Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1532 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this installment, the Bad Company crew again find themselves in the heart of the action, where they must use every weapon and vehicle at their disposal to survive. In Battlefield: Bad Company 2, the 'B' company fight their way through snowy mountaintops, dense jungles and dusty villages.In this installment, the Bad Company crew again find themselves in the heart of the action, where they must use every weapon and vehicle at their disposal to survive. In Battlefield: Bad Company 2, the 'B' company fight their way through snowy mountaintops, dense jungles and dusty villages. With a heavy arsenal of deadly weapons and a slew of vehicles to aid them, the crew set off on their mission and they are ready to blow up, shoot down, blast through, wipe out and utterly destroy anything that gets in their way. Total destruction is the name of the game, delivered as only the DICE next generation Frostbite engine can. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Map Pack 5 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is as complete a package as you could ever ask for. Multiplayer-heavy titles can be a fickle beast, but we’re pretty sure we’ll be playing this one for quite some time to come.
  2. 93
    The last installment in the Battlefield series offers more action and fun than ever.
  3. All in all, don’t let the rather generic and short single player campaign deter you from picking up Bad Company 2. The multiplayer is a fantastic gaming experience and without a doubt it gives Modern Warfare 2 a run for its money.
  4. For all the thrills the single-player might provide, it’s nothing compared to what’s in the game, when you go online. It’s always thrilling, memorable and a joy to be part of the fight, a fight where your contributions matter for the entire team in big ways, even if it’s not always immediately apparent.
  5. 90
    Bad Company 2 is a great single player experience, but a near Godly multiplayer one. A must play for shooter fans, especially in the PC community.
  6. 87
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 does what it does best: create a multiplayer experience which lifts it head and shoulders above the other shooters. All the pieces come together perfectly in an online that brings out the best of the Battlefields, with Rush as the pièce de résistance. Too bad that the sub-par singleplayer brings down the score quite a bit.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Modern Warfare plus squads and vehicles, and minus the stick up its arse. A solid multiplayer FPS. [May 2010, p.66]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 359
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    I really have been into first person shooters for as long as i could remember and all i could say is that i enjoy this game.The wholeI really have been into first person shooters for as long as i could remember and all i could say is that i enjoy this game.The whole multiplayer is by far the most exciting and entertaining part of the game, even tho the campaign was lacking. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    sniping is awsome
    graphic is fantastic
    building destruction **** my pants and it is not just a gun game :D I always having fun time with
    sniping is awsome
    graphic is fantastic
    building destruction **** my pants
    and it is not just a gun game :D
    I always having fun time with it
    HC game play just awsome, no place to hide
    Expand
  3. JH
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    Best shooter in years, more fun than l4d2 which is what I have been playing. 100x better than BF2 which was so bad I sold my copy to a used Best shooter in years, more fun than l4d2 which is what I have been playing. 100x better than BF2 which was so bad I sold my copy to a used bookstore for $5 right after I got it. This is where the real MP is. The ability to level buildings and shoot people out of cover is amazing. To the idiot who posted on 1 because of their inability to optimize. I'm running a machine with half your specs on XP DX 9 and have everything set to high at 1440 x 900 and it plays flawlessly and looks great. You probably have driver issues. The only thing that sucks is the auth servers have been bogged down since release making it hard to actually get and stay in a game as PB also kicks people liberally at the moment but that's not DICE's fault. I hate EA as a company but this is a great game, it's too bad the megacorps own everything. Expand
  4. RobM
    Mar 6, 2010
    9
    Excellent gaming value, moreso than it's current competition (and ten bucks less!). Very buggy multiplayer connectivity, patches for a Excellent gaming value, moreso than it's current competition (and ten bucks less!). Very buggy multiplayer connectivity, patches for a release this high-selling should come out daily til it runs right, or it will be just another next gen shooter with no fanbase. 40 minutes of dedicated cable/high end specs getting "cannot connect to ea online" messages is unacceptable. They made millions in week 1. Must get MP mode right or game will die! CS and CSS based games have always adhered to this. This game's requirements are a bit higher than stated, running ALMOST perfectly with 4gb ram, and radeon hd4850 (1024 ddr2 ram), but it is still choppy in large video and game-playing areas. That being said, it runs almost perfectly on a computer that cost less than $700 to build, NOT "2-3 thousand". And I'm talking max settings, awe-inspiring shadowing, and textures that can barely be contested. Overall great game but at this point I only applaud single player, being pretty engaging and challenging on higher settings. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    One of the best First Person Shooters ever! The Single player campaign is great and the multiplayer is very good. It's a must have. Go buy it,One of the best First Person Shooters ever! The Single player campaign is great and the multiplayer is very good. It's a must have. Go buy it, trust me, you will not regret it. Expand
  6. Lucas
    Apr 13, 2010
    8
    This is definitely the best FPS I've played since BF2. The only thing I can complain about so far is the missing ability to lay down This is definitely the best FPS I've played since BF2. The only thing I can complain about so far is the missing ability to lay down (you can only crouch)... That's why it gets 8 instead of 9 out of 10. Hopefully EA will add that feature... Other than that, its a really entertaining game, and not as expensive as MW2 was. Expand
  7. EpicGamer
    Mar 4, 2010
    0
    Why does everyone like this game? Sure, it has dedicated servers, but the browser limits options like not showing the IP address. The idea of Why does everyone like this game? Sure, it has dedicated servers, but the browser limits options like not showing the IP address. The idea of destructible environments is great, if only the enemies showed tactics of some kind. Everyone claims the game has excellent sound. Sorry, but some of us don't use 7.1 surround sound, and for us all the in-game sounds seem muddled. Gunshots sound terribly generic and both reloading and the ease at which you die is pathetic. The maps are too large, yes, too large. Call of Duty: World at War gave a better sense of battle tactics. Sure, it was every man for himself, but at least you didn't spend so much time walking across the map, looking for an enemy. The graphics aren't terrific for the terrible frames per second they produce on lower end machines. Running causes you to drift to the left and getting hung-up on the environment is way too common. Heck, even Modern Warfare 2 was more fun than this. I really want to like this game, it has some good "borrowed" ideas. The trouble is the execution. For instance, don't show a cutscene and sgive you control of the camera, only to fade to black. If you are going to use the in-game graphics for cutscenes, give back player control and let them continue playing. I'm pleased the developer wanted to give PC gamers a break (and for that alone they deserve a combined rating of at least 5), but after playing 100's, and I mean hundreds of PC games this particular effort justs smacks of port. In conclusion, poor optimization, poor sound, poor story, and the lack of immersion just ruin what should of been a great game. I wouldn't be so upset if I didn't want to enjoy the game as much as I do. Expand

See all 359 User Reviews