Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    It's momentum. It just builds on the great things before and adds to them. Most of the online gameplay is addictive in order to level up theIt's momentum. It just builds on the great things before and adds to them. Most of the online gameplay is addictive in order to level up the weapons but that's the same kind of formula with other games too. I love this game and haven't played hardly anything else since it was released. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    There is a lot of new features and improvements compare to BF3. I don't know what people wanted after BF3 but imo this is a great game.There is a lot of new features and improvements compare to BF3. I don't know what people wanted after BF3 but imo this is a great game. Graphics are still awesome, for sure not mind blowing after BF3 but definitely better. Gameplay is a lot more enjoyable and different map to map. Maps are gigantic and with all the modes I never feel like playing again the same way. And the audio... just fantastic, it put you in the action so much more. I recommend this game 100% Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    As you can see, this review has been made more than two months after the game has been released.

    First of all, I can't really blame those
    As you can see, this review has been made more than two months after the game has been released.

    First of all, I can't really blame those who makes jokes about the game being in Beta. It is, even if possibly the one I'm playing today is Beta 3.0, and not the horrific pre-Alpha some of us bought on October 29th. The netcode is better than before (it doesn't take much do be better than trash, but it has improved; not reliable yet, but better), and some of the major bugs and, most importantly, the CRASHES, have been fixed, at least as far as I can say. Maybe I'm optimistic or just lucky, but I haven't experienced nothing special except, of course, some lag and a couple of minor reload bugs. The problem is: is Battlefield 4 worth playing now? Is Battlefield 4 worth NOT BEING ERADICATED from the planet just because it started to be less than God awful only around January? Let's make a pros-cons, it's easier for me and for you. Just one advice: i won't include in the cons the OBVIOUSLY KNOW BUGS, because that's already clear in my opinion. I will write pros and cons like if BF4 was a bug-free game, but these bugs will obviously weight in the score.

    PROS
    -Most of the maps are very well designed
    -It offers a truly astounding Battlefield experience WHEN IT WORKS, and BF fans know what i mean
    -Graphics are gorgeous, nothing to say about that
    -Sound, when it isn't bugged, it's really remarkable and realistic
    -The perk system makes sense, encouraging people not to play like morons unless they like losing their perks for their squad being wiped out

    CONS
    -The unlock system still sucks (i. e. assignments and gadgets progression criteria)
    -Excessively vast arsenal has room for lots of pointless weapons and, of course, some OP guns
    -The map design of Operation Locker can be found at the voice "How to NOT make a multiplayer map"
    -The game has an excessive load on your system in certain situations, where 60 stable fps, even with a quite high-end PC, are all but reachable 1080p
    -Questionable weapon balance (PDWs not universal, Carbine now universal, DMRs nerfed like and the same goes for most of the rocket launchers)
    -Hit detection is one of the worst I've ever seen
    -Map design is good for some game modes and bad as hell for others
    -The whole game costs 60 50 Thanks, BF4 Premium, for being expensive. And for existing

    I may not be an expert reviewer, and I sure as hell am not good enough to tell you or DICE how to actually make Battlefield 4 a game worth buying. The situation is better than two months ago, but can I tell that for me BF4 is better than its predecessor? Nope. And keep in account that I've played BF3 on the PS3, not exactly a wonderful porting. This is my opinion, as incoherent and senseless as you want, but sure as hell sincere. And 5 is my vote, same as before.
    Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    3
    It's a bummer to write this as I have been a huge battlefield fan since Battlefield 2. However, this game is such a disappointment that IIt's a bummer to write this as I have been a huge battlefield fan since Battlefield 2. However, this game is such a disappointment that I felt compelled to do so. While the graphics are fine (although not much better than BF3), this game is so buggy that it feels like a beta. Kicks from servers are not every now and then, but rather the norm. Honestly, the multiplayer is barely playable at times and is so glitchy with rubber banding and kicks that it has been virtually unplayable most of the time. Perhaps it would be wise to wait at least another couple of months before you look into getting BF4. Also, single player was very average and lacked any depth in my humble opinion. Either way, don't buy it for this platform until it is fixed. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    1 Because the game is VERY good, problem is you can't actually PLAY because every time it just crashes to desktop! Every 20/30 min it just1 Because the game is VERY good, problem is you can't actually PLAY because every time it just crashes to desktop! Every 20/30 min it just crashes with no reason and it's going on since the RELEASE! It's been WEEKS! I hope in a better future agencies like Antitrust will do something about EA and such because this is SELLING AN UNFINISHED, CRASHING PRODUCT! Totally disgusted! Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    0
    This game is unplayable. It crashes, there are glitches of glitches and the loading times are close to eternity. EA and DICE released a lateThis game is unplayable. It crashes, there are glitches of glitches and the loading times are close to eternity. EA and DICE released a late ALPHA version instead of a normal game. I loved the series but they ruined it. I won't buy it anymore Expand

See all 942 User Reviews