Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3438 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    the only thing that disappointing about this game was that the multiplayer requires an xbox live gold membership, if they were to add a localthe only thing that disappointing about this game was that the multiplayer requires an xbox live gold membership, if they were to add a local or system link connection to the multiplayer it would be better, minus that it's an amazing game. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Although the game is having technical problems like crashing and bugs, DICE rolls out a patch every two weeks or so, and the bugs and crashesAlthough the game is having technical problems like crashing and bugs, DICE rolls out a patch every two weeks or so, and the bugs and crashes are slowly but steadily disappearing (crashes are already virtually non-existing). When the game works, it is the most amazing multiplayer you can have right now. The destruction is a big advancement from BF3, there is only a few things more cool than blowing up a wall an enemy is using for cover, or crushing an entire building onto a cluster of pesky snipers. Battlefield 4 offers the biggest variety of gameplay from tanking to stealthily flanking the enemy team to flying a jet around the whole map. It is definitely worth spending $60, or even $110 on. Though I might get frustrated because of the bugs and hit detection, but the next day I get right back in and have a blast Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    If I never played Battlefield 3, I would have given this game a much higher score, but it is just so similar to BF3 in my opinion that I don'tIf I never played Battlefield 3, I would have given this game a much higher score, but it is just so similar to BF3 in my opinion that I don't see this game warranting a very high score. The multiplayer is pretty similar to BF3's, albeit with much better load out customization, but the "levolution" that was being hyped up in the advertising felt rather underwhelming.

    The campaign is just awful. It's more of the same "America Good Guys, other countries Bad Guys" that we've seen in other games. I would have rather had a campaign that actually allowed us to play on both sides of the conflict to actually see that the soldiers fighting for their banners were as human as the rest. Needless to say, I think I bailed from the Campaign about three quarters of the way through, because I was getting rather sick of it. It is quite literally the first game who's campaign I never completed.

    As I said, I would be giving it a better score if I never played BF3, but as it stands, the game just feels like a moderate upgrade over the previous Battlefield.
    Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    3
    I've played about 85 hours of this game and its been like pulling teeth most of the time. It crashes ALL the time on either the client or theI've played about 85 hours of this game and its been like pulling teeth most of the time. It crashes ALL the time on either the client or the server. Even the browser plug-in crashes requiring task manager to kill off the browser. If a lot of my friends weren't also playing I would have uninstalled this probably the same weekend I installed it.

    There are audio issues like sound that cuts out, looping effects that won't ever stop for the duration of the map(The MCOM alarm on a conquest map is highly annoying), other random audio glitches like when you dive under water and come up and the sound is still muffled like you are under water still.

    The scopes can become out of sync with the visuals so when you don't have the 2x zoom on its zoomed and when you do have it on its normal. Dieing is the only way to fix this issue. The hip fire reticle (on non-hardcore mode servers) just vanishes and reappears whenever it pleases.

    The netcode is still abysmal and so far massively worse than BF3's from what I've seen. Even on servers with less than a 30ms ping.

    Vehicle physics are a mess. Jeeps bounce like crazy. Jeeps can be flipped over, taken off jumps 50-60 feet in the air and take no damage, but hit something going faster than 10-20 mph and they explode. I'm talking like clip the front corner on a tree and it just explodes. Tanks have quite literally no weight. You can launch tanks 10-20 feet in the air off some pretty tiny bumps. You can damage a tank by driving a jeep full speed at either the back or front and send the tank sailing through the air over the top of the jeep (What?!). The three tanks in BF4 are about 50-60 tons, pretty sure that isn't going airborne off a crater in the road.

    Anyone that bought it and comments on the single player is missing the point. That should really be seen as a new players tutorial than a stand-alone

    This is playing on a machine that's a several thousand dollars so its not my hardware. Playing the game on a 2560x1440 resolution monitor on medium settings and you generally sit around the frame cap of 200FPS.
    Water cooled and overclocked i7 at 4.8Ghz
    GTX 690
    Dual SSD's in raid 0
    Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    1
    I wish that creators would update the damage in this game I am unbelievably irritated by this factor and the main reason is that the firstI wish that creators would update the damage in this game I am unbelievably irritated by this factor and the main reason is that the first shotgun you unlock take 3 shots to kill your 1 person and the assault class weapons are overpowered and takes on average 2-5 rounds to kill. I am so p*ssed I would shorten my life span to a half just to break the stupid creators necks. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2016
    0
    This is the worst and more unstable game I have ever played. After years of updates, there is only one thing that's sure: new patch = newThis is the worst and more unstable game I have ever played. After years of updates, there is only one thing that's sure: new patch = new crashes.
    Then, game play and physics are crap I am not buying any DICE game or EA ever again.
    Good job!
    Expand

See all 975 User Reviews