Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3563 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 4: E3 2013 Official Commander Mode Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED
    ALL THE THINGS ARE MADE PERFECT
    I CAN PLAY THIS GAME AT ANY TIME graphics are like awesome lots of
    THIS IS THE BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED
    ALL THE THINGS ARE MADE PERFECT
    I CAN PLAY THIS GAME AT ANY TIME
    graphics are like awesome lots of weapons ,gameplay is just perfect
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2015
    9
    The best large scale multiplayer FPS out there. BF4, like most of the Battlefield games that came before it, are the perfect combination ofThe best large scale multiplayer FPS out there. BF4, like most of the Battlefield games that came before it, are the perfect combination of FPS, RPG, and RTS. I love how they took the deep progression and unlocks of an RPG, and the commander control and strategy of an RTS, and built this on top of one of the most massive scaled FPS's. This game is just so fun. Also, please ignore the joke of a campaign. Battlefield campaigns have always been laughably bad. I've played about 200 hours on this game, and about 200 on each core Battlefield game since 2142, and never noticed the netcode or rubberbanding issues that so many people whine about. Not sure what the big fuss is about. I also love how much post-sale love EA has given to this game. They are constantly releasing new maps and new weapons that they give away for free. Really neat to see the developer doing that. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    If I never played Battlefield 3, I would have given this game a much higher score, but it is just so similar to BF3 in my opinion that I don'tIf I never played Battlefield 3, I would have given this game a much higher score, but it is just so similar to BF3 in my opinion that I don't see this game warranting a very high score. The multiplayer is pretty similar to BF3's, albeit with much better load out customization, but the "levolution" that was being hyped up in the advertising felt rather underwhelming.

    The campaign is just awful. It's more of the same "America Good Guys, other countries Bad Guys" that we've seen in other games. I would have rather had a campaign that actually allowed us to play on both sides of the conflict to actually see that the soldiers fighting for their banners were as human as the rest. Needless to say, I think I bailed from the Campaign about three quarters of the way through, because I was getting rather sick of it. It is quite literally the first game who's campaign I never completed.

    As I said, I would be giving it a better score if I never played BF3, but as it stands, the game just feels like a moderate upgrade over the previous Battlefield.
    Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    3
    battlefield 4 is battlefield 3 nothing more. I'm a big fan of the BF games but now it's just sucking the money and not the promotion ofbattlefield 4 is battlefield 3 nothing more. I'm a big fan of the BF games but now it's just sucking the money and not the promotion of franchise. They better do about WW2 give a fresh breath of air instead they chase to Activision with their CoD insteed (sorry for bad english) Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    1
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are horrid, the controls are over responsive as your aim flies all over the place when you ADS.

    Assult kit seems to be the only kit worth using as the gun they give you at the start is a freking lazer gun, even though it seems like you will take ages to kill someone, even though 8/10 times you drop in 2 bullets sometimes less ).

    The spawns are horrid even in a game mode like rush where you would think it would take no effort to spawn you away from your enimies, if you think that then youre WRONG.

    And as for the maps, these maps are the worst pile of dog splooge ive ever come across, this one map wich i already forgot the name of is so bad i had to give it a -5/10, you spawn as attackers in a big open field, and as for the defender they get some of the best clipping spots in shooter game history, as you just as an attacker are destined to die over and over untill you run out of tickets.

    So all in all this is probably one of the worst shooters ive played within the last 3 years MW 3 being the other one
    Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2017
    0
    There comes a time where a game is just incapable and is not tested enough to be viable for a release yet, we call those incomplete gamesThere comes a time where a game is just incapable and is not tested enough to be viable for a release yet, we call those incomplete games usually.

    However Battlefield 4 takes it a lot further, i don't understand how anyone can claim this game works for them? Hardware changes, OS changes, driver revisions, from 2015 when i got the game till 2017 i have never had a single good time playing the game because it just will not remain stable and run on any hardware i throw at it, the typical GPU hung or device removed issue happens on both Nvidia and AMD GPU's, played it with a GTX 580, GTX 670, and now an R9 Fury, no difference, the only thing that changed was the ability to run the game at a high graphical preset and that is it... The game is a complete shambles.

    Says a lot when Battlefront II a game in Open Beta as i write this is far more stable than a AAA game that was patched within an inch of it's life.

    A sad story to what could have been a great game, utter trash.
    Expand

See all 951 User Reviews