Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3088 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Great game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashingGreat game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashing appear to be fixed and i havent had any issues in a while. I highly recommend. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This is the year that BF beats out CoD. I played COd and I'm done and probably not going back again! The only complaint this year for BF isThis is the year that BF beats out CoD. I played COd and I'm done and probably not going back again! The only complaint this year for BF is the game feels buggier than the BF3 launch and I'm still getting a lot of lag even on sub 20 ping servers. The Battlelog is even deeper than before and the maps are entertaining so far. 15 hours in and I'm enjoying the ride. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    I have loved Battlefield for a long time, but now it is getting harder to deny that it has just become another EA cash crop. It is fun, butI have loved Battlefield for a long time, but now it is getting harder to deny that it has just become another EA cash crop. It is fun, but completely broken. Even when it works, it is just like 3. It is more of an expansion. I'm glad I only spent $30 but even then I wish I could actually play online. My score would be a bit higher if online was playable. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    3
    I know many don't care about single player and rightly so as the franchise is recognized for it's multiplayer mainly.

    But the 3 is for the
    I know many don't care about single player and rightly so as the franchise is recognized for it's multiplayer mainly.

    But the 3 is for the single player effort. I thoroughly enjoyed the campaign despite the 'on the rails' nature of it. The story is a bit silly, however the delivery is awesome. Compared with CoD Ghosts, there is more flexibility in the gameplay and everything looks much better. Good effort, DICE! Would be great to get a few more SP campaigns as DLC's...

    However, no points for multiplayer. A total and utter failure so far! DICE, if you think I will fork another £50 for BF 5 you can think again. Unless you properly fix this pronto!

    And what is with the veeeerrrryyyyy looooong unlocks?!! It is too tedious, boring and if not fixed, is going to lose even more players.

    I hit this guy running towards me with 5-7 LMG bullets he keeps running towards me and kills me with 1 pistol shot!!! WTF?!! This is supposed to be a game, an enjoyable activity... When you die 9 times out of 10 (probably more actually), it is tedious.

    I am an very good CoD 4 player it is strange how bad I can be on BF4. Either PB is rubbish and these guys are cheaters or BF 4 is broken beyond repair!

    I had big hopes, considering the big disappointment that CoD Ghosts is. But is not worth paying £50 for a very short SP game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    1
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are horrid, the controls are over responsive as your aim flies all over the place when you ADS.

    Assult kit seems to be the only kit worth using as the gun they give you at the start is a freking lazer gun, even though it seems like you will take ages to kill someone, even though 8/10 times you drop in 2 bullets sometimes less ).

    The spawns are horrid even in a game mode like rush where you would think it would take no effort to spawn you away from your enimies, if you think that then youre WRONG.

    And as for the maps, these maps are the worst pile of dog splooge ive ever come across, this one map wich i already forgot the name of is so bad i had to give it a -5/10, you spawn as attackers in a big open field, and as for the defender they get some of the best clipping spots in shooter game history, as you just as an attacker are destined to die over and over untill you run out of tickets.

    So all in all this is probably one of the worst shooters ive played within the last 3 years MW 3 being the other one
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2014
    0
    This is a very good game, just don't bother with any of the expansions/dlcs which no one plays 1-2 months after release. If you only want toThis is a very good game, just don't bother with any of the expansions/dlcs which no one plays 1-2 months after release. If you only want to play Conquest mode on the stock maps then go ahead and get this game, though 1-2 years from now (fall 2014) you will only be able to find a dozen servers running. Expand

See all 909 User Reviews