Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3012 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    It's momentum. It just builds on the great things before and adds to them. Most of the online gameplay is addictive in order to level up the weapons but that's the same kind of formula with other games too. I love this game and haven't played hardly anything else since it was released. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Although the game is having technical problems like crashing and bugs, DICE rolls out a patch every two weeks or so, and the bugs and crashes are slowly but steadily disappearing (crashes are already virtually non-existing). When the game works, it is the most amazing multiplayer you can have right now. The destruction is a big advancement from BF3, there is only a few things more cool than blowing up a wall an enemy is using for cover, or crushing an entire building onto a cluster of pesky snipers. Battlefield 4 offers the biggest variety of gameplay from tanking to stealthily flanking the enemy team to flying a jet around the whole map. It is definitely worth spending $60, or even $110 on. Though I might get frustrated because of the bugs and hit detection, but the next day I get right back in and have a blast Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. WOO bf4 bf4 bf4!!!!! That is what I said when I was installing the game, and then the crashes started. I've had this game since release and until now I have been a blind EA/Dice fanboy telling myself that, "Oh, they will fix the crashing, Oh, every game starts out buggy and glitchy" But it has been 6 MONTHS.....6 MONTHS AND I STILL CANNOT JOIN THE DAMN MULTIPLAYER WITHOUT THE CONSTANT CRASHES. I bought premium that costed 80$ I can understand if this is a 15 indie game developed by a schizophrenic cat, but a multimillion/billion company? Unacceptable.

    The game is damn fun when you can play it, the guns sound and feel good, the vehicles (when they are not glitching and teleporting around from bugs) are fun to play around with, the counter knifing is awesome :D, the maps are varied and fun to play around in, and the levolution is pretty and at times can change the whole course of the match. The graphics...we don't need to talk about them...you all know.

    The game is very fun and i like it alot, but the blatant lack of finishing the game and very bad attempts at fixing it, bumped your score down to a 5. THIS IS IN APRIL 2014....AND YOU STILL HAVENT FIXED IT. The last "update" now doesnt even let me join the game. Solid job guys.
    Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    3
    To me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that your frustrations will prevail 90% of the time and at the end of the round (if you don't rage/quit) you probably will be very angry. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2014
    1
    Again, we can see a lot of bias coming from critics. How is it that the fans give it an average score of 6, but reviewers like IGN and Machinima give it an 8 or 9? Well, the answer is money, that's the bottom line. Machinima stands to make a great deal of money on sponsored youtube channels that show BF4 gameplay (notice BF4 doesn't have nearly the amount of content creators as BF3...why do you think that is?)

    EA DICE buys millions in adspace from IGN, so it's no surprise their review is entirely irrelevant and biased.

    So, here's a completely unbiased review from an actual Battlefield fan - one who has owned every single iteration of the franchise to-date:

    The is probably the worst launch of a AAA title I have ever seen. It is entirely unconscionable that the game was shipped in such a broken state. The bugs range from unusual to game-breaking, and you don't have to look very far at all to find them. While BF3 felt rushed with its short development schedule, huge list of features that were never fully realized - not to mention promises that were never delivered, it is nothing compared to the state of BF4.

    Several developers have anonymously stated that although they knew the game had not passed QA (what we used to call bugtesting), they went ahead and shipped the game anyway.

    Whatever happened to finishing a project before you sold it. EA / DICE has gone over the line with this game, they've sold half a product with a promise to fix the rest later. A promise only delivered after a huge backlash against their broken game. I have since abandoned it, and I would caution anyone who values their money to avoid this title. Premium is a joke, as the DLC maps are - unsurprisingly - unfinished. Jets that can't take off on the runways, areas of the maps where models do not clip properly, MAJOR netcode issues, major vehicle unbalances...the list goes on and on.

    Also, as has been mentioned elsewhere, the developers have added in RUSH only as an afterthought. The maps are so poorly balanced as to make some of these maps unplayable. It's clear that whoever is in charge at EA/DICE is just directing the team to create as much content as possible, spend no time proofreading their code or testing it, and pushing these broken, half-products to market as quickly as possible.

    Like I said, I have owned every other game in the series prior to this point, and I am MASSIVELY disappointed. So much so that I have abandoned my favourite series, fool me once, shame on you, I won't be around to see how much worse the next Battlefield is.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    0
    This game is just a cheap copy of BF3. Everything they changed got worse. BF3 had great maps for all types of game modes but the BF4 maps are really bad and you can only play conquest. It's impossible to play rush in BF4. The unlocking system is really bad in BF4. Engineer became a terrible class, especially because the first weapon is just awful. Levolution is just an eye candy for trailers, after a few hours of playing you don't really notice the "dynamic elements" anymore. Graphics improved slightly but the hardware requirements got a lot higher too. If your PC can run BF3 without any problems you shouldn't think it can run BF4 too. The netcode got even worse than in BF3. You have to play the sp to unlock some of the weapons, which wouldn't be so bad if the developers could program properly. Sometimes the story just doesn't continue and you have to restart the game, sometimes you fall through the ground. It's programmed so badly it's even a pain to start the game because it keeps crashing. I blame EA because they wanted to release to game so early to make some more money. Expand

See all 887 User Reviews