Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3567 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 4: E3 2013 Official Commander Mode Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Since being patched works brilliantly but if you want to run ultra 1080p full msaa or ultra 1440p no msaa i recommend a strong crossfire/sliSince being patched works brilliantly but if you want to run ultra 1080p full msaa or ultra 1440p no msaa i recommend a strong crossfire/sli set up to get the most of it but now its working brilliant game fun and beautiful to look at, just press h in game to hide chat to avoid the idiots all you will; see is cry more mimimimi and noob from some younger players and imature older ones but not the games fault they play it Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Although the game is having technical problems like crashing and bugs, DICE rolls out a patch every two weeks or so, and the bugs and crashesAlthough the game is having technical problems like crashing and bugs, DICE rolls out a patch every two weeks or so, and the bugs and crashes are slowly but steadily disappearing (crashes are already virtually non-existing). When the game works, it is the most amazing multiplayer you can have right now. The destruction is a big advancement from BF3, there is only a few things more cool than blowing up a wall an enemy is using for cover, or crushing an entire building onto a cluster of pesky snipers. Battlefield 4 offers the biggest variety of gameplay from tanking to stealthily flanking the enemy team to flying a jet around the whole map. It is definitely worth spending $60, or even $110 on. Though I might get frustrated because of the bugs and hit detection, but the next day I get right back in and have a blast Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    I have loved Battlefield for a long time, but now it is getting harder to deny that it has just become another EA cash crop. It is fun, butI have loved Battlefield for a long time, but now it is getting harder to deny that it has just become another EA cash crop. It is fun, but completely broken. Even when it works, it is just like 3. It is more of an expansion. I'm glad I only spent $30 but even then I wish I could actually play online. My score would be a bit higher if online was playable. Expand
  5. May 5, 2014
    3
    Dear god the gunplay is the most atrocious I have ever experienced in any first person shooter ever. The netcode is TERRIBLE, it has largelyDear god the gunplay is the most atrocious I have ever experienced in any first person shooter ever. The netcode is TERRIBLE, it has largely remained unchanged since launch. I highly doubt DICE will ever be able to fix it due to complex technical issues being so deeply rooted into the game code.
    To add to the above, there is a suppression mechanic which involves screen blur, weapon recoil increase and optic sway. Then there is visual recoil where your optic doesn't actually reflect where your bullets are going. Then there is flinching which makes your gun randomly jump every time you're hit. The combination of all of this means BF4 completely fails the "shooter" part of "first person shooter".

    3/10 for the sheer ambition, scope and variance in gameplay and vehicle combat. I will not forgive DICE/EA for knowingly releasing a massively unfinished product, then following it up with claims that the game was ready for release. As of May 2014, Battlefield 4 is still unfinished (in my opinion) and has some way to go before it could be called a polished product.
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2015
    1
    Dear God, how **** awful nowadays multiplayer FPS are.
    My last true multiplayer FPS experience was with UT2k4. After that, seeing how awful
    Dear God, how **** awful nowadays multiplayer FPS are.
    My last true multiplayer FPS experience was with UT2k4. After that, seeing how awful Call of Duty was, I gave up on online gameplay. This Christmas however, I saw Battlefield 4 on sale, the title everyone I asked about masturbates on, and decided to give it a try.
    Jesus **** Christ. I cannot even comprehend how **** awful multiplayer in this game is. I could write dozens of pages of how **** bad this game is and why, but truth to be told, it all boils down to absolutely **** **** this game's gameplay is. This is the right word: the ****. Remember BF1942? Well, it's everything upside down in here. People spawning everywhere, falling on cap zones, atrociously bad hitboxes and what retards love the most: a **** of irrelevant crap on the screen, medals, badges, unlockables! Play 1000 hours to unlock that awesome skin or a dogtag! If the gameplay is about RNG killing/getting killed at the moment of spawning, delude yourself with that another tasty Super Seargant of Cool badge! Run around doing nothing and get 10000 points! Try to play with others - get stomped by a camper that spawned behind your zones in tasteless, designless levels!

    I feel dirty after playing it for few days. Unfortunately it's too late to get a refund.

    But, holy **** how bad this game is. Guess it's time to get back with LAN Quake 3 parties.
    Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2017
    0
    There comes a time where a game is just incapable and is not tested enough to be viable for a release yet, we call those incomplete gamesThere comes a time where a game is just incapable and is not tested enough to be viable for a release yet, we call those incomplete games usually.

    However Battlefield 4 takes it a lot further, i don't understand how anyone can claim this game works for them? Hardware changes, OS changes, driver revisions, from 2015 when i got the game till 2017 i have never had a single good time playing the game because it just will not remain stable and run on any hardware i throw at it, the typical GPU hung or device removed issue happens on both Nvidia and AMD GPU's, played it with a GTX 580, GTX 670, and now an R9 Fury, no difference, the only thing that changed was the ability to run the game at a high graphical preset and that is it... The game is a complete shambles.

    Says a lot when Battlefront II a game in Open Beta as i write this is far more stable than a AAA game that was patched within an inch of it's life.

    A sad story to what could have been a great game, utter trash.
    Expand

See all 952 User Reviews