Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3536 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Battlefield 4 stays true to it's roots of battlefield 3 and 2, with a bit of Bad Company 2 thrown in the mix. The campaign is fairly dry andBattlefield 4 stays true to it's roots of battlefield 3 and 2, with a bit of Bad Company 2 thrown in the mix. The campaign is fairly dry and underwhelming but still yet a step up from the campaign of Battlefield 3. Multiplayer is a blast and does not fall short of Battlefield 3, the maps are outstanding and visually amazing and the arsenal is at an all time high. The character customization and weapon camouflage add a unique flare to your weapon. There are some less than exciting bugs in the game like graphics errors and crashes, but these are easy to look past if you realize that these bugs WILL get patched and are looking at the big picture of this game. Battlefield 4 is stunning. If you were a fan of previous games in the series I highly recommend picking up Battlefield 4. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    Bare in mind, I'm reviewing this game in 2015. Yes, I was playing it during its launch. It wasn't so bad at launch, but then again, I wasBare in mind, I'm reviewing this game in 2015. Yes, I was playing it during its launch. It wasn't so bad at launch, but then again, I was running this with two GTX Titans at the time, so things were quite smooth. This is easily the most complete shooter on PC. It's not a pure test of the reflexes like Call of Duty or Counter Strike. Strategy matters in Battlefield. The name says it all, as every map is literally a Battlefield. There are so many ways to approach a situation in this game that there's always a thirst for more.

    The single player may be lackluster, but who purchases Battlefield for the single player? I'd honestly be happy with a Battlefield game that doesn't have a single player, but rather a well-polished multiplayer. Specialization is a much better approach rather than an attempt to make a game that's a "Jack of all trades." That's just one man's opinion though.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    This bugs makes this game unplayable, if you are thinking about buying this game, don't, do it in a couple of months when the bugs are gone.This bugs makes this game unplayable, if you are thinking about buying this game, don't, do it in a couple of months when the bugs are gone. Because right now this game is in Alpha... Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    graphically a great looking game and the single player campaign this time around was somewhat decent. But BF games are all about thegraphically a great looking game and the single player campaign this time around was somewhat decent. But BF games are all about the multiplayer, sadly the horrible netcode along with an unacceptable amount of crashing issues makes the game unplayable.
    the game is packed with great features like levolution (dynamic evolving warzones) great weapons and vehicles But this just makes the netcode issues all the more frustrating as its a great game just out of arms reach. if completely fixed my score would easily hit a 9 but the problems are that bad to warrant a 3.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    1
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are horrid, the controls are over responsive as your aim flies all over the place when you ADS.

    Assult kit seems to be the only kit worth using as the gun they give you at the start is a freking lazer gun, even though it seems like you will take ages to kill someone, even though 8/10 times you drop in 2 bullets sometimes less ).

    The spawns are horrid even in a game mode like rush where you would think it would take no effort to spawn you away from your enimies, if you think that then youre WRONG.

    And as for the maps, these maps are the worst pile of dog splooge ive ever come across, this one map wich i already forgot the name of is so bad i had to give it a -5/10, you spawn as attackers in a big open field, and as for the defender they get some of the best clipping spots in shooter game history, as you just as an attacker are destined to die over and over untill you run out of tickets.

    So all in all this is probably one of the worst shooters ive played within the last 3 years MW 3 being the other one
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2017
    0
    Multiple Crashes, GOD AWFUL anti-cheat system that kicks players for no reason, multiple hackers, thanks and **** you EA. Dont buy this **** on PC.

See all 951 User Reviews