Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2918 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Just fantastic. You need to play to feel the hardcore. The singe player story is short, but the gameplay is amazing and very realistic. The sounds and the visualizing simply dazzling. When you see the storm, you will not want to play any other game.... The more I play this game, the more I love it. It is built for everyone, any style of gameplay. Great job DICE/EA Expand
  3. May 7, 2014
    9
    if i would have needed to write a review about BF4 the first 3 months i would give it a rating of 4 Max, cause Dice released a game which was broken and unfinished at best. Most of us had constant crashes all over the place and we coudlnt even finish a single round.
    After now a good 6+ Month we have to admit that they finally fixed most most of the stuff, (insane long time period thou) ... So those issues aside, BF4 is great to play if you love teamplay, however the the whole release is more like a BF3 DLC with a new name, graphics didnt get much better and the levolution they announced sooo big is more a fake, its tru big building fall, but its always the same so there is no AI to it, its more like a general map has two stages, one with all in tact, and one where most of the environment is destroyed. All over still a great game, but they way it was sold to us, and they horrible state it was delivered, should give them a big downrating, cause afterall it was a big cheat, imho
    Expand
  4. May 19, 2014
    5
    what the **** people!!!! 10/10,9/10,8/10 are ****ing kidding me? this game is average at best because of the glitches and the bugs and if you fix the glitches and bugs all you are left with is battlefield 3.0. its not bad but it sure as **** does not deserve a 9 or 10/10. use you ****ing minds!!! Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    3
    Fun game. But this game should not even be released yet. To many bugs, glitches and connection problems. Of all the servers you can probally only join about half and on some of those you lose connection without any reason. Don't buy this game until the glitches and bugs are fixed. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    1
    I wish that creators would update the damage in this game I am unbelievably irritated by this factor and the main reason is that the first shotgun you unlock take 3 shots to kill your 1 person and the assault class weapons are overpowered and takes on average 2-5 rounds to kill. I am so p*ssed I would shorten my life span to a half just to break the stupid creators necks. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    After buying the game it took 2 solid days to finally fix EA account problems that EA themselves cause. After that I played a great online experience and an epic campaign. However it then froze and acted as though I had quit the game all together. Upon rebooting, I was angered to see that everything had been reset. Nothing like playing through and unlocking so much just so that you can do it all over again. The game itself would be a major success if EA wasn't behind it just plain destroying the series with it's poor service as it has done with so many other franchises. Expand

See all 856 User Reviews