Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! However, there are minor issues (though so byflo and BF3) which I think in the near future and tweak the game will beThis is a great game! However, there are minor issues (though so byflo and BF3) which I think in the near future and tweak the game will be the best for the next couple of years! Good luck DICE Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    I Pre-Ordered Battlefield 4 because i thought it looked really cool, I was surely not disappointed as this is a great game. I am not saying itI Pre-Ordered Battlefield 4 because i thought it looked really cool, I was surely not disappointed as this is a great game. I am not saying it is flawless but it is all around a clean and fun... A very good buy with months of enjoyment! Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    Although this could have been the best Battlefield game ever, this chance was wasted and the legacy of "the best game ever" (in my opinion)Although this could have been the best Battlefield game ever, this chance was wasted and the legacy of "the best game ever" (in my opinion) was squandered just to compete with the "other" game. This game was unfinished right from the start (even the beta was an alpha indeed) and was rushed to be released before COD. Yes, it introduces many new -and nice- features but turns into pure abomination in the end due to the constant freezing, disconnections and the countless bugs. On my ps3 system (don't begin to say the gameplay was intended for next-gen since there's something called "optimization" and if the PS3 system wasn't enough to deal with the game then it shouldn't be released for that console in the first place), it freezes on my "every" play and enough is enough. I regret that I even purchased Premium right from the start. The patches, on the other hand, didn't help at all. It's sad to see the Battlefield series at its current state. I hope BF5 will be tested properly and have more constant MP (as well as SP). My 5 out of 10 is dedicated to the fun I had with the game in spite of many frustrating moments. But I have to admit, this is the worst BF product ever. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    This game would be much more fun if it didn't crash ever other time you launched it. It feels like they really don't want me to play the gameThis game would be much more fun if it didn't crash ever other time you launched it. It feels like they really don't want me to play the game as it crashes each time I attempt to. When I spend upwards of $60 on a game, I don't expect it to be polished to the shiniest gold object on earth, but I expect it to work better than this load of BS. When it does work the game is very fun and enjoyable, but alas, it only works when it feels like it and this game is like your teenage daughter who hates doing chores. I would give it higher, but I feel like I can't because I haven't played it enough, despite having it for over 2 weeks now. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    EA pushes another one out too early. If you are a battlefield fan, wait until AT LEAST xmas to buy this game. As it stands, it's junk. I'veEA pushes another one out too early. If you are a battlefield fan, wait until AT LEAST xmas to buy this game. As it stands, it's junk. I've gotten maybe 5 minutes of actual, satisfying gameplay out of it without crashing. Even with this new patch they just rolled out to fix the issues, and actually, it seems worse now that they did that. If you like paying retail for an alpha experience, this game is for you. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2015
    0
    This game is now 2 years old, and it is still littered with game breaking bugs. I am still unable to finish the campaign due to a gameThis game is now 2 years old, and it is still littered with game breaking bugs. I am still unable to finish the campaign due to a game breaking glitch that prevents progression. But of course, no one plays Battlefield for the campaign, but fear not, there is a vast selection of bugs and glitches in the multiplayer as well 2 years later!

    The game can't even install its own cheat prevention properly, prompting me to reinstall punkbuster (manually) seemingly any time I try come back to the game, trying to get someone to show up on your friends list can take anywhere between 30 seconds to... Never. And most recently, the audio cut out in the middle of a game.
    As if that's not bad enough, when BF4 killed its own audio, it also killed the audio for my entire PC, forcing me to reboot to get my sound back.

    I would not recommend this trash to anyone, and would STRONGLY recommend avoiding all future games developed by DICE. It's a shame that they got their hands on Battlefront, I would have been greatly looking forward to playing it if it was being developed by anyone BUT DICE.
    Expand

See all 940 User Reviews