Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. 80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Great game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashingGreat game in keeping with the BF tradition. The Battlepack system is a great addition and the graphics are insane. Early issues with crashing appear to be fixed and i havent had any issues in a while. I highly recommend. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    There is a lot of new features and improvements compare to BF3. I don't know what people wanted after BF3 but imo this is a great game.There is a lot of new features and improvements compare to BF3. I don't know what people wanted after BF3 but imo this is a great game. Graphics are still awesome, for sure not mind blowing after BF3 but definitely better. Gameplay is a lot more enjoyable and different map to map. Maps are gigantic and with all the modes I never feel like playing again the same way. And the audio... just fantastic, it put you in the action so much more. I recommend this game 100% Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Congrats to Dice, they've done it beating the living crap out of CoD. CoD ruled for me for a long time but BF4 is vastly superior to thisCongrats to Dice, they've done it beating the living crap out of CoD. CoD ruled for me for a long time but BF4 is vastly superior to this years offering. It's democratised the series and allowed more casual/arcadey players in without sacrificing what the fans like. First PC game I've bought in years! Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    3
    To me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that yourTo me, the priority of a game is bring fun. And indeed you will have fun with BF4, however the game have so many bugs and problems that your frustrations will prevail 90% of the time and at the end of the round (if you don't rage/quit) you probably will be very angry. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2015
    1
    Crashes regularly after 2 years of patches.Crashes regularly after 2 years of patches. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    0
    While the game still with lots of bug my review for this game will still 0! I can't recommend a game with so many bugs. Next time I'll not pre-order!!

See all 929 User Reviews