Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3061 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Nearly perfect!
    The game would be the perfect Battlefield experience for all fans.
    The maps are big and intense. The sounds and graphics are
    amazing. And the gun-play feels a lot more realistic than in Bf3.

    I would like to give the game a 10/10 but there are still some sound bugs and client crashes for me.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Congrats to Dice, they've done it beating the living crap out of CoD. CoD ruled for me for a long time but BF4 is vastly superior to this years offering. It's democratised the series and allowed more casual/arcadey players in without sacrificing what the fans like. First PC game I've bought in years! Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    3
    I know many don't care about single player and rightly so as the franchise is recognized for it's multiplayer mainly.

    But the 3 is for the
    single player effort. I thoroughly enjoyed the campaign despite the 'on the rails' nature of it. The story is a bit silly, however the delivery is awesome. Compared with CoD Ghosts, there is more flexibility in the gameplay and everything looks much better. Good effort, DICE! Would be great to get a few more SP campaigns as DLC's...

    However, no points for multiplayer. A total and utter failure so far! DICE, if you think I will fork another £50 for BF 5 you can think again. Unless you properly fix this pronto!

    And what is with the veeeerrrryyyyy looooong unlocks?!! It is too tedious, boring and if not fixed, is going to lose even more players.

    I hit this guy running towards me with 5-7 LMG bullets he keeps running towards me and kills me with 1 pistol shot!!! WTF?!! This is supposed to be a game, an enjoyable activity... When you die 9 times out of 10 (probably more actually), it is tedious.

    I am an very good CoD 4 player it is strange how bad I can be on BF4. Either PB is rubbish and these guys are cheaters or BF 4 is broken beyond repair!

    I had big hopes, considering the big disappointment that CoD Ghosts is. But is not worth paying £50 for a very short SP game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2014
    1
    I'd like to thanks EA for their 7 days trial. Saved me 30 bucks or so !

    Bought BF3, got bored in under a week, and wanted to give BF4 a
    try.

    Well this is basically BF3.5. Netcode still crap, origin is a total joke, no lobby, as less userfriendly as possible in 2014, "premium" things to buy (read : pay2win), no balance, a nightmare for new players, etc. etc.

    Thanks EA for yet another licence you kill. You guys are really good at it !

    Thanks programmers for all the fun in BF2, last good game in the franchise. We had a blast. Memories are eternal.
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2014
    0
    I created a profile just to review this game. I doubt this review will be read, but honestly writing it just feels like the right thing to do in case I can save anyone out there hard earned money.

    Just know that yes, this is a pretty good game. I do not have the experience with the series that many do have, but to me the game is pretty to look at, has great shooting and driving mechanics, and a fantastically grandiose setting. However, I do not feel that I can give the game anything other than a zero because for me it is simply not playable at any graphics settings.

    I want to like this game because of the huge spectacular battles. The destructible environments and large maps really provide great eye candy. However, if you are playing on a large server and actually want to join the fray, you will quickly find yourself getting stuck in place repeatedly (rubber banding), and the game will basically become your own personal suicide simulator 2014. These issues are further exacerbated when you are in the middle of a firefight; however they remain if you are far away from the fighting.

    I initially believed that this was simply due to my computer or internet for whatever reason, but a quick internet search will immediately show that not only are my issues not an isolated incident but also that they have been in existence and unsolved for over a year now. Many generous individuals have provided possible fixes online, but none of them have worked for me.

    If you think you are better at solving computer issues than me, you may very well be correct. Just know that I have spent more hours trying to fix this game than actually playing it (if you could call it that.) I have tried everything from installing on an ssd to smart port forwarding. But still even when I have extremely low ping and join a local server with low ping, I find myself glitching my way across the map like an idiot.

    If you buy this game, know the risk you are taking. It simply doesn't work for many people such as myself. You will get a lot of people on these review sites denying that this is even happening, but even Dice has admitted there is a problem.

    If you think I am full of it it is your right to have that opinion, and I will defend that right with my life. But it is your hard earned money on the line. And speaking of money, the DLC for this game is out of control. If you want to be able to play any map on any server you will have to spend $70 (in my location). When the game is on sale. For a game that is a year old. For a game that does not work.

    Note: I was around for the release of Rome 2, and I never considered even that game "unplayable" if you need some kind of scale to understand how broken this game is to me.
    Expand

See all 899 User Reviews