Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Great game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashingGreat game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashing appear to be fixed and i havent had any issues in a while. I highly recommend. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    This isn't a FPS game! It's a true war simulator! Other than a few crashes and the dumb use browser instead of an in-game menu system, thisThis isn't a FPS game! It's a true war simulator! Other than a few crashes and the dumb use browser instead of an in-game menu system, this game is out of the park! Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    If I never played Battlefield 3, I would have given this game a much higher score, but it is just so similar to BF3 in my opinion that I don'tIf I never played Battlefield 3, I would have given this game a much higher score, but it is just so similar to BF3 in my opinion that I don't see this game warranting a very high score. The multiplayer is pretty similar to BF3's, albeit with much better load out customization, but the "levolution" that was being hyped up in the advertising felt rather underwhelming.

    The campaign is just awful. It's more of the same "America Good Guys, other countries Bad Guys" that we've seen in other games. I would have rather had a campaign that actually allowed us to play on both sides of the conflict to actually see that the soldiers fighting for their banners were as human as the rest. Needless to say, I think I bailed from the Campaign about three quarters of the way through, because I was getting rather sick of it. It is quite literally the first game who's campaign I never completed.

    As I said, I would be giving it a better score if I never played BF3, but as it stands, the game just feels like a moderate upgrade over the previous Battlefield.
    Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    3
    To me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that yourTo me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that your frustrations will prevail 90% of the time and at the end of the round (if you don't rage/quit) you probably will be very angry. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    1
    Dice produced an online with spectacular console freezing features. If you like rebooting your console more than once or twice in a 10 minuteDice produced an online with spectacular console freezing features. If you like rebooting your console more than once or twice in a 10 minute period then this game is for you. Team play, good luck. You can do it after you learn to find a game with more than enough slots for your team. After the game starts, if your console does not freeze, then you'll find that your team is split up. Maybe part of your team will be missing; yes, their consoles froze on them. After the first game is over, BF4 will have you all on the same team for the next game. Maybe your frozen team members can rejoin you or you them. Most likely, rage quitting will be the norm. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2014
    0
    You could say this in many different ways, but the simplest is this. The game does not work. Even after a year of patches, its a horrible,You could say this in many different ways, but the simplest is this. The game does not work. Even after a year of patches, its a horrible, frustrating mess. It looks pretty, but the quality is nowhere near robust or fast enough for a satisfying FPS experience. It was never finished, and DICE have now lost interest and moved onto Battlefield Hardline. Please do yourself a favour a steer clear of this game. Expand

See all 922 User Reviews