Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Battlefield 4 stays true to it's roots of battlefield 3 and 2, with a bit of Bad Company 2 thrown in the mix. The campaign is fairly dry andBattlefield 4 stays true to it's roots of battlefield 3 and 2, with a bit of Bad Company 2 thrown in the mix. The campaign is fairly dry and underwhelming but still yet a step up from the campaign of Battlefield 3. Multiplayer is a blast and does not fall short of Battlefield 3, the maps are outstanding and visually amazing and the arsenal is at an all time high. The character customization and weapon camouflage add a unique flare to your weapon. There are some less than exciting bugs in the game like graphics errors and crashes, but these are easy to look past if you realize that these bugs WILL get patched and are looking at the big picture of this game. Battlefield 4 is stunning. If you were a fan of previous games in the series I highly recommend picking up Battlefield 4. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    The negative reviews here are the reason that you can never trust a hyped games score on metacritic this game is much much better that aThe negative reviews here are the reason that you can never trust a hyped games score on metacritic this game is much much better that a 6.2...
    Everyone worried about 1st day glitches and server issues (that are arguably much better than any other mass multi game out there)
    Anyone also playing this game for the SP campaign is foolish why they even include it, I don't know I would mark them down here if I cared (I only play it for the M249)
    Overall, this is the best current MP shooter game available I don't care if you have a hard-on for COD or CS1.6 this has the best mix for customisability/graphics/environment and realism (aside from ARMA) available.
    Whilst I don't think this game's initial maps were as good as BF3 (except Paracel Storm) I think the variation within each level is amazing i.e. you can have close quarter fighting in a map with vehicles this brings a whole new dynamic to the game that we didn't have in BF3
    I think, like BF3 (and remember enthusiasts, BF3 wasn't without a massive amount of issues too) BF4 will improve as the title goes on for the next 2 years e.g. the Sniper class NEEDS to be nerfed it is far to COD like (to note, this is a negative) and too easy to master

    Overall I mark this down for the required tweaks, but am not emotional enough to let it ruin an otherwise perfect game!
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Not good not, not bad.You get "new" engine and weapons and new maps and bad singleplayer with very bad AI.EA prepared for you lot of DLC andNot good not, not bad.You get "new" engine and weapons and new maps and bad singleplayer with very bad AI.EA prepared for you lot of DLC and other stuff and thats everything. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    3
    This review will focus on multiplayer only, since the single player is so ridiculously terrible it's not worth your or my time.

    Battlefield
    This review will focus on multiplayer only, since the single player is so ridiculously terrible it's not worth your or my time.

    Battlefield 4 is the latest but not greatest addition to the battlefield series by EA/Dice. The game is a FPS shooter with vehicles at your disposal with the addition of “commander mode”. The classes and guns are similar to battlefield 3, and the maps are better designed. The shooting mechanics and graphics are solid, however, this is really the only highlight of the game. There are many problems with performance such as glitches, crashes, frame rate drops, I have a gtx 770 oc, i5 processor, 8gb ram. I should be able to max this game out, but I can’t because doing so would make the game crash more often than not and slow the frame rate down to a crawl in some areas of the map. There are endless bugs which are not being patched soon enough, I have 20 hours in this game, so far I have experienced sound loops and muting, freezing, being stuck and unable to move and whats worse is that some of these bugs are similar to battlefield 3.
    The “levelution” idea seems great on paper, but impractical in reality since it’s triggered at the start of most games (apart from parcel storm) and only really makes a significant change to a small portion of the map, it’s essentially a gimmick. The commander mode requires you to be at a certain level, and even then most matches are one sided with one team having a commander and the other team doesn’t since commanders can call in gunships or call in missiles at any point of the map. This significantly unbalances the game as there is no AI to take over as commander. Vehicles handle the same as bf3 but there are some nerfs to the tanks with the addition of ammunition on the main cannon.
    I will forever be against “premium”, mainly because of the fact that it was advertised before the game was even out, and gives an unfair advantage to queue jump making joining popular servers and playing with friends near impossible. And the weapons you get from premium will give players a significant advantage over those who didn’t buy into the DLC.
    If you are looking for a game which made a significant improvement on graphics, gameplay style and performance than battlefield 3, this is not it and it would be best to stick with battlefield 2 or 2142.
    Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    An alright game WHEN it works and doesnt crash. Thats right people this game is still crashing 6 weeks after the release. And when the gameAn alright game WHEN it works and doesnt crash. Thats right people this game is still crashing 6 weeks after the release. And when the game doesnt crash it seems that everything around you get delayed the longer you play. So you maybe shooting someone while you are already dead.. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2016
    0
    This is the worst and more unstable game I have ever played. After years of updates, there is only one thing that's sure: new patch = newThis is the worst and more unstable game I have ever played. After years of updates, there is only one thing that's sure: new patch = new crashes.
    Then, game play and physics are crap I am not buying any DICE game or EA ever again.
    Good job!
    Expand

See all 964 User Reviews