon, blowing up the enemy armor and forcing the infantry to go into cover. You and your squad spring away into safety, while the pilot types into the chatbox: "I just saved your sorry asses" Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    The graphic of this game is 10/10
    The gameplay of this game is 10/10
    The singl-player and multiplayer is just 10/10
    This game is freaking
    amazingly and beautiful.. So i don't understand where all the complainers come from, i also bought this on release and yeah you couldn't release it? But so what, you could play it the next day who cares.. Just because they experienced some troubles with their server doesn't mean the game is bad!!! Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great game single player amazing, multiplayer also amazing. so much better than the beta this is a great game and i think dice have really outdone themselves Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    I applaud DICE for trying to make an innovation with this game, but some features are unwelcome. Origin, for example. Why replace Steam with your own site? Both are free, and I'm sure EA could make more money getting a fraction of Steam's shares rather than having their own platform. Another is Battlelog. I appreciate the fast server browser but launching a game isn't as easy as it should be and you can easily overlook messages from friends. However, on the other hand are some nice innovations and a good multiplayer. Singleplayer is bland, Black Ops style and linear. The menu is clear, another take from the Call of Duty series (I am NOT a Call of Duty fanboy, I just couldn't help seeing that both menus (the Battlelog one not the singlplayer one) are similar). However, its the multiplayer that makes Battlefield and Battlefield 3's is great. Theres only six maps, which is sad, but it is overall a great blast. Torches (a very powerful weapon), prone and destruction 3.0 all help in the mix. If you don't know Battlefield multiplayer of late, you're basically tossed in a large destructable map with 63 other people, heaps of vehicles, some objectives, a team support item and a gun. If this game was multiplayer only and featured an actual main menu (not Battlelog for launching), I would easily give this game a 10/10. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    Graphics and new animation system is undoubtedly the best in the industry. For me it's the top of 2011. But that doesn't make a game so good. The campaign is not so action-packed as MW3 and the multiplayer (though Battlelog is im plus) is hard to learn for a newcomer like me. For example I've searched for the weapon customization for a looooooong time and was totally surprised that it wasn't available neighter from the battlelog nor in the respawning menu.. :/ Airplanes are cool though. :) Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    Eh. Graphics are nice if you can run it... Otherwise the multiplayer is a pass for me. Its the same thing Dice is known for, crappy realism. Practically all of the guns feel like airsoft. (fake and pointless) Helicopters are slower than glaciers (well it almost feels that slow) and jets, which are back, feel slower than glaciers it seems like a jet should feel like its going 500mph not 50mph. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    Horrible singleplayer and coming to the game at this stage the dlc and additional "catch up" packs that have to be paid for mean that to stand any chance at all in current multiplayer games you have to spend at least another 30 bucks...no F(*&ing way i'm paying extra just to play on a level playing field, GJ EA...FU Expand

See all 1510 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.