Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Great game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashingGreat game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashing appear to be fixed and i havent had any issues in a while. I highly recommend. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    I Pre-Ordered Battlefield 4 because i thought it looked really cool, I was surely not disappointed as this is a great game. I am not saying itI Pre-Ordered Battlefield 4 because i thought it looked really cool, I was surely not disappointed as this is a great game. I am not saying it is flawless but it is all around a clean and fun... A very good buy with months of enjoyment! Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    As you can see, this review has been made more than two months after the game has been released.

    First of all, I can't really blame those
    As you can see, this review has been made more than two months after the game has been released.

    First of all, I can't really blame those who makes jokes about the game being in Beta. It is, even if possibly the one I'm playing today is Beta 3.0, and not the horrific pre-Alpha some of us bought on October 29th. The netcode is better than before (it doesn't take much do be better than trash, but it has improved; not reliable yet, but better), and some of the major bugs and, most importantly, the CRASHES, have been fixed, at least as far as I can say. Maybe I'm optimistic or just lucky, but I haven't experienced nothing special except, of course, some lag and a couple of minor reload bugs. The problem is: is Battlefield 4 worth playing now? Is Battlefield 4 worth NOT BEING ERADICATED from the planet just because it started to be less than God awful only around January? Let's make a pros-cons, it's easier for me and for you. Just one advice: i won't include in the cons the OBVIOUSLY KNOW BUGS, because that's already clear in my opinion. I will write pros and cons like if BF4 was a bug-free game, but these bugs will obviously weight in the score.

    PROS
    -Most of the maps are very well designed
    -It offers a truly astounding Battlefield experience WHEN IT WORKS, and BF fans know what i mean
    -Graphics are gorgeous, nothing to say about that
    -Sound, when it isn't bugged, it's really remarkable and realistic
    -The perk system makes sense, encouraging people not to play like morons unless they like losing their perks for their squad being wiped out

    CONS
    -The unlock system still sucks (i. e. assignments and gadgets progression criteria)
    -Excessively vast arsenal has room for lots of pointless weapons and, of course, some OP guns
    -The map design of Operation Locker can be found at the voice "How to NOT make a multiplayer map"
    -The game has an excessive load on your system in certain situations, where 60 stable fps, even with a quite high-end PC, are all but reachable 1080p
    -Questionable weapon balance (PDWs not universal, Carbine now universal, DMRs nerfed like and the same goes for most of the rocket launchers)
    -Hit detection is one of the worst I've ever seen
    -Map design is good for some game modes and bad as hell for others
    -The whole game costs 60 50 Thanks, BF4 Premium, for being expensive. And for existing

    I may not be an expert reviewer, and I sure as hell am not good enough to tell you or DICE how to actually make Battlefield 4 a game worth buying. The situation is better than two months ago, but can I tell that for me BF4 is better than its predecessor? Nope. And keep in account that I've played BF3 on the PS3, not exactly a wonderful porting. This is my opinion, as incoherent and senseless as you want, but sure as hell sincere. And 5 is my vote, same as before.
    Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    3
    To me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that yourTo me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that your frustrations will prevail 90% of the time and at the end of the round (if you don't rage/quit) you probably will be very angry. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2015
    1
    Crashes regularly after 2 years of patches.Crashes regularly after 2 years of patches. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    0
    Tout simplement horrible...

    Ce jeu n'est clairement pas terminé c'est une honte a ce niveau la, graphiquement le jeu est joli mais il faut
    Tout simplement horrible...

    Ce jeu n'est clairement pas terminé c'est une honte a ce niveau la, graphiquement le jeu est joli mais il faut faire la part des choses il n'en reste pas moins qu'un copié collé de BF3 qui était bien plus aboutis a mon gout.. Grosse déception je ne recommande pas du tout ce jeu.
    Expand

See all 932 User Reviews