Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2897 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Just fantastic. You need to play to feel the hardcore. The singe player story is short, but the gameplay is amazing and very realistic. The sounds and the visualizing simply dazzling. When you see the storm, you will not want to play any other game.... The more I play this game, the more I love it. It is built for everyone, any style of gameplay. Great job DICE/EA Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    It's really a shame that they released BF4 so unfinished. It still has problems. I hope they fix them like they did with Battlefield 3, but Battlefield 4 was released a year too early.

    Still, it's the best multiplayer shooter out there. Second to none. I wish people wouldn't cry so much about bugs in-game, they should really concentrate on playing. Usually the whiners don't have a very good K/D or SPM. It's really not that bad now (spring 2014) as it was on release. DICE has still a lot of work to do, though. Naval Strike is fun as hell, best DLC so far.

    Single player was very boring, but who cares.
    Expand
  4. May 1, 2014
    5
    The new water system, dynamic maps, commander mode, and the improved effects are nice in Battlefield 4, but EA needs to slow down with the DLC. a high-end title should get no more than 3 DLC's, and DLC should be for an efficient price, and have actual content to offer. There are still many bugs in the game, even after the beta. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    3
    I have played bf since bf 1942, and have always had a good time with it. It has pretty much been my main game since UT2004.
    This is the first
    time i am actually BORED. I used to play bf3 metro to death but in bf4, it is just BORING. What happened? The engine feels slow and sluggish ( i have 2 gtx 780 classified SLI + OC 4770k 16gb ram. average 150fps +). i ping under 5 to all servers in my region. Seems as if all precision is gone, feel is gone.
    First time i feel like quitting the whole genre and looking for something else.

    Way too many options, unlocks bla bla. What happened to skill, refinement, balance and good feel? You lost yourself this time Dice and forgot the essence this started with which was FUN!
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    1
    Where do I even start.
    There is barely any sound working on many of the maps. Wait WHAT? A MAJOR multi-million dollar game, and the sound
    doesn't even work.
    As if that wasn't bad enough, imagine this: You're using one of your precious XP boosts and you're #1 in the leaderboard and getting insane kills. Oh wait... NOPE! Lets crash to the desktop at random times, losing ALL your progress in that amazing match you were just in, along with that 100% XP boost you earned.
    I'm not the only one... simply go to the Battlefield to read the rampant number of complaints. If you're even thinking about getting Premium, forget it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    After buying BF4 with Expansion packs, I've had to endure rampant bugs and broken promises. Enough is enough. Not worth a dime. Dice lies over and over and fails to make any meaningful fixes to the game. Expand

See all 850 User Reviews