Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2956 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Battlefield 4 is such a big improvement, Commander mode is so fun to play especially when your not with friends. The destructive buildings are awesome, the graphics are breathtaking and the fps O my GOD so good. It did have bugs at the start but so does every game. They have been fixed this happens to every game even call of duty so guy give a little leeway. Expand
  3. May 7, 2014
    9
    if i would have needed to write a review about BF4 the first 3 months i would give it a rating of 4 Max, cause Dice released a game which was broken and unfinished at best. Most of us had constant crashes all over the place and we coudlnt even finish a single round.
    After now a good 6+ Month we have to admit that they finally fixed most most of the stuff, (insane long time period thou) ... So those issues aside, BF4 is great to play if you love teamplay, however the the whole release is more like a BF3 DLC with a new name, graphics didnt get much better and the levolution they announced sooo big is more a fake, its tru big building fall, but its always the same so there is no AI to it, its more like a general map has two stages, one with all in tact, and one where most of the environment is destroyed. All over still a great game, but they way it was sold to us, and they horrible state it was delivered, should give them a big downrating, cause afterall it was a big cheat, imho
    Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. WOO bf4 bf4 bf4!!!!! That is what I said when I was installing the game, and then the crashes started. I've had this game since release and until now I have been a blind EA/Dice fanboy telling myself that, "Oh, they will fix the crashing, Oh, every game starts out buggy and glitchy" But it has been 6 MONTHS.....6 MONTHS AND I STILL CANNOT JOIN THE DAMN MULTIPLAYER WITHOUT THE CONSTANT CRASHES. I bought premium that costed 80$ I can understand if this is a 15 indie game developed by a schizophrenic cat, but a multimillion/billion company? Unacceptable.

    The game is damn fun when you can play it, the guns sound and feel good, the vehicles (when they are not glitching and teleporting around from bugs) are fun to play around with, the counter knifing is awesome :D, the maps are varied and fun to play around in, and the levolution is pretty and at times can change the whole course of the match. The graphics...we don't need to talk about them...you all know.

    The game is very fun and i like it alot, but the blatant lack of finishing the game and very bad attempts at fixing it, bumped your score down to a 5. THIS IS IN APRIL 2014....AND YOU STILL HAVENT FIXED IT. The last "update" now doesnt even let me join the game. Solid job guys.
    Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    3
    I know many don't care about single player and rightly so as the franchise is recognized for it's multiplayer mainly.

    But the 3 is for the
    single player effort. I thoroughly enjoyed the campaign despite the 'on the rails' nature of it. The story is a bit silly, however the delivery is awesome. Compared with CoD Ghosts, there is more flexibility in the gameplay and everything looks much better. Good effort, DICE! Would be great to get a few more SP campaigns as DLC's...

    However, no points for multiplayer. A total and utter failure so far! DICE, if you think I will fork another £50 for BF 5 you can think again. Unless you properly fix this pronto!

    And what is with the veeeerrrryyyyy looooong unlocks?!! It is too tedious, boring and if not fixed, is going to lose even more players.

    I hit this guy running towards me with 5-7 LMG bullets he keeps running towards me and kills me with 1 pistol shot!!! WTF?!! This is supposed to be a game, an enjoyable activity... When you die 9 times out of 10 (probably more actually), it is tedious.

    I am an very good CoD 4 player it is strange how bad I can be on BF4. Either PB is rubbish and these guys are cheaters or BF 4 is broken beyond repair!

    I had big hopes, considering the big disappointment that CoD Ghosts is. But is not worth paying £50 for a very short SP game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2014
    1
    Probably the worst battlefield I've ever bought. Videos shown while loading levels in SP stutter to the point of unviewable. In MP, gameplay mechanics are unresponsive, laggy, and unbalanced, even 8 months after release, BF3 plays a lot better than BF4. I'm going back to playing BF3, arguably the last good recent BF. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    The game looks and sounds very good especially now with 3d vision. But it is simply unplayable i played about 3 hours an it crashed 8 times. I considered buying cause i enjoyed BF2:BC2 and BF3 but it's not playable. Generally games don't crash on my PC i can't remember when i had the last crash. Even if they do, they crash once in 10 hours not every 10 minutes. Expand

See all 871 User Reviews