Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Great game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashingGreat game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashing appear to be fixed and i havent had any issues in a while. I highly recommend. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    This isn't a FPS game! It's a true war simulator! Other than a few crashes and the dumb use browser instead of an in-game menu system, thisThis isn't a FPS game! It's a true war simulator! Other than a few crashes and the dumb use browser instead of an in-game menu system, this game is out of the park! Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Congrats to Dice, they've done it beating the living crap out of CoD. CoD ruled for me for a long time but BF4 is vastly superior to thisCongrats to Dice, they've done it beating the living crap out of CoD. CoD ruled for me for a long time but BF4 is vastly superior to this years offering. It's democratised the series and allowed more casual/arcadey players in without sacrificing what the fans like. First PC game I've bought in years! Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    3
    It's a bummer to write this as I have been a huge battlefield fan since Battlefield 2. However, this game is such a disappointment that IIt's a bummer to write this as I have been a huge battlefield fan since Battlefield 2. However, this game is such a disappointment that I felt compelled to do so. While the graphics are fine (although not much better than BF3), this game is so buggy that it feels like a beta. Kicks from servers are not every now and then, but rather the norm. Honestly, the multiplayer is barely playable at times and is so glitchy with rubber banding and kicks that it has been virtually unplayable most of the time. Perhaps it would be wise to wait at least another couple of months before you look into getting BF4. Also, single player was very average and lacked any depth in my humble opinion. Either way, don't buy it for this platform until it is fixed. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    1
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are
    I wish i could give halfs for this game because then my rating would be 1.5/10.

    This game was a huge dissapointment to me, the maps are horrid, the controls are over responsive as your aim flies all over the place when you ADS.

    Assult kit seems to be the only kit worth using as the gun they give you at the start is a freking lazer gun, even though it seems like you will take ages to kill someone, even though 8/10 times you drop in 2 bullets sometimes less ).

    The spawns are horrid even in a game mode like rush where you would think it would take no effort to spawn you away from your enimies, if you think that then youre WRONG.

    And as for the maps, these maps are the worst pile of dog splooge ive ever come across, this one map wich i already forgot the name of is so bad i had to give it a -5/10, you spawn as attackers in a big open field, and as for the defender they get some of the best clipping spots in shooter game history, as you just as an attacker are destined to die over and over untill you run out of tickets.

    So all in all this is probably one of the worst shooters ive played within the last 3 years MW 3 being the other one
    Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2014
    0
    You could say this in many different ways, but the simplest is this. The game does not work. Even after a year of patches, its a horrible,You could say this in many different ways, but the simplest is this. The game does not work. Even after a year of patches, its a horrible, frustrating mess. It looks pretty, but the quality is nowhere near robust or fast enough for a satisfying FPS experience. It was never finished, and DICE have now lost interest and moved onto Battlefield Hardline. Please do yourself a favour a steer clear of this game. Expand

See all 920 User Reviews