Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3535 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Battlefield 4 stays true to it's roots of battlefield 3 and 2, with a bit of Bad Company 2 thrown in the mix. The campaign is fairly dry andBattlefield 4 stays true to it's roots of battlefield 3 and 2, with a bit of Bad Company 2 thrown in the mix. The campaign is fairly dry and underwhelming but still yet a step up from the campaign of Battlefield 3. Multiplayer is a blast and does not fall short of Battlefield 3, the maps are outstanding and visually amazing and the arsenal is at an all time high. The character customization and weapon camouflage add a unique flare to your weapon. There are some less than exciting bugs in the game like graphics errors and crashes, but these are easy to look past if you realize that these bugs WILL get patched and are looking at the big picture of this game. Battlefield 4 is stunning. If you were a fan of previous games in the series I highly recommend picking up Battlefield 4. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    The Battlefield franchise has it's ups and downs. In this case, for Battlefield 4 has sure pleased me. Battlefield 4 is a "First PersonThe Battlefield franchise has it's ups and downs. In this case, for Battlefield 4 has sure pleased me. Battlefield 4 is a "First Person Shooter (FPS)" and is FILLED with action and pure excitement. I have played this game for around 200 hours and I must say that it is a well-balanced game, but does contain bugs.

    When this game first launched in it's Beta, it had uncountable problems. Network issues, game issues, absolutely terrible service, and overall a bad experience. Now although DICE, the developers of Battlefield 4, has fixed most of these issues after the initial release of the product, it still contains issues to this day.

    DICE is constantly trying to improve, but doesn't allow room for that to happen. Recently, in the upcoming game "Battlefield: Hardline," a new developer team "Visceral" has teamed up with DICE and took control of the new product. They initialized an 'Open Beta' for the game and I got a chance to play it. It is going to be a great game and there were not many bugs, but I will save that review for another time. While DICE is a great team, Visceral beats DICE at least in the support department because they were really open to criticism and suggestions, which DICE is coming shy of.

    So while this game has it's ups and downs, I think it does deserve more attention as they are always improving it. I'd suggest it to a friend.
    Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    5
    Ignoring all the game breaking bugs Battlefield 4 fails to innovate in comparison to Battlefield 3. The innovations that Dice attempted to addIgnoring all the game breaking bugs Battlefield 4 fails to innovate in comparison to Battlefield 3. The innovations that Dice attempted to add such as new weapons, levelution, and new game modes lacked in comparison to what made Battlefield 3 an enjoyable game.

    Other than that, Battlefield 4 would've been a better $35-$40 expansion pack to big brother Battlefield 3.
    Expand
  5. May 5, 2014
    3
    Dear god the gunplay is the most atrocious I have ever experienced in any first person shooter ever. The netcode is TERRIBLE, it has largelyDear god the gunplay is the most atrocious I have ever experienced in any first person shooter ever. The netcode is TERRIBLE, it has largely remained unchanged since launch. I highly doubt DICE will ever be able to fix it due to complex technical issues being so deeply rooted into the game code.
    To add to the above, there is a suppression mechanic which involves screen blur, weapon recoil increase and optic sway. Then there is visual recoil where your optic doesn't actually reflect where your bullets are going. Then there is flinching which makes your gun randomly jump every time you're hit. The combination of all of this means BF4 completely fails the "shooter" part of "first person shooter".

    3/10 for the sheer ambition, scope and variance in gameplay and vehicle combat. I will not forgive DICE/EA for knowingly releasing a massively unfinished product, then following it up with claims that the game was ready for release. As of May 2014, Battlefield 4 is still unfinished (in my opinion) and has some way to go before it could be called a polished product.
    Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2014
    1
    I was a huge fan of Bad Company and BF3, but this is like finding out you have herpes on your 21st birthday. I've never been so disappointedI was a huge fan of Bad Company and BF3, but this is like finding out you have herpes on your 21st birthday. I've never been so disappointed in a franchise than BF4. Why companies feel the need to completely muck everything up between versions is beyond me, but I guess when you make Helen Keller the lead game director you wind up with BF4. I never thought I'd veer off the path, but dare I say I'll be entertaining other FPS's before the next release of this heap. EA if you're reading this, I've never asked for my money back, but there's a first time for everything. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    So I will give my opinion about Multiplayer only, since most of users play BF for that. Game has been out like 4 months, I got it justSo I will give my opinion about Multiplayer only, since most of users play BF for that. Game has been out like 4 months, I got it just yesterday, hoping that most of bugs will be fixed. I will not discuss graphics, gameplay, weapons etc., because that's all been done by others and there are plenty of reviews on YouTube. However, there is one thing that hasn't changed yet and I don't think it will ever be fixed. The "NETCODE".

    Looks like BF franchise is heading towards CoD style, dumbing down weapon handling, adding 100+ camos for each weapon, custon player cards and other stuff. But one thing they have gotten exactly as in Black Ops 2, is lag compensation. I don't remember myself raging about such things in BF3, but there it happens all the time, even when my ping is below 40. Most of the time I just die instantly. From medium or slow firing weapons. At long range.
    Let's say, I run around a corner, get one hit sound effect, screen flashes red, and I'm dead. In 1/5 of a second. That is unacceptable in Normal mode. In BF3 players at least have time to react when they are getting hit, here you just die instantly. And even if you make it in cover, you still die!
    Another example. I see an enemy. I know, that he might see me too. I start shooting and I have 100% health. Then my screen shakes for split second. And then I die. I guess they are trying to compensate lag and they send all his bullets at the same time, because he was shooting at me first, I just didn't receive his shots in time. This is bulls**t and totally ruins the Battlefield experience. I might as well take my rage to Call Of Duty.
    And they still expect us to pay over 100$ if you want Premium. Glad I didn't pay more than 30 $ for this. At this point it's garbage with nice graphics. We just have to hope it won't stay that way.
    Expand

See all 989 User Reviews